LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Mid Suffolk

Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more
image map Have your say

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Mid Suffolk District Council.

 

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw ward boundaries across Mid Suffolk.

On 13 June 2017, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Mid Suffolk District Council. Between 13 June 2017 and 14 August 2017, we are inviting comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission has also announced that it is minded to recommend that Mid Suffolk District Council should have 34 councillors in the future.

The Commission now needs information from people and groups across Mid Suffolk to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 34 councillors.

For more information, read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Mid Suffolk District Council.

You may find the electoral figures useful when thinking about warding arrangements. We are expecting to publish the polling district map for Mid Suffolk shortly.

To view the existing warding arrangements, visit our consultation area. You can search by area, postcode or have your say.

You can make a submission to the Mid Suffolk electoral review through our consultation area, by sending an e-mail to reviews@lgbce.org.uk, or writing in to the following address:

   The Review Officer (Mid Suffolk)

   Local Government Boundary Commission for England

   14th Floor Millbank Tower

   Millbank

   London

   SW1P 4QP

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Mid Suffolk District Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Mid Suffolk District Council). We received 1 submission on council size:

Babergh and Mid Suffolk District Councils

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE).

Final report, published on 26 June 2001

Map 1 Current ward boundaries; (PDF)

Map 2 Proposed ward boundaries; (PDF)

Large map illustrating the existing and proposed warding arrangements for Stowmarket. This may take some time to download; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF), published on 9 January 2001

Map 1 Current ward boundaries; (PDF)

Map 2 Proposed ward boundaries; (PDF)

Large map (1.5 Mb) illustrating the existing and proposed warding arrangements for Stowmarket. This may take some time to download; (PDF)

Review Dates



Date from:
Date to:
Consultation on warding arrangements
13 June 2017
14 August 2017
Consultation on draft recommendations
3 October 2017
11 December 2017
Final recommendations published
6 February 2018

Useful Documents

Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more