Draft and final recommendation reports for Hamblelton, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Hambleton

image map Final recommendations

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Hambleton between March 2012 - January 2014. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Hambleton councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.


Recommendations become law

The Hambleton (Electoral Changes) Order 2014, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Hambleton, was made on 8 January 2014 and was published 14 January 2014). New ward arrangements for Hambleton have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections on 2015.

The order for Hambleton can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/id/uksi/2014/21

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 4 November 2013 the Hambleton (Electoral Changes) Order 2014 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England's review of electoral arrangements in Hambleton and published on 25 March 2013.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Hambleton in 2015.

To view the draft order please visit:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2014/9780111104941/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

On 25 March 2013 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Hambleton. These are available through the links below.

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note this map is very large and may take some time to download. 

To interact with the mapping, click on the map below to visit our consultation area. Here you can view the existing boundaries, draft recommendations and final recommendations. 

We have now completed our electoral review of Hambleton District Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2015.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

On 13 November 2012 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Hambleton District Council. Between 13 November 2012 and 7 January 2013 we invited comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below.

Consultation closed on 7 January 2013

Below are the submissions we have received:

Local Authority

Hambleton District Council (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Gibbon (PDF)

Cllr Firth (PDF)

Cllr Fortune (PDF)

Cllr Seymour (PDF)

Parish, Town Councils

We received 13 submissions from Parish and Town Councils. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document, there is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Parish, Town Councils (PDF)

Local Residents

We received 11 submissions from local residents. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document, there is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Local Residents (PDF)

Click below to view the report, summary, news release and letter to the Chief Executive.

Following preliminary discussions with Hambleton District Council, on 19 June 2012 we started a period of information gathering for new ward arrangements. Between 19 June and 28 August, we invited local people and other interested parties to provide information on new warding arrangements for the authority. We were especially looking for information on communities within Hambleton, how people relate to and interact with them and how this may relate to any new ward boundaries.

During the preliminary consultation the Commission received submissions from Hambleton Council, political groups and local residents. These submissions are available below; under council size consultation. The Commission has considered these proposals and is minded to recommend a council size of 28 for Hambleton. Proposals for warding arrangements should therefore be based on this council size.

A letter sent to the Chief Executive of Hambleton District Council (PDF) and our public news release provide details on the consultation and the review in general.

When considering the warding arrangements for Hambleton you may find the electoral figures (XLS)a map of the existing wards (PDF) and a map of the polling districts (PDF) useful.

Consultation closed on 28 August 2012.

Below are the submissions we received:

Local authority

Hambleton District Council submission (PDF)Schedule for Plan - 2018 forecasts (PDF) a map of wards (PDF) and proposed ward names (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Seymour (PDF)

Parish and town councils

Aiskew and Leeming Bar parish council (PDF)

Crathorne parish council (PDF)

Easingwold town council (PDF)

Great Ayton parish council (PDF)

Whorlton parish council (PDF)

Worsall parish council (PDF)

Local residents

Barker R (PDF)

Hinton R (PDF)

Rose Y (PDF)

Stockdale A (PDF)

Williams D (PDF)

You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance (PDF), which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

On 27 March 2012 we started an electoral review of Hambleton District Council. From 27 March to 8 May we invited proposals for the number of councillors who should represent Hambleton Council. The first stage of an electoral review is to determine the number of councillors who should represent the local authority in the future. We call this stage council size.

During the preliminary stage of the review, the Commission received one proposal from Hambleton District Council. This submission is available below under preliminary council size consultation. The Commission considered the submission and sought views on its proposal for a council size of 28 members for Hambleton District Council.

Consultation closed on 8 May 2012.

Below are the submissions we received on council size:

Parish and town councils

Alne parish council (PDF)

Appleton Wiske parish council (PDF)

Bedale parish council (PDF)

Brompton parish council (PDF)

Coxwold parish council (PDF)

Rudby parish council (PDF)

Scruton parish council (PDF)

Sowerby parish council (PDF)

Stokesley parish council (PDF)

Sutton-on-the-Forest parish council (PDF)

Thornton-le-Beans parish council (PDF)

Worsall parish council (PDF)

Local residents

Baker R (PDF)

Hague S (PDF)

Harvey R (PDF)

Hutchinson R (PDF)

Imeson J (PDF)

King R (PDF)

Latter S (PDF)

Salmon J (PDF)

Wright C (PDF) 

A letter sent to the Chief Executive (PDF) and our public news release provide more details on this consultation and the review in general.

We will be considering the number, names and boundaries of wards during two further periods of public consultation later in 2012.

Preliminary council size consultation

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Hambleton Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on the Council). We received one submission on council size:

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE).

Draft report published 25 May 1999.

Final report published 30 November 1999.

Useful Documents