LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Bromsgrove

image map Final recommendations

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Bromsgrove following a request by the District Council to review the council's electoral arrangements with a view to providing single-member wards across the district. The aim of the review is also to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of electors. Furthermore, as it draws up new electoral arrangements for an authority, the Commission must also have regard to the interests and identities of local communities as well as ensuring that the new electoral arrangements promote effective and convenient local government.

Recommendations become law

The Bromsgrove (Electoral Changes) Order 2014, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Bromsgrove, was made on 8 January 2014 and was published 14 January 2014. New ward arrangements for Bromsgrove have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2015.

The order for Bromsgrove can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2014/18/introduction/made

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 30 October 2013 The Bromsgrove (Electoral Changes) Order 2014 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England's review of electoral arrangements in Bromsgrove and published on 25 June 2013.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Bromsgrove in 2015.

To view the draft order please visit http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2014/9780111105177/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

Final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Bromsgrove

On 25 June 2013 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Bromsgrove. These are available through the links below.

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. This map was updated on 18 July 2013 to correct an error in the labelling of the parish wards for Stoke parish.

We have now completed our electoral review of Bromsgrove District Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2015.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

Further consultation in Bromsgrove

On 26 February 2013 the Commission began further limited consultation in Bromsgrove. At its meeting on 12 February 2013 the Commission decided to undertake further consultation in response to the views put forward during the consultation on its draft recommendations. The Commission proposes to make significant changes to the plans it put forward last year and residents are invited to have their say.

Consultation closed on 8 April 2013.

Below are the submissions we received:

Local Residents

We received 79 submissions from local residents. These submissions are contained in the documents below. At the front of each document there is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Local Residents Surnames A-L (PDF)

Local Residents Surnames L-Z (PDF)

We also received :

Adey R (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Lewis (PDF)

Cllr Scurrell (PDF)

Cllr Kitson (PDF)

Cllr Colella (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

Belbroughton Parish Council (PDF)

Bournheath Parish Council (PDF)

Catshill and North Marlbrook Parish Council (PDF)

Dodford and Grafton Parish Council (PDF)

Hagley Parish Council (PDF)

Worcestershire CALC (PDF)

Local Organisations, Political Groups and Other

Labour Group (PDF)

Wildmoor Residents Association (PDF)

Anonymous (PDF)

Anonymous 2 (PDF)

Anonymous 3 (PDF)

Anonymous 4 (PDF)

A letter sent to the Chief Executive of Bromsgrove District Council (PDF) and our public news release provides more information on the review.

The limited consultation focused on areas of Bromsgrove district where the Commission proposed to alter its draft recommendations for new ward boundaries.

In Bromsgrove town, the Commission is proposing changes to its draft recommendations for the wards of Hill Top, Perryfields, Sanders Park and Sidemoor. View amap of these proposals (PDF)

The Commission made several changes to its draft recommendations to the north and west of Bromsgrove town. The proposed wards affected by these changes are Belbroughton & Clent, Catshill North, Catshill South, Hagley East, Hagley West and Romsley. View a map of this area (PDF)

The Commission's final recommendations for new warding arrangements in Bromsgrove are now due to be published in June 2013.

Draft Recommendations

On 13 November 2012 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Bromsgrove District Council. Between 13 November 2012 and 7 January 2013 we invited comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below.

Consultation closed on 7 January 2013

Below are the submissions we have received:

Political Parties

Wythall Conservatives submission (PDF)

Councillors and Political Groups

We received 13 submissions from local councillors and a single submission from a political group. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Local Councillors (PDF)

Wythall Residents Association (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

We received 8 submissions from Parish and Town Councils. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Parish and Town Councils (PDF)

Local Residents

We received 120 submissions from local residents. All submissions are contained in three separate documents. At the front of the documents there are a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Local Residents - Batch 1 (PDF)

Local Residents - Batch 2 (PDF)

Local Residents - Batch 3 (PDF)

Click below to view the report, summary, news release and letter to the Chief Executive.

Draft recommendations report for Bromsgrove District Council (PDF)

Summary of the report (PDF)

News release on draft recommendations for Bromsgrove

Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Bromsgrove District Council (PDF)

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping, visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area.

You may find the electoral figures for Bromsgrove District Council (XLS) useful.

Please note: these maps are very large and may take some time to download.

Consultation closed on 7 January 2013

Consultation on ward boundaries

Following preliminary discussions with Bromsgrove District Council, on 19 June 2012 we started a period of information gathering for new ward arrangements. Between 20 June and 28 August, we invited local people and other interested parties to provide information on new warding arrangements for the authority. We were especially looking for information on communities within Bromsgrove, how people relate to and interact with them and how this may relate to any new ward boundaries.

