LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Richmondshire

image map View Existing Ward Boundaries

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Richmondshire District Council.

 

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw ward boundaries across Richmondshire.

The consultation on our warding arrangements for Richmondshire District Council has now closed.


On 27 June 2017, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Richmondshire District Council. Between 27 June 2017 and 4 September 2017, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission has also announced that it is minded to recommend that Richmondshire District Council should have 24 councillors in the future; a reduction of ten.

The Commission needed information from people and groups across Richmondshire to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 24 councillors.

For more information, read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Richmondshire District Council.

You may find the electoral figures useful when thinking about warding arrangements. 

Polling district maps may also be useful when thinking about warding arrangements. You can view the polling district maps below. Please note, polling district mapping data has been supplied by Richmondshire District Council and may contain boundary errors.

Richmondshire polling district map 1

Richmondshire polling district map 2

Summary map of existing ward boundaries

To view the existing warding arrangements, visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Richmondshire District Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Richmondshire District Council). We received 1 submission on council size:

Richmondshire District Council

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE).

Draft report published 25 May 1999.

Final report published 30 November 1999.

Review Dates


Date from:
Date to:
Consultation on warding arrangements
27 June 2017
4 September 2017
Consultation on draft recommendations
31 October 2017
15 January 2018
Final recommendations published
3 April 2018