LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Croydon

image map View our final recommendations

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of the London Borough of Croydon.

 

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw ward boundaries across Croydon.


 

On 4 July 2017 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in the London Borough of Croydon. The report is available in the link below.

·         Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for the London Borough of Croydon

·         Summary of the Croydon report

·         News release

·         Letter to the Chief Executive of the London Borough of Croydon

·         Overview map of the London Borough of Croydon final recommendations

To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode. The mapping files used for the consultation portal can be downloaded here.

We have now completed our electoral review of Croydon. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the London Borough of Croydon to be implemented at the local elections in 2018.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

The consultation on draft recommendations closed on 8 May 2017.

Listed below are the submissions we received:

Political Groups:

Conservative Councillor Group

Croydon Council Labour Group

Croydon South Labour Party

Thornton Heath Labour Party and Thornton Heath Neighbourhood Association

UKIP Croydon

Councillors:

The submissions from councillors have been collated into one document. They have been sorted alphabetically, by surname.

Councillors

MPs:

Chris Philp MP 1

Chris Philp MP 2

Gavin Barwell MP

Steve Reed MP

Local Organisations:

Addington Village Residents Association

Addiscombe and Shirley Residents Association

Bishops Walk Residents Association

CHASE Residents Association

Croydon Mosque and Islamic Centre

East Coulsdon Residents Association

East Croydon Community Organisation

Friends of Selsdon Wood

Hartley and District Residents Association

Home Residents Association

Kenley and District Residents Association

Park Hill Residents Association

Purley and Woodcote Residents Association

Riddlesdown Residents Association

Sanderstead Residents Association

Sanderstead Residents Association 2

Selsdon Residents Association

West Thornton Residents Association

Whitgift Estate Residents Association

Local Residents:

The submissions from local residents have been collated into 6 separate documents. They have been sorted alphabetically, by surname.

A-B

C-F

G-K

L-Q

R-S

T-Z

Anonymous:

The anonymous submissions have been collated into one document.

Anonymous

Petition:

Tollgate Estate Residents


 On 14 March 2017 we published our draft recommendations for the electoral review of the London Borough of Croydon. Between 14 March 2017 and 8 May 2017 we invited comments on our draft recommendations.

·         Draft recommendations report for the London Borough of Croydon

·         Summary of the London Borough of Croydon report

·         News release on draft recommendations for the London Borough of Croydon

·         Letter sent to the Chief Executive of the London Borough of Croydon

·         An overview map of the London Borough of Croydon draft recommendations is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal.You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about division arrangements.

 

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

The consultation on warding arrangements closed on the 5 December 2016.

Listed below are the submissions we received for this stage of the consultation:

Local Authority:

London Borough for Croydon

Political Groups:

Croydon Conservative Group 1

Croydon Conservative Group 2

Croydon South Constituency Labour Party

Croydon Labour Group

Thornton Heath Labour Party and Thornton Heath Neighbourhood Association

UKIP Croydon

Councillors:

Cllr Bennett

Cllr Bashford

Cllr Brew

Cllr Chatterjee

Cllr Clancy

Cllr Creatura

Cllr Cummings

Cllr Fisher

Cllr Hale

Cllr Hopley

Cllr Mead

Cllr Neal

Cllr Pollard

Cllr Quadir

Cllr Wright

MPs:

Mr G Barwell MP

Mr C Philp MP

Local Organisations:

Bishops Walk Residents Association

Coulsdon West Residents Association

East Coulsdon Residents Association

Hartley & District Residents Association

MORA

New Addington Royal British Legion

Old Coulsdon Residents Association

Purley Woodcote Residents Association

Riddlesdown Residents Association

Sanderstead Residents Association

Selsdon Contact

Selsdon Residents Association

Shirley Hills Residents Association

Shirley Planning Forum

Shrublands Residents Association

Spring Park Residents Association

The Bourne Society

Thornton Heath Neighbourhood Association

Local Residents:

The submissions from local residents have been collated into one document. They have been sorted alphabetically, by surname.

Local Residents


On 27th September 2016, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for London Borough of Croydon. Between 27 September 2016 to 5 December 2016, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.


The Commission also announced that it was minded to recommend that the London Borough of Croydon should have 70 councillors in the future.

 

The Commission needed information from people and groups across Croydon to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 70 councillors.

 

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of the London Borough of Croydon (PDF)

 

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements. 

 

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode

 

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with London Borough of Croydon on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors in the London Borough of Croydon). We received the following two submissions on borough size:

London Borough of Croydon

Croydon Conservative Group

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE), beginning on 22 September 1998.

Final report, (PDF) published on 7 September 1999 

Draft report (PDF) published on 23 March 1999.

Review Dates


Date from Date to
Consultation on warding arrangements 27th September 2016 5th December 2016
Consultation on draft recommendations 14th March 2017 8th May 2017
Final recommendations published
4th July 2017