LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Birmingham

image map View our final recommendations

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Birmingham City Council following Lord Kerslake’s report on the governance and organisational capabilities of Birmingham City Council. The report recommended that an electoral review should be conducted ‘to help the council produce an effective model of representative governance.’

 

The review will make recommendations on the number of councillors to be elected to Birmingham City Council in future and the wards, ward boundaries and ward names across the city.

 

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 14 September 2016 the City of Birmingham (Electoral Changes) Order 2016 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Birmingham and published on 6 September 2016.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Birmingham in 2018.

The draft order can be viewed here: http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2016/9780111149713/introduction

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

•    Sheet 1 - Overview of the city (PDF)

On 6th September 2016 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Birmingham City Council. The report is available in the link below.

To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of Birmingham City Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2018.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England has published new proposals for council ward boundaries across Birmingham.

Publication of the proposals follows a public consultation earlier in the year when over 2000 local responses were received on the Commission’s original recommendations. In light of local feedback, the Commission has made changes to its plans and is now asking local people to have their say on the revised proposals.

Between 10 May and 20 June 2016 we invited comments on our further draft recommendations.

You can read more about the further draft recommendations, and view relevant mapping, in the documents below:


Read our news release for further information.

To interact with the further draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal.You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about division arrangements.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

Below are all of the submission we received during the consultation on further draft recommendations.

Local residents:

All submissions from local residents are combined in the documents below. At the front of each document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Surname A (PDF)

Surname B (PDF)

Surname C (PDF)

Surname D - F (PDF)

Surname G (PDF)

Surname H - I (PDF)

Surname J - K(PDF)

Surname L (PDF)

Surname M (PDF)

Surname N - P (PDF)

Surname Q - R (PDF)

Surname S (PDF)

Surname T - V (PDF)

Surname W - Z (PDF)

Howell A

Councillors:

All submissions from Councillors are combined in the documents below. 

Councillors (PDF)

MP:

Gisela Stewart MP (PDF)

Andrew Mitchell MP (PDF)

Richard Burden MP (PDF)

Jack Dromey MP (PDF)

Anonymous:

Anonymous 1 (PDF)

Anonymous 2 (PDF)

Anonymous 3 (PDF)

Anonymous  4 (PDF)

Anonymous  5 (PDF)

Political Groups:

Birmingham Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Brandwood Labour Party (PDF)

Birmingham Conservative Group (PDF)

Edgbaston Labour Party

Labour Group

Local Organisations:

All submissions from Local Organisations are combined in the documents below. 

Local Organisations (PDF)

North Birmingham Together (PDF)

North Birmingham Community Together (PDF)

Petitions:

Below is a cover letter for each of the respective petitions we received.

Balsall Heath Forum - 623 signatures(PDF)

Glebe Farm- 267 signatures (PDF)

Glebe Farm and Tile Cross - 296 signatures (PDF)

Hawthorn Road - 94 signatures (PDF)

Keep Bandywood in Oscott - 131 signatures(PDF)

Keep Perry Common Whole - 20 signatures(PDF)

 

 

 


Consultation closed on 8 February 2016.

On 15 December 2015 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Birmingham City Council. Between 15 December 2015 and 8 February 2016 we invited comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below.

*    Draft recommendations for Birmingham City Council (PDF)

*    Summary of the report (PDF)

*    News release on draft recommendations for Birmingham

*    Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Birmingham City Council (PDF)

*    An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

PDF maps of each individual ward can be found below. Please note each document is very large so may take some time to load.

*    Birmingham draft recommendations - wards A-K (PDF)

*    Birmingham draft recommendations - wards L-Z (PDF)

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal.You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

Below are the submissions we received during the consultation on draft recommendations.

Local residents

All submissions from local residents are combined in the documents below. At the front of each document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Anonymous (PDF)

Surname - A (PDF)

Surname - Ba-Bh (PDF)

Surname - Bi-Bz (PDF)

Surname - C (PDF)

Surname - D (PDF)

Surname - E - F (PDF)

Surname - G (PDF)

Surname - H (PDF)

Surname I - J (PDF)

Surname - L (PDF)

Surname - M (PDF)

Surname - N-O (PDF)

Surname - P (PDF)

Surname - Q-R (PDF)

Surname - S (PDF)

Surname - T (PDF)

Surname - U - Z (PDF)

Local organisations

All submissions from local organisations can be found in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Local organisations (PDF)

Councillors

All submissions from Birmingham City Councillors can be found in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Councillors (PDF)

We also received three submissions from Cllr Brew, Cllr Bridle and Cllr Pocock which are petitions and can be found in the petition section below.

