Draft and final recommendation reports for Sheffield, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Sheffield

image map View our final recommendations

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Sheffield between March 2014 - November 2015. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Sheffield councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The Sheffield (Electoral Changes) Order 2015, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Sheffield, was made on 3 November 2015 and was published 6 November 2015. New ward arrangements for Sheffield have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2016.

The order for Sheffield can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2015/1861/contents/made

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 13 July 2015 the Sheffield (Electoral Changes) Order 2015 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Sheffield and published on 23 March 2015.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Sheffield in 2016.

The draft order can be viewed here: http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2015/9780111137642/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

•    Sheet 1 - Overview of the city (PDF)

On 23 March 2015 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Sheffield City Council. The report is available in the link below.

•    Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for Sheffield City Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release

•    Letter to the Chief Executive of Sheffield City Council (PDF)

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of Sheffield City Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2016.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

On 21 October 2014 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Sheffield District Council. Between 21 October 2014 and 12 January 2015  we invited comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below.

•    Draft recommendations for Sheffield District Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release on draft recommendations for Sheffield

•    Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Sheffield District Council (PDF)

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

This consultation is now closed

Below are the submissions which we have received:

Councillor

Councillors PDF

Local authority

Sheffield City Council PDF

Sheffield City council (ward electorate figures)

Sheffield City Council Map PDF

Local organisations

Local organisations PDF

Gleadless Valley Tenants and Residents Association PDF

Local residents

Local residents PDF

MP

Blunkett MP PDF

Blomfield MP PDF

Political groups

Green Party (ward electorate figures)

Green Party Map PDF

On 27 May 2014, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Sheffield City Council. Between 27 May 2014 and 4 August 2014, we are inviting comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Sheffield City Council (PDF)

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode, and Have your say.

This consultation is now over.

Below are the submissions which we have received.

Councillors

Cllr J Creasy (PDF)

Local authority

Sheffield City Council submission (PDF)

Sheffield City Council forecast on proposed ward boundaries

Below are proposed ward boundaries by the council for the listed areas:

 

Local organisations

Local organisations combined (PDF)

St Marys Church and Community Centre (PDF)

Local residents

Local residents combined (PDF)

Political groups

Green group on Sheffield City Council submission (PDF)

Liberal democrats on Sheffield City Council submission (PDF)

Below are proposed ward boundaries by the Liberal Democrats for the listed areas:

 

 


On 4 March 2014 we started an electoral review of Sheffield City Council. From 4 March to 14 April we are inviting proposals for the number of councillors who should represent Sheffield in the future.

The first stage of an electoral review is to determine the number of councillors who should represent the local authority in the future. We call this stage council size. During the preliminary stage of the review, the Commission received proposals from Sheffield City Council. Their submissions are available below under preliminary council size. The Commission has considered these submissions and is now seeking views on its proposal for a council size of 84 members for Sheffield Council.

A letter sent to the Chief Executive (PDF) and our public news release provide more details on this consultation and the review in general.

The consultation is now closed. 

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under. The next consultation on ward boundaries will be in May. You can visit our consultation area to register for a consultation reminder.

Below are the submissions which we have received: 

Local residents

Local residents submissions have been combined into one PDF document.

Local residents (PDF)

Local groups

Sheffield for Democracy (PDF)

Preliminary council size consultation

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Sheffield Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Sheffield Council). We received 1 submissions on council size from Sheffield City Council.

Sheffield City Council submission

Appendix A

Appendix B  - (These figures were amended by Sheffield Council. Please use these figures (XLS) )

Appendix C

Appendix D

Appendix E

Appendix F

Appendix G

The Boundary Committee for England (BCFE) began reviewing the electoral arrangements of Sheffield on 8 May 2002.

The Order implementing The Electoral Commission's decision on the final recommendations of this review can be viewed on Her Majesty's Stationery Office's website. The current boundaries of the electoral wards and divisions can be viewed on Ordnance Survey's election maps website. Parish warding is not shown on the election maps website. It can be seen on the mapping from the Committee's final recommendations below; any modifications are listed in the Explanatory Note at the back of the Order.

Final recommendations, published on 29 July 2003.

Map 1 Existing wards in Sheffield

Map 2 Final recommendations for Sheffield

Map A1 Illustrates, in outline form, the proposed ward boundaries and indicates the areas which are shown in more detail in the large maps.

Large map 1,large map 2,large map 3,large map 4,large map 5,large map 6, and large map 7.

Draft recommendations, published on 11 February 2003

Map 1  Existing wards in Sheffield

Map 2  Draft recommendations for Sheffield

Map A1  Illustrates, in outline form, the proposed ward boundaries and indicates the areas which are shown in more detail in the large maps.

Large map 1,large map 2,large map 3,large map 4,large map 5,large map 6,large map 7.