Draft and final recommendation reports for Nottinghamshire, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Nottinghamshire

image map View our final recommendations

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Nottinghamshire between October 2014 - June 2016 . The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Nottinghamshire councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

 

Recommendations become law

The Nottinghamshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2016, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Nottinghamshire, was made on 20th June 2016 and was published 21st June 2016. New ward arrangements for Nottinghamshire have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2016.

The order for Nottinghamshire can be viewed through the following link: http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2016/659/contents/made

 

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 22 March 2016 the Nottinghamshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2016 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Nottinghamshire and published on 17 November 2015.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Nottinghamshire in 2017.

The draft order can be viewed here: http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2016/9780111145654/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

•    Sheet 1 - Overview of the county (PDF)

On 17 November 2015 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Nottinghamshire County Council. The report is available in the link below.

•    Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for Nottinghamshire County Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release

•    Letter to the Chief Executive of Nottinghamshire County Council (PDF)

•    An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

PDF maps of each individual division can be found below. Please note each document is very large so may take some time to load. 

A-M

M-Z

To receive the data files for this map in shapefile format please email your request to reviews@lgbce.org.uk.

We have now completed our electoral review of Nottinghamshire County Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2017.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

 

Consultation closed on 10 August 2015

Below are the submissions we received:

Local residents

We received 117 submissions from local residents. All of the local resident submissions we received can be found in the documents below. At the front of each document is a list of name with links to the relevant submission.

Local residents A- J (PDF)

Local residents K-Z (PDF)

We also received a submission from Sambells S (PDF)

We also received 7 anonymous submissions

Anonymous (PDF)

Anonymous (PDF)

Anonymous (PDF)

Anonymous (PDF)

Anonymous (PDF)

Anonymous (PDF)

Anonymous (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

We received 35 submissions from parish and town councils. All of the parish and town council submissions we received can be found in the document below. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Parish and Town Councils (PDF)

District and Borough Councils

Broxtowe Borough Council (PDF)

Gedling Borough Council (PDF)

Newark and Sherwood District Council (PDF)

Local Authority

Nottinghamshire County Council (PDF)

Local Organisations

All Hallows Church (PDF)

Beauvale Resident Association (PDF)

Friends of All Hallows (PDF)

Friends of Gedling Park (PDF)

Hucknall Area Committee (PDF)

North East Bassetlaw Forum (PDF)

Reach Out Residents Group (PDF)

SABRHE (PDF)

Village Vision (PDF)

MP and MEPs

Gloria De Piero MP -part 1 (PDF)

Gloria De Piero MP -part 2 (PDF)

Gloria De Piero MP -part 3 (PDF)

Andrew I Lewer MBE MEP (PDF)

Vernon Coaker MP (PDF)

Rt Hon Anna Soubry MP (PDF)

Mark Spencer MP (PDF)

Robert Jenrick MP (PDF)

Rt Hon Kenneth Clarke (PDF)

County Councillors

Cllr Brooks (PDF)

Cllr Butler (PDF)

Cllr Handley (PDF)

Cllr Laughton (PDF)

Cllr Owen (PDF)

Cllr Wilkinson (PDF)

Cllr Yates (PDF)

We also received one late submission

Cllr Gilfoyle (PDF)

District Councillors

Cllr Bradley (PDF)

Cllr Brand (PDF)

Cllr Burton (PDF)

Cllr Handley (PDF)

Cllr Mitchell (PDF)

Cllr Murphy (PDF)

Cllr K Rostance (PDF)

Cllr P Rostance (PDF)

Cllr Rowland (PDF)

Cllr Sanger (PDF)

Cllr Smith (PDF)

Parish Councillors

PCllr Fisher (PDF)

PCllr Foxwell (PDF)

PCllr Greenwood (PDF)

PCllr Miller (PDF)

Political Groups

Ashfield District Council Conservatives (PDF)

Hucknall Conservatives (PDF)

Newark Conservatives (PDF)

Nottinghamshire County Council Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Sherwood Conservative Association (PDF)

Southwell Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Petitions

We received an online petition via change.org to retain Hucknall as a three member county division.

A snapshot of the petition can be found below . On 2nd October the petition had been signed by 131 people.

Change.org (PDF)

We also received a petition called Keep Gedling Village in Gedling. The petition was signed 18 times.

An example can be found below.

Keep Gedling Village in Gedling (PDF)

As part of Cllr Wilkinson's submission we received 82 proforma documents asking to retain a three member division for Hucknall.

An example can be found below.

Keep Hucknall Unique (PDF)

On 9 June 2015 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Nottinghamshire County Council. Between 9 June 2015 and 10 August 2015 we invited comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below. Please note: on 26 June 2015 we amended our draft recommendations report.

• Draft recommendations for Nottinghamshire County Council (PDF)

• Summary of the report (PDF)

• News release on draft recommendations for Nottinghamshire County Council

• Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Nottinghamshire County Council (PDF)

• An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download. To interact with our draft recommendations click on our overview map of the recommendations above.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

You may find the electoral figures useful when considering our draft recommendtaions. The Council provided the Commission with revised electorate forecasts on 17 November. The revised forecasts can be found here (XLS). The previous electoral data can be found here (XLS). This is for information only - do not use these figures when formulating warding patterns.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

Consultation closed on 9 February 2015.

Below are the submissions we received:

Local authority

Nottinghamshire County Council (PDF)

District and Borough Councils

Broxtowe Borough Council (PDF)

Mansfield District Council (PDF)

Councillors

We received 12 submissions from councillors. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Councillors (PDF)

Local residents

We received 18 submissions from local residents. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Local residents (PDF)

We also received an anonymous submissions.

Anonymous (PDF)

Political Groups

We received 5 submissions from political groups. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Political Groups (PDF)

Parish Councils

We received 21 submissions from parish and town councils. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Parish councils (PDF)

We also received a submission from Nuthall parish council

Nuthall Parish Council (PDF)

Local Organisations

SABHRE (PDF)

On 28 October 2014, we opened the first period of consultation for a new pattern of electoral divisions for Nottinghamshire County Council. Between 28 October and 9 February 2015, we invited comments on division boundaries across the whole county.

The Commission has also announced that it is minded to recommend that the county council should have 67 county councillors in the future, the same as current arrangements.

The Commission now needs information from people and groups across Nottinghamshire to help it to produce a new pattern of electoral divisions to accommodate 67 county councillors.

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Nottinghamshire County Council (PDF)

The Council provided the Commission with revised electorate forecasts on 17 November. The revised forecasts can be found here PDF.

The previous electoral data can be found here (PDF). This is for information only - do not use these figures when formulating warding patterns.

To view the existing division arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area and postcode.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Nottinghamshire County Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Nottinghamshire County Council). We received two submissions on council size.

The Boundary Committee for England (BCFE) began reviewing the electoral arrangements of Nottinghamshire County Council on 9 July 2002.

The Order implementing The Electoral Commission's decision on the final recommendations of this review has been made and can be viewed on Her Majesty's Stationery Office's website. The Order refers to a map comprising Sheet 1 and Sheet 2.

Final recommendations , published on 27 April 2004.

Map sheet inserted at the back of this report illustrates in outline form the proposed divisions for Nottinghamshire, including constituent district wards and parishes. 

Draft recommendations , published on the 28 May 2003.

Map 1 showing recommendations for Nottinghamshire.

Map 2 showing recommendations for Nottinghamshire. 

A structural review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE), and was started on 13 December 1993

Final report (PDF) published on 15 December 1994

Draft report (PDF) published on 10 June 1994