Draft and final recommendation reports for the City of York, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

City of York

image map Final recommendations

The Commission carried out an electoral review of the City of York between July 2012 - December 2014. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each City of York councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The City of York (Electoral Changes) Order 2014, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in York, was made on 2 December 2014 and was published 17 December 2014. New ward arrangements for City of York have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections on in 2015.

The order for the City of York can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2014/3289/pdfs/uksi_20143289_en.pdf

 

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 16 October 2014 the York (Electoral Changes) Order 2014 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in York and published on 22 July 2014.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for York in 2015.

The draft order can be viewed here:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2014/9780111121764/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

•    Sheet 1 - Overview of the city (PDF)

On 22 July 2014 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in York City Council. The report is available in the link below.

•    Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for York City  Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release

•    Letter to the Chief Executive of York City Council (PDF)

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of York City Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2015.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

Further Draft Recommendations

On 4 February 2014 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of the City of York Council. Between 4 February 2014 and 31 March 2014 we are inviting comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode, and Have your say.

This consultation is now closed.

An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

When considering the further draft recommendations for York, you may find the electoral figures (PDF) useful 

The below are the submissions which we have received:

Local organisations

York Student Union

University of York Labour Club

Local residents

Five submissions from local residents have been combined in one documnet.

Local residents (PDF)

Parish Councils

Fulford PC

Political groups

York Liberal Democrats

 

On 19 November 2013 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in the City of York Council. The report is available in the link below.

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note this map is very large and may take some time to download.

To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image below to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of the City York Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2015.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

Draft Recommendations

On 14 May 2013 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of the City of York Council. Between 14 May 2013 and 5 August 2013 we are inviting comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below.

Consultation closed on 5 August 2013

Below are the submissions we received:

Local residents

We received 70 submissions from local residents. They can be found in the documents below:

Local residents - A to L (PDF)

Local residents - H to O (PDF)

Local residents - P to Z (PDF)

We also received a late submission from

Hilton J (PDF)

Parish councils

We received 10 submissions (PDF) from parish councils

Political groups

We received 7 submissions (PDF) from political groups

Local authorities

York City Council (PDF)

Local organisations

Fulford Community Orchard Management Committee (PDF)

Fishergate, Fulford and Heslington Local History Society (PDF)

Fulford in Bloom (PDF)

Fulford Residents Association (PDF)

Fulford Show Committee (PDF)

Medlands Residents Association (PDF)

University of York Labour Club (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr K Aspden (PDF)

Cllr M Warters (PDF)

Politicians

Julian Sturdy MP (PDF)

Hugh Bayley MP (PDF)

Baroness Harris of Richmond (PDF)

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode, and Have your say.

You can also make a submission to the City of York electoral review through our consultation area, by sending an e-mail to reviews@lgbce.org.uk, or writing in to the following address:

The Review Officer (City of York)
Local Government Boundary Commission for England
Layden House
76-86 Turnmill Street
London
EC1M 5LG
An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available.

Consultation on Warding Arrangements

Following preliminary discussions with City of York Council, on 23 October 2012 we started a period of information gathering for new ward arrangements. Between 23 October 2012 and 14 January 2013, we invited local people and other interested parties to provide information on new warding arrangements for the authority. We were especially looking for information on communities within York, how people relate to and interact with them and how this may relate to any new ward boundaries. 

During the preliminary consultation the Commission received submissions from political groups, parish councils, local organisations and local residents. The submissions are available below; under council size. The Commission has considered these proposals and is minded to recommend a council size of 47 for York. Proposals for warding arrangements should therefore be based on this council size.

A letter sent to the Chief Executive of City of York Council (PDF) and our public news release provide details on the consultation and the review in general. 

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation portal. You can search by area or postcode, and 'Have your say'.

When considering warding arrangements for York, you may find the electoral figures (PDF) useful.   

Consultation closed on 14 January 2013

Below are the submissions we have received:

MPs and Political Groups

Hugh Bailey MP (PDF)

City of York Labour Party (PDF)

Green Party (PDF)

York City Liberal Democrats (PDF)

York Outer Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Watt (PDF)

Cllr Aspden (PDF)

Local Organisations

York University Students Union (PDF)

Parishes

We received 6 submissions from Parish and Town Councils. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Parish and Town Councils (PDF)

Residents

We received 22 submissions from local residents. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Local residents (PDF)

Council size consultation

On 24 July 2012 we started an electoral review of City of York Council. From 24 July to 3 September we invited proposals for the number of councillors who should represent York in the future.

The first stage of an electoral review is to determine the number of councillors who should represent the local authority in the future. We call this stage 'council size'. During the preliminary stage of the review, the Commission received proposals from political parties, parish & town councils, a councillor and a local resident. Their submissions are available below, under preliminary council size. The Commission considered these submissions and sought views on its proposal for a council size of 47 members for City of York Council.

A letter sent to the Chief Executive (PDF) and our public news release provide more details on this consultation and the review in general.

Consultation closed on 3 September 2012.

Below are the submissions we received:

Political groups

City of York Council Liberal Democrat Group (PDF)

York Central Liberal Democrats (PDF)

York Outer Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Parish and town councils

Clifton Without parish council (PDF)

Fulford parish council (PDF)

Heworth Without parish council (PDF)

New Earswick parish council (PDF)

Strensall with Towthorpe parish council (PDF)

Local residents

Arnott W (PDF)

Berl R (PDF)

Bellinge R (PDF)

Finlay J (PDF)

Flinders S (PDF)

Jones J (PDF)

Kelly S (PDF)

Mr and Mrs Moxon (PDF)

Reeves J (PDF)

Richardson P (PDF)

Short T (PDF)

 

We will be considering the number, names and boundaries of wards during two further periods of public consultation later in 2013.

You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance (PDF), which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

Preliminary council size consultation

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with City of York Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on the Council). We received eight submission on council size:

This review was carried out by the LGCE.

Final report (PDF), published on 15 May 2001

Map 1 Current ward boundaries; (PDF)

Map 2 Proposed final ward boundaries; (PDF)

Map A1 Final recommendations for York: Key map; (PDF)

Map A2 Proposed warding of Haxby Parish; (PDF)

Large map (7.5 Mb) illustrating the proposed warding arrangements for York. This may take some time to download; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF), published on 12 December 2000

Map 1 Current ward boundaries; (PDF)

Map 2 Proposed draft ward boundaries; (PDF)

Map A1 Draft recommendations for York: Key map; (PDF)

Map A2 Proposed warding of Haxby Parish; (PDF)

Large map (7.9 Mb) illustrating the existing and proposed ward boundaries for York. This may take some time to download; (PDF)

Useful Documents