LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Harborough

image map View our final recommendations

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Harborough District Council.

 

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw ward boundaries across Harborough.

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 13 September 2017 the Harborough (Electoral Changes) Order 2017 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Harborough and published on 4 July 2017.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Harborough in 2019.

The draft order can be viewed here:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/id/ukdsi/2017/9780111160053

On 4 July 2017 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Harborough District Council. The report is available in the link below.

·         Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for Harborough District Council

·         Summary of the Harborough report

·         News release

·         Letter to the Corporate Director's of Harborough District Council

·         Overview map of the Harborough District Council final recommendations

To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode. The mapping files used for the consultation portal can be downloaded here.

We have now completed our electoral review of Harborough. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for Harborough District Council to be implemented at the local elections in 2019.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

The consultation on draft recommendations closed on 8 May 2017.

Listed below are the submissions we received:

Local Authority:

Harborough District Council 1

Harborough District Council 2

Councillors:

Cllr Galton

Cllr Robinson

Parish and Town Councils:

Ashby Parva Parish Meeting

Lutterworth Town Council

Mowsley Parish Council

Scraptoft Parish Council

Stoughton Parish Council

Thorpe Langton Parish Council

Thurnby and Bushby Parish Council

Tugby and Keythorpe Parish Council

Local Residents:

Ackerley J

Thorpe J

Tomlin R

Wright A


On 14 March 2017, we published our draft recommendations for the electoral review of Harborough District Council. Between 14 March 2017 and 8 May 2017 we are invited comments on our draft recommendations.

·         Draft recommendations for Harborough District Council

·         Summary of the Harborough report

·         News release on draft recommendations for Harborough District Council

·         Letter sent to the Corporate Directors of Harborough District Council

·         An overview map of Harborough District Council draft recommendations is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

You may find the electoral figures useful when thinking about division arrangements.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

The consultation on warding arrangements closed on the 9 January 2017.

Listed below are the submissions we received for this stage of the consultation:

Local Authority:

Harborough District Council

Parish and Town Councils:

Foxton Parish Council

Houghton on the Hill Parish Council

Kibworth Harcourt Parish Council

Kibworth Harcourt Parish Council and Kibworth Beauchamp Parish Council Joint

Shawell Parish Council

Thurnby and Bushby Parish Council

Local Residents:

Hankey D

Tomlin R

Warren J


On 25 October 2016, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Harborough District Council. Between 25 October 2016 and 9 January 2017, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission had also announced that it is minded to recommend that Harborough District Council should have 34 councillors in the future, a reduction of 3 from 37.

The Commission needed information from people and groups across Harborough to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 34 councillors.

For more information, read our news release and the letter to the Corporate Directors of Harborough District Council.

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements. 

Polling district maps may also be useful when thinking about warding arrangements. You can view the polling district map below. Please note, polling district mapping data has been supplied by Harborough District Council and may contain boundary errors.

Harborough polling district map (JPEG)

To view the existing warding arrangements, visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Harborough District Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Harborough District Council). We received 1 submission on council size:

Harborough District Council

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE). On 1 April 2002 the functions of the LGCE were transfered to the Boundary Committee for England (BCFE).

The Order implementing The Electoral Commission's decision on the final recommendations of this review has been made and can be viewed on Her Majesty's Stationery Office's website. The Implementation Team section of the Commission's website explains how the Commission's decisions on The Boundary Committee for England's final recommendations are made into Orders. The current boundaries of the electoral wards and divisions can be viewed on Ordnance Survey's election maps website. Parish warding is not shown on the election maps website. It can be seen on the mapping from the Committee's final recommendations below; any modifications are listed in the Explanatory Note at the back of the Order.

Final report (PDF), published on 6 June 2002.

Map 1 East  Existing wards in Harborough; (PDF)

Map 1 West  Existing wards in Harborough; (PDF)

Map 2 East  The Commission's final recommendations for Harborough; (PDF)

Map 2 West  The Commission's final recommendations for Harborough; (PDF)

Map A1 illustrates, in outline form, the proposed boundaries for the Harborough area and indicates the areas which are shown in more detail on the large map at the back of the report; (PDF)

Large map (3.6 Mb) illustrates the proposed warding arrangements for Broughton Astley, Lutterworth and Market Harborough; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF), published on 15 January 2002.

Map 1 East  Existing wards in Harborough; (PDF)

Map 1 West Existing wards in Harborough; (PDF)

Map 2 East The Commission's draft recommendations for Harborough; (PDF)

Map 2 West The Commission's draft recommendations for Harborough; (PDF)

Map A1 Proposed boundaries for the Harborough area and indicates the areas which are shown in more detail on the large map; (PDF)

Large Map (3.6 Mb) illustrates the existing and proposed warding arrangements for Broughton Astley, Lutterworth and Market Harborough. This may take some time to download; (PDF)

Review Dates


Date from: Date to:
Consultation on division arrangements 25 October 2016
9 January 2017
Consultation on draft recommendations 14 March 2017
8 May 2017
Final recommendations published
4 July 2017