During the preliminary consultation the Commission received submissions from Bromsgrove Council, political groups and local residents. These submissions are available below; under council size. The Commission has considered these proposals and is minded to recommend a council size of 31 for Bromsgrove. Proposals for warding arrangements should therefore be based on this council size.

A letter sent to the Chief Executive of Bromsgrove District Council (PDF) and our public news release provide details on the consultation and the review in general.

When considering the warding arrangements for Bromsgrove you may find the electoral figures (XLS) with explanatory notes and a map of the polling districts (PDF) useful.

Consultation closed 28 August 2012

Below are the submissions we received:

Local Authority

Bromsgrove District Council (PDF)

Councillors Cllr Scurrell (PDF)

Parish, Town Councils

Alvechurch Parish Council (PDF)

Local Residents

Rowbottom P (PDF)

Anonymous (PDF)

M L Guest (PDF)

You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance (PDF), which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

Council size consultation

On 27 March 2012 we started an electoral review of Bromsgrove District Council. From 27 March to 8 May we invited proposals for the number of councillors who should represent Bromsgrove.The first stage of an electoral review is to determine the number of councillors who should represent the local authority in the future. We call this stage 'council size'.

During the preliminary stage of the review, the Commission received proposals from the Conservative Group, Labour Group and Wythall Resident's Association. These submissions are available below.

The Commission has considered these submissions and has sought views on its proposal for a council size of 31 members for Bromsgrove Council.

Consultation closed 8 May 2012

Below are the submissions we received.

MPs, Political Groups and Councillors

Bromsgrove Labour and Wythall Residents Association (PDF)

Bromsgrove Liberal Democrats (PDF)

District Cllr Scurrell (PDF)

Local Organisations

Bromsgrove Indian Community Forum (PDF)

West Mercia Police Authority (PDF)

Parish Town Councils

Alvechurch Parish Council (PDF)

Bournheath Parish Council (PDF)

Catshill & North Marlbrook Parish Council (PDF)

Wythall Parish Council (PDF)

Local Residents

Beavis C (PDF)

Carmalt M (PDF)

Cooper A (PDF)

Francis J (PDF)

Guest ML (PDF)

Howard F (PDF)

Mela G (PDF)

Rowbottom P (PDF)

Stather B (PDF)

Suckling R (PDF)

A letter sent to the Chief Executive of Bromsgrove District Council (PDF) and our public news release provide details on why Bromsgrove is being reviewed.

We will be considering the number, names and boundaries of wards during two further periods of public consultation later in 2012.

Preliminary council size consultation

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Bromsgrove Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on the Council). We received three submissions on council size:

The Conservative Group (PDF)

The Labour Group (PDF)

The Wythall Resident's Association Group (PDF)

This review was started by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE) on 31 July 2001 but, following the transfer of the LGCE's functions to The Electoral Commission, the review was completed by The Boundary Committee for England (BCFE).

The Order implementing The Electoral Commission's decision on the final recommendations of this review has been made and can be viewed on Her Majesty's Stationery Office's website. The Implementation Team section of the Commission's website explains how the Commission's decisions on The Boundary Committee for England's final recommendations are made into Orders. The current boundaries of the electoral wards and divisions can be viewed on Ordnance Survey's election maps website. Parish warding is not shown on the election maps website. It can be seen on the mapping from the Committee's final recommendations below; any modifications are listed in the Explanatory Note at the back of the Order.

Final report (PDF), published on 30 July 2002 by the BCFE

Map 1 Existing wards in Bromsgrove; (PDF)

Map 2 The Committee's final recommendations for Bromsgrove; (PDF)

Map A1 illustrates, in outline form, the proposed ward boundaries within the district and indicates the areas which are shown in more detail on Map A2 and the large map at the back of this report; (PDF)

Map A2 illustrates the proposed warding of Wythall parish; (PDF)

Large map (6.9 Mb) illustrates the proposed warding arrangements for Bromsgrove; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF), published on 26 March 2002 by the LGCE

Map 1 Existing wards in Bromsgrove; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's final recommendations for Bromsgrove; (PDF)

Map A1 illustrates in outline form, the proposed ward boundaries within the district and indicates the areas which are shown in more detail in Maps A2 and the large map; (PDF)

Map A2 illustrates the proposed warding of Wythall parish; (PDF)

Large map (6.9 Mb) illustrating the existing and proposed ward boundaries for Bromsgrove. This may take some time to download; (PDF)