" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Nottingham

Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more
image map Have your say

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Nottingham City Council.

 

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw ward boundaries across Nottingham.

 

 

On 31 October 2017, we published our draft recommendations for the electoral review of Nottingham City Council. Between 31 October 2017 and 15 January 2018 we are inviting comments on our draft recommendations.

·         Draft recommendations report for Nottingham City Council

·         Draft recommendations map for Nottingham City Council - please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

·         Summary of the Nottingham report

·         News release

·         Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Nottingham City Council

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping, visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode, and have your say.

You can also make a submission to the Nottingham electoral review through our consultation area, by sending an e-mail to reviews@lgbce.org.uk, or writing in to the following address:

   The Review Officer (Nottingham)

   Local Government Boundary Commission for England

   14th Floor Millbank Tower

   Millbank

   London

   SW1P 4QP

You may find the electoral figures useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

The consultation on our warding arrangements for Nottingham City Council has now closed.

Listed below are the submissions we received:

Local Authority:

Nottingham City Council

Political Groups:

Nottingham Conservatives

Councillors

Cllr Norris

Cllr Woodings (1)

Cllr Woodings (2)

Local Organisations:

Mapperley Park Residents Association

One Nottingham

Residents:

Barnes K

Bean M

Borgars A

Claven C

Collier J

Evans M

Hunt D

Khan N

Lloyd J

Lucas D

Olpin J

Peto H

Pitt T

Power G

Radford E

Savage M

Walsh E


On 27 June 2017, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Nottingham City Council. Between 27 June 2017 and 4 September 2017, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission has also announced that it is minded to recommend that Nottingham City Council should have 55 councillors in the future; the same as the current arrangement.

The Commission needed information from people and groups across Nottingham to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 55 councillors.

For more information, read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Nottingham City Council.

You may find the electoral figures useful when thinking about warding arrangements. 

Polling district maps may also be useful when thinking about warding arrangements. You can view the polling district map below. Please note, polling district mapping data has been supplied by Nottingham City Council and may contain boundary errors.

Nottingham polling district map

Summary map of existing ward boundaries

To view the existing warding arrangements, visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Nottingham City Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Nottingham City Council). We received 2 submissions on council size. The city council's submission includes a number of appendices:

Nottingham City Council Size Submission

Appendix A

Appendix B

Appendix C

Appendix D

Appendix E

Appendix F

Appendix G

Appendix H

Nottingham Conservatives

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE). The Order to implement the Secretary of State's decision on the review, and a subsequent amendment Order, are available on Her Majesty's Stationery Office's website. The amendment Order issued a revised Order map comprising Sheet 1, Sheet 2, Sheet 3 and Sheet 4.

Final report (PDF), published on 16 May 2000.

Map 1  Existing wards in Nottingham; (PDF)

Map 2  The Commission's final recommendations for Nottingham; (PDF)

Map A1  Final recommendations for Clifton North and Clifton South wards; (PDF)

Large Map  (16.7 Mb) illustrating the proposed ward boundaries for Nottingham. This may take some time to download; (PDF)

Draft report, (PDF) published on 14 December 1999.

Review Dates


Date from:
Date to:
Consultation on warding arrangements
27 June 2017
4 September 2017
Consultation on draft recommendations
31 October 2017
15 January 2018
Final recommendations published
3 April 2018

Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more