Draft and final recommendation reports for Redbridge, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Redbridge

image map View our final recommendations

The Commission's electoral review of Redbridge was completed in April 2017. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Redbridge councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The London Borough of Redbridge (Electoral Changes) Order 2017, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Redbridge, was made on 28 April 2017.

New ward arrangements for Redbridge have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2018.

The order for Redbridge can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/id/uksi/2017/609

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 27 January 2017 the London Borough of Redbridge (Electoral Changes) Order 2017 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Redbridge and published on 18 October 2016.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Redbridge in 2018.

The draft order can be viewed here: http://www.legislation.gov.uk/id/ukdsi/2017/9780111153406

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

•    Sheet 1 - Overview of the borough (PDF)

On 8 November 2016 we published our final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in the London Borough of Redbridge. The report is available below:

To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of the London Borough of Redbridge. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the London Borough of Redbridge to be implemented at the local elections in 2018.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

Consultation closed on 22nd August 2016. 

Below are the submissions we received:

Local Residents:

All of the local resident submissions we received are contained in the document below:

Local Residents (PDF)

Councillors:

Cllr Bain

Cllr Bond

Cllr Choudhary, Cllr Sachs, Cllr Zammett

Cllr Cleaver

Cllr Deakins

Cllr Merry

Local Organisations:

Barkingside 21

Church End Ward Panel

Maybank Community Association

Marston Area (Tilekiln) Neighbourhood Watch Group and Community Association

South Woodford Society

Wanstead Society

 


 

On 28 June 2016 we published our draft recommendations for the electoral review of the London Borough of Redbridge. Between 28 June 2016 and 22 August 2016 we invited comments on our draft recommendations. The consultation is now closed.

 

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal.You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about division arrangements.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

Consultation closed on 4th April 2016

Below are the submissions we recieved:

Local Residents:

Azid A (PDF)

Baker N (PDF)

Chowdhury M (PDF)

Greenfield R (PDF)

Howe A (PDF)

Knowles R (PDF)

Singh A (PDF)

Strudwick J (PDF)

Tuffin A (PDF)

Local Organisations:

Marston Area Neighbourhood watch group & Community Association (PDF)

Seven Kings Bungalow estate Residents Association (PDF)

Councillors:

Cllr Bain S (PDF)

Cllr Coomb H (PDF)

Cllr Howard J (PDF)

Cllr Nijjar B (PDF)

Cllr Parkash (PDF)

Chadwell Councillors (PDF)

MP

Mike Gapes MP (PDF)

Wes Streeting MP (PDF)

Political Groups:

London Borough of Redbridge Conservative Group (PDF)

London Borough of Redbridge Liberal Democrats Group (PDF)

Wanstead Ward Labour Party (PDF)

Local Authority:

London Borough of Redbridge Council (PDF)

 

On 26th January 2016, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for the London Borough of Redbridge. Between 26 January and 4 April 2016, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission has also announced that it is minded to recommend that the London Borough of Redbridge should have 63 councillors in the future, the same amount as the current arrangements.

The Commission now needs information from people and groups across the London Borough of Redbridge to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 63 councillors.

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Redbridge Borough Council (PDF)

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements

Polling District Maps may also be useful when thinking about warding arrangements. You can view the polling district map below. Please note polling district mapping data has been supplied by Redbridge Borough Council and may contain boundary errors

Redbridge polling district map (jpeg)

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Redbridge Borough Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Redbridge Borough Council). We received 1 submission on council size.

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE), beginning on 23 June 1998.

Final report, (PDF) published on 22 June 1999

Draft report, (PDF) published on 26 January 1999.