Draft and final recommendation reports for Warwickshire County Council, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Warwickshire County Council

image map Final recommendations

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Warwickshire County Council between April 2014 - November 2015. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Warwickshire county councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

 

 

 

Recommendations become law

The Warwickshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2015, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Warwickshire, was made on 5 November 2015 and was published in November. New division arrangements for Warwickshire have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2017.

The order for Warwickshire can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2015/1874/contents/made

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 15th July 2015 the Warwickshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2015 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Warwickshire and published on 17th February 2015.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Warwickshire in 2017.

The draft order can be viewed here:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2015/9780111137819/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

•    Sheet 1 - Overview of the district (PDF)

On 17 February 2015 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Warwickshire County Council. The report is available in the link below.

•    Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for Warwickshire County Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release

•    Letter to the Chief Executive of Warwickshire County Council (PDF)

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image below to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

PDF maps of each individual ward can be found below. Please note each document is very large so may take some time to load.

•   Warwickshire County Council final recommendations - wards A (PDF)

•   Warwickshire County Council final recommendations - wards B (PDF)

•   Warwickshire County Council final recommendations - wards C-F (PDF)

•   Warwickshire County Council final recommendations - wards G-K (PDF)

•   Warwickshire County Council final recommendations - wards L-N (PDF)

•   Warwickshire County Council final recommendations - wards O-S (PDF)

•   Warwickshire County Council final recommendations - wards T-Z (PDF) 

To receive the data files for this map in shapefile format please email your request to reviews@lgbce.org.uk.

We have now completed our electoral review of Warwickshire County Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in YEAR.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

 On 9 September 2014 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Warwickshire County Council. Between 9 September 2014 and 3 November 2014 we invited comments on our draft recommendations.

Consultation closed on 3 November 2014

Below are the submissions we received:

Local residents

We received 19 submissions from local residents. All submissions can be found in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Local residents (PDF)

We also received an anonymous submission.

Anonymous (PDF)

Councillors

We received 12 submissions from councillors. All submissions can be found in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Councillors (PDF)

Local organisations

New Bilton Community Association (PDF)

Newbold Community Partnership (PDF)

Newbold Community Partnership part 2 (PDF)

Pakistani Association (PDF)

Wembrook Community Centre (PDF)

Whitnash Society (PDF)

Whitnash WI (PDF)

District Councils

Nuneaton and Bedworth Borough Council (PDF)

Rugby Borough Council (PDF)

Local Authority

Warwickshire County Council (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

Budbrooke Parish Council (PDF)

Cubbington Parish Council (PDF)

Fillongley Parish Council (PDF)

Great Alne Parish Council (PDF)

Royal Leamington Spa Town Council (PDF)

Moreton Morrell Parish Council (PDF)

Newbold Pacey and Ashorne Parish Council (PDF)

Old Milverton and Blackdown Parish Council (PDF)

Whitnash Town Council (PDF)

Political Groups

Kenilworth and Southam Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Nuneaton and Bedworth Borough Council Conservative Group (PDF)

Nuneaton Conservative Association (PDF)

Nuneaton Labour CLP (PDF)

Rugby Labour Constituency Party (PDF)

Rugby Labour Party (PDF)

Warwickshire County Council Liberal Democrat Group (PDF)

Warwick and Leamington Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Warwickshire County Council Conservative Group (PDF)

Wembrook Ward Labour Party (PDF)

The Warwickshire draft recommendations can be found using the links below.

• Draft recommendations for Warwickshire County Council (PDF)

• Summary of the report (PDF)

• News release on draft recommendations for Warwickshire County Council

• Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Warwickshire County Council (PDF)

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area.

An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about the draft recommendations. Polling District Maps may also be useful when thinking about the draft recommendations. You can view the polling district maps below. Please note polling district mapping data has been supplied by the local authorities and may contain boundary errors.

Consultation closed on 23 June 2014

On 15 April 2014, we opened the first period of consultation for a  new pattern of electoral divisions for Warwickshire County Council. Between 15 April and 23 June, we invited comments on division boundaries across the whole county.

The Commission has also announced that it is minded to recommend that the county council should have 57 county councillors in the future, five fewer than the current arrangements.

The Commission now needs information from people and groups across Warwickshire to help it to produce a new pattern of electoral divisions to accommodate 57 county councillors.

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Warwickshire County Council (PDF)

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about division arrangements. Polling District Maps may also be useful when thinking about division arrangements. You can view the polling district maps below. Please note polling district mapping data has been supplied by the local authorities and may contain boundary errors.

To view the existing division arrangements visit our consultation area.

You can also view the evidence we received from the council about their future council size here (PDF)

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under. 

Below are the submissions we received:

Local residents

Barge M (PDF)

Hayfield H (PDF)

Ingram V (PDF)

Laver R (PDF)

Smart B (PDF)

Wardle F (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Sandison (PDF)

District and Borough Councils

Stratford-on-Avon District Council (PDF)

Local Authority

Warwickshire County Council (PDF)

Political Groups

Kenilworth and Southham Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Rugby Conservative Association (PDF)

Rugby Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Warwick and Leamington Spa Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Warwickshire County Council Conservative Group (PDF)

Warwickshire Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

Coleshill Town Council (PDF)

Kenilworth Town Council (PDF)

King's Newnham Parish Council (PDF)

Leek Wooton and Guy's Cliffe Parish Council (PDF)

Monks Kirby Parish Council (PDF)

Old Milverton and Blackdown Parish Council (PDF)

Polesworth Parish Council (PDF)

Royal Leamington Spa Town Council (PDF)

Shilton and Barnacle Parish Council (PDF)

Whitnash Town Council (PDF)

MP

Mr Jones MP (PDF)

Local Organisations

Whitnash Residents Association (PDF)

Whitnash Womens Institute (PDF)

The Boundary Committee for England (BCFE) began reviewing the electoral arrangements for Warwickshire County Council on 6 August 2002

The Order implementing The Electoral Commission's decision on the final recommendations of this review has been made and can be viewed on Her Majesty's Stationery Office's website.The Order refers to a map comprising Sheet 1, Sheet 2 and Sheet 3. The Implementation Team section of the Electoral Commission website explains how the Commission's decisions on The Boundary Committee for England's final recommendations are made into Orders.

Final recommendations, published on 27 April 2004.

Large map 1, illustrates in outline form the proposed warding arrangements for Warwickshire County.

large map 2, illustrates the proposed Bedworth West division in Nuneaton & Bedworth borough.

large map 3, illustrates the proposed University parish ward of Stoneleigh parish in Warwick district.

Draft recommendations, published on 27 August 2003

Large map 1, large map 2, large map 3, illustrate the existing and proposed warding arrangements for Warwickshire County Council.

A structural review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE), and was started on 13 December 1993.

Final report (PDF) published on 15 December 1994

Draft report (PDF) published in July 1994