Draft and final recommendation reports for Doncaster, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Doncaster

image map

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Doncaster between September 2013 - February 2015. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Doncaster councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The Doncaster (Electoral Changes) Order 2015, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Doncaster, was made on 2 February 2015 and was published on 5 February 2015. New ward arrangements for Doncaster have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2015.

The order for Doncaster can be viewed through the following link:

 http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2015/114/contents/made

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 2 December 2014 the Doncaster (Electoral Changes) Order 2015 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Doncaster and published on 25 November 2014.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Doncaster in 2015.

The draft order can be viewed here:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2015/9780111124109/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

•    Sheet 1 - Overview of the metropolitan borough (PDF)

On 25 November 2014 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Doncaster Metropolitan Borough Council. The report is available in the link below.

•    Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for Doncaster Metropolitan Borough Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release

•    Letter to the Chief Executive of Doncaster Metropolitan Borough Council (PDF)

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of Doncaster Metropolitan Borough Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2015.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

The Commission has opened an extra phase of consultation on new ward boundaries across Doncaster. This period of consultation commenced 24 September 2014 and closed on 26 October 2014.

Consultation closed on 26 October 2014

Read our news release here.

The Commission has listened to feedback from local people and groups during the last phase of consultation and has made several changes to the draft recommendations it published in May 2014.

Changes to the draft recommendations are focused in four parts of Doncaster but the Commission welcomes views on any part of these proposals. The four areas where substantial alterations have been made to the recommendations are:

  •       Edenthorpe
  •       Torne Valley
  •       Western rural parishes
  •        Northern rural parishes

Details of the changes we are proposing to the draft recommendations are set out in this letter to the Chief Executive of Doncaster Metropolitan Borough Council along with maps of the areas in question.

You can view the full recommendations for Doncaster on our consultation portal where you can zoom into to see the recommendations at street level.


Due to the large volume of correspondence received some submissions have been merged in single PDF documents.

Councillors

Councillors

Local Organisations

Local organisations (PDF)

Local residents

Local resident submissions have been grouped alphabetically by surname.  

A (PDF)

B (PDF)

C (PDF)

D-F (PDF)

G (PDF)

H (PDF)

I-J (PDF)

K (PDF)

L (PDF)

M (PDF)

N (PDF)

O (PDF)

P (PDF)

Q&R (PDF)

S (PDF)

T (PDF)

U-W (PDF)

The following submissions are anonymous:

Anonymous combined (PDF)

MP

Rosie Winterton (PDF)

Parish Councils

Armthorpe parish council (PDF)

Austerfield parish council (PDF)

Braithwell with Micklebring parish council (PDF)

Brodsworth parish and surrounding areas

Clayton with Frickley parish council, Hooton Pagnell parish council & Adwick upon dearne Parish council (PDF)

Clayton with Frickley parish council (PDF)

This submission includes a petition with 35 signatures

Edenthorpe Parish council (PDF)

Hampole&Skelbrooke parish meeting (PDF)

Hickton parish council (PDF)

This submission includes a petition with 47 signatures

Parish council of Hooton Pagnell (PDF)

Joint rural parish submission (PDF)

Marr parish meeting (PDF)

This submission includes a petition with 81 signatures

Parish council of Norton (PDF)

Pickleburn/ Brodsworth and Scawsby , Green Lane Villagers Meeting (PDF)

This submission includes a petition with 19 signatures

Wadworth parish council (PDF)

This submission includes a petition with 242 signatures

Political groups

Political groups (PDF)

On 27 May 2014 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Doncaster Metropolitan Borough Council. Between 27 May 2014 and 11 August 2014 we invited comments on our draft recommendations.

Our draft recommendations can be found using the links below.

•    Draft recommendations for Doncaster Metropolitan Borough Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release on draft recommendations for Doncaster

•    Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Doncaster Metropolitan Borough Council (PDF)

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available.

Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

Consultation closed on 11 August 2014


On 26 November 2013, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Doncaster Council. Between 26 November 2013 and 3 February 2014, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

Consultation closed on 3 February 2014

Below are the submissions which we have received.

Councillor submissions

Councilor submissions combined (PDF)

Local resident submissions combined (PDF)

Local resident submissions combined (PDF)

Local Authority

Doncaster Metropolitan Borough Council 

Local organisation submissions

UKIP (PDF)

MP submissions

Doncaster MPs (PDF)

Parish and town council submissions

Parish and town council submissions combined (PDF)

Political group submissions

Conisbrough Denaby Labour CPG Doncaster (PDF)

Conservative Group CPG Doncaster (PDF)

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Doncaster Council (PDF)

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

On 3 September 2013 we started an electoral review of Doncaster Borough Council. From 3 September to 14 October 2013 we are inviting proposals for the number of councillors who should represent Doncaster in the future.

Consultation closed on 14 October 2013.

Below are the submissions we received:

Local Residents

We received 44 submissions from local residents. Submissions are contained in two documents. At the front of each document there is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Local residents A-H (PDF)

Local residents I-Z (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

We received 11 submissions from parish and town councils. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Parish and Town Councils (PDF)

Political Groups, MPs and the Mayor

Doncaster MPs (PDF)

Mayor of Doncaster (PDF)

Mayor of Doncaster no2 (PDF)

Intervention Commission (PDF)

Conisbrough and Denaby Labour Group (PDF)

Local Organisations

Doncaster and Bassetlaw Hospitals Foundation Trust (PDF)

Rossington Radburn and Rossington Central Tenants and Residents Association (PDF)

Local Authority

Doncaster Metropolitian Borough Council (PDF)

The first stage of an electoral review is to determine the number of councillors who should represent the local authority in the future. We call this stage 'council size'. During the preliminary stage of the review, the Commission received proposals from Doncaster Borough Council, Intervention Commissioners, MPs and the former Mayor of Doncaster. Their submissions are available below under preliminary council size.The Commission has considered these submissions and is now seeking views on its proposal for a council size of 48 or 54 members for Doncaster Borough Council.

A letter sent to the Chief Executive (PDF), our consultation document (PDF) and our public news release provide more details on this consultation and the review in general.

We will be considering the number, names and boundaries of wards during two further periods of public consultation later in 2013.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under. The next consultation on ward boundaries will be in November 2013. You can visit our consultation area to register for a consultation reminder.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Doncaster Borough Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Doncaster Borough Council). We received 4 submissions on council size.

Doncaster Borough Council (PDF)

Intervention Commissioners (PDF)

Peter Davies (PDF)

Members of Parliament (PDF)

The Boundary Committee for England (BCFE) began reviewing the electoral arrangements of Doncaster on 8 May 2002.

The Order implementing The Electoral Commission's decision on the final recommendations of this review can be viewed on Her Majesty's Stationery Office's website. The current boundaries of the electoral wards and divisions can be viewed on Ordnance Survey's election maps website. Parish warding is not shown on the election maps website. It can be seen on the mapping from the Committee's final recommendations below; any modifications are listed in the Explanatory Note at the back of the Order.

Final recommendations, pubished on 27 August 2003.

Map 1 Existing wards in Doncaster

Map 2 The Committe's final recommendations for Doncaster

Map A1 Illustrates, in outline form, the proposed ward boundaries and indicates the areas which are shown in more detail in the large maps.

Large map 1,large map 2,large map 3,large map 4,large map 5,large map 6,large map 7,large map 8,large map 9,large map 10.

Draft recommendations, published on 11 February 2003.

Map 1 Existing wards in Doncaster

Map 2 Draft recommendations for Doncaster

Map A1 Illustrates, in outline form, the proposed ward boundaries and indicates the areas which are shown in more detail in the large maps.

Large map 1,large map 2,large map 3,large map 4,large map 5,large map 6,large map 7large map 8 and large map 9.