" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Kingston-upon-Hull

image map View our draft recommendations

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Hull City Council.

 

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw ward boundaries across Kingston upon Hull.

The consultation on our draft recommendations closed on the 6 March 2017.

Below are all of the submissions we received:

Political Groups:

Hull Conservative and Unionist Group

East and North Hull Conservative Group Association

Hull Liberal Democrats

Hull North Labour Party

Hull Labour Group

West Hull and Hessle Conservative Group Association

Hull Conservative and Labour Group Joint Statement

Councillors:

All submissions from councillors are combined in the documents below. At the front of each document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Councillors

MP:

Andrew Percy MP

Rt Hon Alan Johnson MP and Diana Johnson MP

Local Organisations:

Constable Community Allotment

Goodwin Development Trust

Hessle Road Network

Hull Bullnose Heritage Group

Hull University Union

Kingswood Residents Association (1)

Kingswood Residents Association (2)

Mitchell Community Centre

Sutton Park Residents Association

Vulcan Learning Centre

Local Residents:

All submissions from local residents are combined in the documents below. At the front of each document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

A

B

C

D-E

F-G

H

I-L

M

N-Q

R

S

T-V

W-Z

Anonymous:

Anonymous 1

Petition:

Bricknell Residents Petition

DARTS Community Petition


On 10 January we published our draft recommendations for the electoral review of Hull City Council. Between 10 January 2017 and 6 March 2017 we are invited comments on our draft recommendations. The recommendations can be found using the links below:

Draft recommendations for Hull City Council

Summary of the Hull City Council report

News release on draft recommendations for Hull City Council

Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Hull City Council

An overview map of Hull City Council draft recommendations is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode. 

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

This consultation closed on the 31 October 2016.

 Below are all of the submissions we received.

Political Groups:

Hull City Council Conservative and Unionist Party

Hull Conservative Association

Hull City Council Labour Group

Hull Liberal Democrats

Local Residents:

Mr Harris, D

Mr Sharp, J


On 23 August 2016, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Hull City Council. Between 23 August and 31 October 2016, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission also announced that it was minded to recommend that Hull City Council should have 57 councillors in the future.

The Commission needed information from people and groups across Kingston upon Hull to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 57 councillors.

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Hull City Council (PDF).

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

Polling District Maps may also be useful when thinking about warding arrangements. You can view the polling district map below. Please note polling district mapping data has been supplied by Hull City Council and may contain boundary errors

Kingston upon Hull polling district map (jpeg)

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Hull City Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Hull City Council). We received one submission on council size:

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE) and was started on 16 May 2000.

Final report, published on 15 May 2001

Map 1 Existing wards in Kingston-upon-Hull;

Map 2 The Commission's final recommendations for Kingston-upon-Hull;

Large map (13.1 Mb) illustrating the proposed ward boundaries for Kingston-upon-Hull . This may take some time to download;

Draft report, published on 12 December 2000

Map 1 Existing wards in Kingston-upon-Hull;

Map 2 The Commission's draft recommendations for Kingston-upon-Hull;

Large map (13.1 Mb) illustrating the existing and proposed ward boundaries for Kingston-upon-Hull. This may take some time to download;

Review Dates


Dates from:
Dates to:
Consultation on warding arrangements
23 August 2016
31 October 2016
Consultation on draft recommendations
10 January 2017
6 March 2017
Final recommendations
9 May 2017