Draft and final recommendation reports for Selby, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Selby

image map Final recommendations

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Selby between October 2012 - July 2014. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Selby councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

 

 

 

Recommendations become law

The Selby (Electoral Changes) Order 2014, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Selby, was made on 14 July 2014 and was published 22 July 2014). New ward arrangements for Selby have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2015.

The order for Selby can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2014/1911/pdfs/uksi_20141911_en.pdf

 

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 14 May 2014 the Selby (Electoral Changes) Order 2014 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Selby and published on 14 January 2014.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Selby in 2015.

The order is accessible using the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2014/9780111114766/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

•    Sheet 1 - Overview of the district (PDF)

On 14 January 2014 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Selby Council. The report is available in the link below.

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image below to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of Selby Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2015.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

On 18 June 2013 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of the Selby District Council. Between 18 June 2013 and 9 September 2013 we are inviting comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below.

Consultation closed on 9 September 2013

Below are the submissions we received:

Local residents

We received 16 submissions (PDF) from local residents

Parish and Town Councils

We received 8 submissions (PDF) from Parish and Town Councils

District and County Councillors

We received 8 submissions (PDF) from District and County Councillors

Political groups

Selby District Labour Group (PDF) 

On 29 January 2013, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Selby District Council. Between 29 January and 8 April 2013, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

Consultation closed on 8 April 2013

Below are the submissions we received:

Local Authorities

Selby District Council (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

Barbly and Osgodby Parish Council (PDF)

Church Fenton Parish Council (PDF)

Hambleton Parish Council (PDF)

Hazlewood Parish Council (PDF)

Tadcaster Town Council (PDF)

Sherburn-in-Elmet Parish Council (PDF)

Parish Councillors

Cllr Parker (PDF)

Local Residents

Lewis D (PDF)

McSherry D (PDF)

Smithies J (PDF)

Smith K (PDF)

Political Groups

Selby District Labour Party (PDF) 

For more information read our News release and the Letter to the Chief Executive of Selby District Council (PDF)

A map of the electoral variances (PDF) and the electoral figures for Selby (PDF) are also available.

On 23 October 2012 we started an electoral review of Selby District Council. From 23 October to 3 December 2012 we invited proposals for the number of councillors who should represent Selby in the future.

Consultation closed on 3 December 2012.

Below are the submissions we received:

Local authority

North Yorkshire County Council (PDF)

Political groups

Selby District Labour Group (PDF)

York Outer and Selby Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr J McCartney (PDF)

Cllr M McCartney (PDF)

Parish councils

Church Fenton parish council (PDF)

Hambleton parish council (PDF)

Riccall parish council (PDF)

Sherburn-in-Elmet parish council (PDF)

Local residents

D McSherry (PDF)

C Martin (PDF)

E Small (PDF)

J Wetherall (PDF)

The first stage of an electoral review is to determine the number of councillors who should represent the local authority in the future. We call this stage ‘council size’. During the preliminary stage of the review, the Commission received a proposal from the Council . Their submission is available below; under preliminary council size.The Commission has considered this submission and sought views on its proposal for a council size of 31 members for Selby Council.

A letter sent to the Chief Executive (PDF) and our public news release provide more details on this consultation and the review in general.

The next consultation on ward boundaries will be in January. You can visit our consultation portal to register for a consultation reminder.

We will be considering the number, names and boundaries of wards during two further periods of public consultation later in 2013.

Guidance is available on the Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

Preliminary council size consultation

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Selby District Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on the Council). We received a submission from the Council on council size.

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE).

Draft report published 25 May 1999.

Final report published 30 November 1999.