Draft and final recommendation reports for Wyre Forest, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Wyre Forest

image map

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Wyre Forest District Council between June 2013 - January 2015. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Wyre Forest District councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The Wyre Forest (Electoral Changes) Order 2015, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Wyre Forest, was made on 23 January 2015 and was published 30 January 2015. New ward arrangements for Wyre Forest have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2015.

The order for Wyre Forest can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2015/70/pdfs/uksi_20150070_en.pdf

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 20 November 2014 the Wyre Forest (Electoral Changes) Order 2015 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Wyre Forest and published on 13 October 2014.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Wyre Forest in 2015.

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

•    Sheet 1 - Overview of the district (PDF)

On 13 October 2014 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Wyre Forest District Council. The report is available in the link below.

•    Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for Wyre Forest District  Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release

•    Letter to the Chief Executive of Wyre Forest District Council (PDF)

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of Wyre Forest District Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2015.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

Consultation closed on 24 June 2014.

Below are the submissions we received:

Local residents

We received 21 submissions from local residents. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Local residents (PDF)

Political Groups

Aggborough and Spennells Independent Group (PDF)

Bewdley Labour Party (PDF)

Independent Community and Health Concern (PDF)

UKIP (PDF)

Wyre Forest District Council Conservative Group (PDF)

Wyre Forest Conservative Association (PDF)

Wyre Forest District Council Labour Group (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Clee (PDF)

Cllr Hyde et al. (PDF)

Cllr Oborski (PDF)

Cllr Harrison (PDF)

Cllr Hart (PDF)

Cllr Nicholls (PDF)

Cllr Sheppard (PDF)

Local Authority 

Wyre Forest District Council (PDF)

MP

Mark Garnier MP (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

Bewdley Town Council (PDF)

Chaddesley Corbett Parish Council (PDF)

Kidderminster Foreign Parish Council (PDF)

Rock Parish Council (PDF)

Stourport Town Council (PDF)

Wolverley and Cookley Parish Council (PDF)

 

On 15 April 2014 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Wyre Forest District Council. Between 15 April 2014 and 24 June 2014 we invited comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below.

• Draft recommendations for Wyre Forest District Council (PDF)

• Summary of the report (PDF)

 News release on draft recommendations for Wyre Forest

• Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Wyre Forest District Council (PDF)

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

On 24 September 2013, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Wyre Forest District Council. Between 24 September 2013 and 10 December 2013, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

Consultation closed on 10 December 2013

Below are the submissions we received:

Local residents

G Jones (PDF)

G Ryland (PDF)

A Leeke (PDF)

H Cox (PDF)

G Hill (PDF)

O'Malley (PDF)

N Wellsbury (PDF)

E Higbee (PDF)

D Bareford (PDF)

P Warwicker (PDF)

G Cox (PDF)

C Reeve (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

Bewdley Town Council (PDF)

Wolverley and Cookely Parish Council (PDF) and no.2. (PDF)

Chaddesley Corbett Parish Council (PDF)

Stourport-on-Severn Town Council (PDF)

Stourport-on-Severn Town Council part 2 (PDF)

Political Groups and MP

Wyre Forest Conservatives (PDF)

Wyre Forest Labour Group (PDF)

MP Mark Garnier (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Nicholls (PDF)

Cllr McFarland (PDF)

Local Authority

Wyre Forest District Council (PDF)

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Wyre Forest District Council (PDF)

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

Below is the map of existing ward boundaries in Wyre Forest. Click on the image for more detail:

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area.

On 25 June 2013 we started an electoral review of Wyre Forest District Council. From 25 June to 6 August we invited proposals for the number of councillors who should represent Wyre Forest in the future.

The first stage of an electoral review is to determine the number of councillors who should represent the local authority in the future. We call this stage ‘council size’. During the preliminary stage of the review, the Commission received proposals from Wyre Forest District Council and the Wyre Forest Labour Group. Their submissions are available below under preliminary council size. The Commission has considered these submissions and is now seeking views on its proposal for a council size of 33 members for Wyre Forest District Council.

A letter sent to the Chief Executive (PDF) and our public news release provide more details on this consultation and the review in general.

Consultation closed on 6 August.

Below are the submissions we received:

Local residents

Jones G (PDF)

Smith P (PDF)

Smith P (PDF)

Watson B (PDF)

Coley P (PDF)

Edwards G (PDF)

Stevenson J (PDF)

Byron C & K (PDF)

Ireland R (PDF)

Councillors

Higgs V (PDF)

Sheppard D (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

Kidderminster Foreign Parish Council (PDF)

Bewdley Town Council (PDF)

The next consultation on ward boundaries will be in September 2013. Please visit our consultation area to register for a reminder.

We will be considering the number, names and boundaries of wards during two further periods of public consultation later in 2013.

 

Guidance is available on our Guidance page You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

We will be considering the number, names and boundaries of wards during two further periods of public consultation later in 2013 and 2014. 

Preliminary council size consultation

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Wyre Forest District Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on the Council). We received 2 submissions on council size.

Wyre Forest District Council (PDF)

Wyre Forest Labour Group (PDF)

This review was started by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE) on 31 July 2001 but, following the transfer of the LGCE's functions to The Electoral Commission, the review was completed by The Boundary Committee for England (BCFE).

The Order implementing The Electoral Commission's decision on the final recommendations of this review has been made and can be viewed on Her Majesty's Stationery Office's website. The Implementation Team section of the Commission's website explains how the Commission's decisions on The Boundary Committee for England's final recommendations are made into Orders. The current boundaries of the electoral wards and divisions can be viewed on Ordnance Survey's election maps website. Parish warding is not shown on the election maps website. It can be seen on the mapping from the Committee's final recommendations below; any modifications are listed in the Explanatory Note at the back of the Order.

Final report (PDF), published on 30 July 2002 by the BCFE

Map 1 Existing wards in Wyre Forest; (PDF)

Map 2 The Committee's final recommendations for Wyre Forest; (PDF)

Map A1 illustrates, in outline form, the proposed ward boundaries within the district and indicates the areas which are shown in more detail on Maps A2, A3 and the large map at the back of this report; (PDF)

Map A2 illustrates the proposed warding of Stourport-on-Severn parish; (PDF)

Map A3 illustrates the proposed warding of Bewdley parish; (PDF)

Large map (4.2 Mb) illustrates the existing and proposed warding arrangements for Kidderminster. This may take some time to download; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF), published on 26 February 2002 by the LGCE

Map 1 Existing wards in Wyre Forest; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's final recommendations for Wyre Forest; (PDF)

Map A1 illustrates, the proposed ward boundaries within the district and indicates the areas that are shown in more detail on Maps A2, A3 and the large map; (PDF)

Map A2 illustrates the proposed parish warding of Stourport-on-Severn parish; (PDF)

Map A3 illustrates the proposed parish warding of Bewdley parish; (PDF)

Large map (4.2 Mb) illustrating the existing and proposed warding arrangements for Kidderminster. This may take some time to download; (PDF)