LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Hertsmere

image map View our draft recommendations

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Hertsmere Borough Council.

 

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw ward boundaries across Hertsmere.

The consultation on draft recommendations for Hertsmere closed on 14 August 2017.

Listed below are the submissions we received:

Local Authority:

Hertsmere Borough Council

Local Organisations:

Hertfordshire Gardens Trust

The Potters Bar Society

Parish and Town Councils:

Aldenham Parish Council

Elstree and Borehamwood Town Council

Local Residents:

Drinan D

Fleetwood S

Gamse J

Hedges P

Maclean A



On 13 June 2017 we published our draft recommendations for the electoral review of Hertsmere Borough Council. Between 13 June 2017 and 14 August 2017 we invited comments on our draft recommendations.

·         Draft recommendations for Hertsmere Borough Council

·         Summary of the Hertsmere report

·         News release

·         Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Hertsmere Borough Council

·         An overview map of Hertsmere Borough Council draft recommendations is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

·         Summary Map of Hertsmere Borough Council (JPEG)

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

You may find the electoral figures useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

The consultation on warding arrangements closed on 20 March 2017.

Listed below are the submissions we received:

Local Authority:

Hertsmere Borough Council

Political Groups:

Hertsmere Labour Party

Local Organisations:

CPRE Hertfordshire

Parish and Town Councils:

Aldenham Parish Council

Elstree and Borehamwood Town Council

Local Residents:

Barrow M

Bowers R

Clapper C

Fraser A

Harris L

Hedge P

Herbert K


On 10 January 2017, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Hertsmere Borough Council. Between 10 January 2017 and 20 March 2017, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission announced that it was minded to recommend that Hertsmere Borough Council should have 39 councillors in the future.

The Commission needed information from people and groups across Hertsmere to help produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 39 councillors.

For more information, read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Hertsmere Borough Council.

You may find the electoral figures useful when thinking about warding arrangements. 

Polling district maps may also be useful when thinking about warding arrangements. You can view the polling district map below. Please note, polling district mapping data has been supplied by Hertsmere Borough Council and may contain boundary errors.

Hertsmere polling district map

To view the existing warding arrangements, visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Hertsmere Borough Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Hertsmere Borough Council). We received 1 submission on council size:

Hertsmere Borough Council Submission

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE), starting on the 10 December 1996.

Final report, published on 3 February 1998

Draft report, published in August 1997

Review Dates


Date from
Date to
Consultation on warding arrangements 10 January 2017
20 March 2017
Consultation on draft recommendations 13th June 2017 14th August 2017
Final recommendations 3rd October 2017