LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Share On:


The Chair of the Commission is Professor Colin Mellors OBE. He is supported by a Deputy Chair and a team of commissioners. The Commission is supported by a team of staff lead by the Chief Executive, Jolyon Jackson CBE.

Professor Colin Mellors was appointed Chair of the Commission on 1 January 2016, following a period as Deputy Chair.

Colin is Emeritus Professor of Politics at the University of York, where he recently served for eight years as Pro-Vice Chancellor.  Previously, he held a similar position at the University of Bradford.  He is a Visiting Professor at the University of Huddersfield and, earlier in his career, held academic posts at the universities of Southampton and Sheffield.

He is a Board Member of the York, North Yorkshire & East Riding Local Enterprise Partnership and Chair of the Yorkshire Regional Flood and Coastal Committee. Previous roles include being a Non-Executive Director of the Government Office for Yorkshire & Humber.

Although a career academic, he has devoted significant time to roles in the public sector focusing on local government, business development and capacity building with private sector and community partners.

Colin was awarded an OBE in June 2017 for services to economic development in Yorkshire.

Sir Tony Redmond was appointed Deputy Chair of the Commission on 24 March 2016, following a period as Commissioner.


Sir Tony was Chairman and Chief Executive of the Commission for Local Government Ombudsman for nine years to 2010. Before then he was Chief Executive of the London Borough of Harrow, and previously served as Treasurer and Deputy Chief Executive of Knowsley Metropolitan Borough Council, as well as holding senior posts in Wigan Metropolitan Borough Council and Liverpool. He was also the Treasurer of the Merseyside Police Authority. He is a past President of the Chartered Institute of Public Finance and Accountancy (CIPFA). Tony is Treasurer and Trustee of UNICEF UK and the Chair of Consumer Council for Water (London and the South East).

He was knighted in January 2011 for services to local government.

Alison Lowton has spent most of her working life as a local government solicitor, being Director of Law and Administration for the London Borough of Camden and filling similar, though interim roles, for the Isle of Wight Council and City of York Council. In those roles she was the Councils' Monitoring Officer and also held responsibility for elections. She is a member of the Information Rights Tribunal and has non-executive roles on a number of charities. She is Chair of Coram Children's Legal Centre and Deputy Chair of governors at Haverstock School. Alison has also undertaken a number of reviews and inquiries.

Peter Maddison QPM is currently the Chairman of a division at a consulting company. He is a member of the Prison Service Pay Review Body and is also the Deputy Chair of a parish council in Northamptonshire.

His most recent work was as one of the leaders in the development and implementation of the Police Safety and Security Strategy for the 2012 London Olympic Games. This Olympic work was a continuance of his police career in which he worked in Durham, Hertfordshire and finally as the Chief Constable of Northamptonshire Constabulary. As Chief Constable he led nationally on Performance Management for Policing, was the East Midlands regional Chair, and was the strategic lead for a variety of other national initiatives.

Andrew Scallan CBE was the Deputy Chief Counting Officer at the referendum on membership of the European Union in 2016 and also served as Director of Electoral Administration at the Electoral Commission for 10 years until January 2017. Before joining the Electoral Commission, he worked for Manchester City Council in a range of roles including democratic and regulatory services. He is also an Honorary Member of the Association of Electoral Administrators and is a former joint editor of Schofield's Election Law.

Andrew was appointed CBE in January 2016 for services to electoral democracy.

Steve Robinson, who has a background in housing and regeneration, was the first chief executive of the new unitary council in Cheshire West and Chester established in September 2008. Before joining Cheshire West and Chester Council, he was the chief executive of Stoke on Trent City Council and was responsible for the transformation of council services in his previous role as Director of Community Services.

Steve is currently also a member of the Birmingham Independent Improvement Panel that is supporting Birmingham City Council.