Lords

Lord Bhattacharyya (PDF)

Lord Hunt (PDF)

Lord Whitby (PDF)

MPs

Richard Burden MP (PDF)

Jack Dromey MP (PDF)

Rt Hon Gisela Stuart MP (PDF) - Part 1

Rt Hon Gisela Stuart MP (PDF) - Part 2

Roger Godsiff MP (PDF)

Steve McGabe MP (PDF)

Rt Hon Andrew Mitchell MP (PDF) - Part 1

Rt Hon Andrew Mitchell MP (PDF) - Part 2

Jess Phillips MP (PDF) -part 1

Jess Phillips MP (PDF) - part 2

Jess Phillips MP (PDF) - part 3

Parish Councils

New Frankley in Birmingham Parish Council (PDF)

Sutton Coldfield Parish Council Steering Group (PDF)

Political Groups

Birmingham Conservative Group (PDF)

Birmingham Labour Group (PDF)

Birmingham Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Erdington Conservative Association (PDF)

Sutton Coldfield Conservative Association (PDF)

Petitions

Acocks Green Focus Group - part 1 (PDF)

Acocks Green Focus Group - part 2 (PDF)

Bandywood residents (PDF)

Bartley Green Ward Committee (PDF)

Petitions from Birmingham City Council (PDF)

Birmingham Labour Group (PDF)

Cllr Brew - part 1 (PDF)

Cllr Brew - part 2 (PDF)

Cllr Bridle (PDF)

Cllr Pocock (PDF)

Glebe Farm and Tile Cross (PDF)

Gove-Humphries -part 1 (PDF)

Gove-Humphries - part 2 (PDF)

Hall Green (PDF)

Residents Association (PDF)

North Birmingham Together (PDF)

St Marks Residents (PDF)

Wright D - part 1 (PDF)

Wright D - part 2 (PDF)

Consultation closed on 28 September 2015

On 21 July 2015, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Birmingham City Council. Between 21 July and 28 September 2015, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission has also announced that it is minded to recommend that Birmingham City council should have 100 councillors in the future, 20 fewer than the current arrangements.

The Commission now needs information from people and groups across Birmingham to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 100 councillors.

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Birmingham City Council (PDF)

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements. Polling District Maps may also be useful when thinking about warding arrangements. You can view the polling district map below. Please note polling district mapping data has been supplied by the Birmingham City Council and may contain boundary errors.

Polling district map - detailed (PDF)

Polling district map - overview (JPEG)

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

Below are the submissions we received during the consultation on warding arrangements.

Please note: if you are having trouble downloading any of the submissions below, please right click on the link and save as. 

Local residents

We received 71 submissions from local residents. All submissions from local residents are combined into two documents. At the front of each document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Local residents A-I (PDF)

Local residents J-Z (PDF)

Murray D (PDF) Please note this document is quite large so may take some time to download.

Local organisations

We received 33 submissions from local organisations. 32 submissions from local organisations are combined in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Local organisations (PDF)

We also received 1 submission from Sutton Coldfield Town Council Referendum Group which can be found below.

Sutton Coldfield Town Council Referendum Group (PDF). To see the Google maps document mentioned in the submission please click here: https://www.google.com/maps/d/viewer?mid=zKBQLR8co_GY.kZm5KYiTalPg

Councillors

Cllr Anderson and Cllr Tilley (PDF)

Cllr Hardie (PDF)

Cllr Harmer (PDF)

Cllr Hunt (PDF)

Cllr Pocock (PDF)

Cllr Ward (PDF)

Political Groups

Birmingham City Council Conservative Group Part 1 (PDF)

Birmingham City Council Conservative Group Part 2 (PDF)

Birmingham City Council Labour Group (PDF)

Sutton Coldfield and Erdington Liberal Democrats (PDF)

UKIP Sutton Coldfield (PDF) 

Petitions

As part of Cllr Pocock's submission we received a petition signed by 597 individual electors requesting that Sutton Coldfield ward boundaries should follow the boundary of Sutton Coldfield pariliamentary constituency. An example of the petition can be found in Cllr Pocock's submission above.

As part of the Birmingham City Council Conservative Groups submission we received various petitions supporting the Conservative Groups warding arrangements for Birmingham City Council. The petitions can be found in part two of Birmingham City Council Conservative Group's submission.

Late submissions

Pollock H (PDF)

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Birmingham City Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Birmingham City Council). We received 3 submissions on council size.

When considering council size, the Commission also considered the following documents:

This review was started by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE) on 4 December 2001. Following the transfer of the LGCE's functions to The Electoral Commission, the review was completed by The Boundary Committee for England (BCFE).

The Order implementing The Electoral Commission's decision on the final recommendations of this review has been made and can be viewed on Her Majesty's Stationery Office's website. The Implementation Team section of the Commission's website explains how the Commission's decisions on The Boundary Committee for England's final recommendations are made into Orders. The current boundaries of the electoral wards and divisions can be viewed on Ordnance Survey's election maps website. Parish warding is not shown on the election maps website. It can be seen on the mapping from the Committee's final recommendations below; any modifications are listed in the Explanatory Note at the back of the Order.

The review was completed by The Boundary Committee for England (BCFE).

Final report, published on 13 May 2003

Map 1 Old wards in Birmingham

Map 2 Final recommendations for Birmingham

Map A1 illustrates, in outline form, the proposed ward boundaries and indicates the areas which are shown in more detail in the large maps

Large map 1, Large map 2, Large map 3, Large map 4 and Large map 5 illustrate the proposed warding arrangements for Birmingham.

Draft report, published on 22 October 2002

Map 1 Old wards in Birmingham

Map 2 Draft recommendations for Birmingham

Map A1 illustrates, in outline form, the current and proposed ward boundaries and indicates the areas which are shown in more detail in the large maps

Large map 1, Large map 2, Large map 3, Large map 4 and Large map 5 illustrate the current and proposed warding arrangements for Birmingham

Review Dates


Date From: Date to:
Initial consultation on ward boundaries 21 July 2015 28 September 2015
Consultation draft recommendations 15 December 2015 8 February 2016
Consultation on further draft recommendations
10 May 2016
20 June 2016
Final recommendations published
6 September 2016