LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Warwick

image map Final recommendations

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Warwick District Council between February 2012 - January 2014. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Warwick District councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The Warwick (Electoral Changes) Order 2014, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Warwick, was made on 8 January 2014 and was published on 14 January 2014.

New ward arrangements for Warwick have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2015.

The order for Warwick can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2014/26/contents/made

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 4 November 2013 the Warwick (Electoral Changes) Order 2014 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England's review of electoral arrangements in Warwick and published on 25 March 2013.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Warwick in 2015.

The draft order can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2014/9780111105283/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

Final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Warwick

On 25 March 2013 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Warwick. These are available through the links below.

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note this map is very large and may take some time to download.

We have now completed our electoral review of Warwick District Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2015.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

Draft Recommendations

On 23 October 2012 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Warwick District Council. Between 23 October 2012 and 7 January 2013 we invited comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below.

Consultation closed on 7 January 2013.

Below are the submissions we received:

Local authority

Warwick District Council (PDF)

Warwickshire County Council (PDF)

Political groups and councillors

Warwick District Council Labour and Liberal Democrat groups (PDF)

Cllr Bromley (PDF)

Cllr Brooks, Cllr Sawdon and Phillips P (PDF)

Cllr Bullen (PDF)

Cllr Dhillon (PDF)

Cllr Higgins (PDF)

Cllr Illingworth (PDF)

Cllrs Heath, Kirton and Falp (PDF)

Cllr Shepherd (PDF)

Cllr Williams (PDF)

Parish and town councils

Parish Councillor Gabbitas (PDF)

Reverend Boyle - parish priest (PDF)

Bishops Tachbrook parish council (PDF)

Leamington Spa town council (PDF)

Old Milverton and Blacdown parish council (PDF)

Royal Leamington Spa town council (PDF)

Warwick town council (PDF)

Whitnash town council (PDF)

Local organisations

Bishops Tachbrook Primary School (PDF)

Friends of Acre Close (PDF)

Heathcote Park Residents Association (PDF)

The Lawns (PDF)

Whitnash Charitable Trust (PDF)

Whitnash Residents Association (PDF)

Whitnash Short Mat Bowls Club (PDF)

Whitnash Sports and Social Club (PDF) - this submission includes a petition with 118 signatories.

Whitnash WI (PDF)

Local residents

Submissions from local residents are contained in seven PDF documents. At the front of each document there is a list of names with internal links to the relevant submissions.

A - B (PDF)

C - E (PDF)

F - K (PDF)

L - N (PDF)

O - R (PDF)

S - T (PDF)

V - W (PDF)

Draft recommendations documents:

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

You may find the electoral figures for Warwick District Council (XLS)  and a map of the existing wards (PDF) useful.

Please note: these maps are very large and may take some time to download.

On 15 February the Commission launched a period of information gathering with Warwick District Council. From 15 February 2012 to 29 June 2012 we invited Warwick District Council and members of the council to provide information to develop a new pattern of ward arrangements for Warwick.

Consultation closed on 29 June 2012.

We recieved a submission from Warwick District Council (PDF) along with electoral figures (XLS) and a map of proposed ward boundary changes (PDF)

Preliminary council size consultation

The Commission has started an electoral review of Warwick. As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Warwick District Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Warwick District Council). We received a single submission on council size.

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE).

Final report (PDF), published in November 1999

Draft report, (PDF) published in May 1999.