The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Scarborough Borough Council.

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw ward boundaries across Scarborough.

 

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Scarborough

image map View Existing Ward Boundaries

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Scarborough Borough Council.

 

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw ward boundaries across Scarborough.

The consultation on our warding arrangements for Scarborough Borough Council has now closed.

Below are all of the submissions we received:

Local Authority:

Scarborough Borough Council

Councillors:

Cllr Colling

Cllr Mortimer

Cllr Nock

Cllr Harston

Parish and Town Councils:

Filey Town Council

Lythe Parish Council

Newby and Scalby Parish Council

Reighton and Speeton Parish Council

Local Residents:

Baker Da

Baker De

Bolt E

Butler M

Cockerill M

Hinchcliffe S

James D

Lowery W

Maw C

Phillips H

Ralph B

Sheard L

Thompson K


On 27 June 2017, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Scarborough Borough Council. Between 27 June 2017 and 4 September 2017, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission has also announced that it is minded to recommend that Scarborough Borough Council should have 45 councillors in the future; a reduction of five.

The Commission needed information from people and groups across Scarborough to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 45 councillors.

For more information, read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Scarborough Borough Council.

You may find the electoral figures useful when thinking about warding arrangements. 

Polling district maps may also be useful when thinking about warding arrangements. You can view the polling district map below. Please note, polling district mapping data has been supplied by Scarborough Borough Council and may contain boundary errors.

Scarborough polling district map

Summary map of existing ward boundaries

To view the existing warding arrangements, visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Scarborough Borough Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Scarborough Borough Council). We received 2 submissions on council size:

Scarborough Borough Council

Whitby Town Council

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE).

Draft report published 25 May 1999.

Final report published 30 November 1999.

Review Dates


Date from:
Date to:
Consultation on warding arrangements
27 June 2017
4 September 2017
Consultation on draft recommendations
31 October 2017
15 January 2018
Final recommendations published
3 April 2018