Draft and final recommendation reports for Stratford-on-Avon, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Stratford-on-Avon

image map

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Stratford-on-Avon between February 2013 - November 2015. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Stratford-on-Avon councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The Stratford-on-Avon (Electoral Changes) Order 2014, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Stratford-on-Avon, was made on 5 November 2014 and was published 19 November 2014). New ward arrangements for Stratford-on-Avon have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections 2015.

The order for Stratford-on-Avon can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2014/3057/pdfs/uksi_20143057_en.pdf

 

 

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 25 March 2014 the Stratford-on-Avon (Electoral Changes) Order 2014 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Stratford-on-Avon and published on 16 July 2014.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Stratford-on-Avon in 2015.

The draft order can be found below:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2014/9780111118160/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

•    Sheet 1 - Overview of the district (PDF)

On 25 March 2014 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Stratford-on-Avon District Council. The report is available in the link below.

Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for Stratford-  on-Avon District Council (PDF)

Summary of the report (PDF)

News release

Letter to the Chief Executive of Stratford-on-Avon District Council (PDF)

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. To interact with the final recommendations mapping please visit our consultation area.

We have now completed our electoral review of Stratford-on-Avon District Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2015.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

On 29 October 2013 we published our draft recommendations for the single member ward review (SMWR) of Stratford-on-Avon District Council. Between 29 October 2013 and 6 January 2014 we invited comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below.

The consultation closed on the 6 January 2014.

Below are the submissions which we received:

Councillors

Councillor Submissions (PDF)

Local Authority

Stratford-on-Avon District Council

Local Organisations

Wellesbourne Action Group (PDF)

Members of the Public

Submissions from members of the public (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

Parish and Town Council Submissions (PDF)

Mappleborough Green Parish Council (PDF)

Political groups

Kenilworth&Southam Conservatives (PDF)

Stratford-On-Avon Conservatives (PDF)

The draft recommendations can be found using the links below.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries searching by area or postcode.

An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

On 28 May 2013, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Stratford-on-Avon District Council. Between 28 May 2013 and 5 August 2013, we are inviting comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

Consultation closed on 5 August 2013

For more information read our news release and the Letter to the Chief Executive of Stratford-on-Avon Council (PDF)

Below are the submissions we received:

Councillors

Cllr J Ellard (PDF)

Local Authority

Stratford-on-Avon District Council (PDF)

Parish & Town Councils

Bidfordon Avon & Salford Priors Parish Council (PDF)

Coughton Parish Council (PDF)

Harbury Parish Council (PDF)

Moreton Morrell, Newbold Pacey & Ashborne Parish Councils (PDF)

Shipston Parish Council (PDF)

Southam Parish Council (PDF)

Stratford-upon-Avon Town Council (PDF)

Welford on Avon Parish Council (PDF)

Residents

J Horner (PDF)

D Smith (PDF)

Political Groups

Stratford-on-Avon Labour Party (PDF)

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

Click on link to view the electoral figures (xls) for Stratford-on-Avon

On 26 February 2013 we started an electoral review of Stratford-on-Avon District Council. From 26 February 2013 to 8 April 2013 we invited proposals on the number of councillors who should represent Stratford-on-Avon in the future.

Consultation closed on 8 April 2013.

Political groups & councillors

The Green Party (PDF)

Cllr Keeley (PDF)

Parish and town councils

Parish Councillor Gerrard (PDF)

Coughton parish council (PDF)

Kinwarton parish council (PDF)

Wawen parish council (PDF) 

Whitchurch parish meeting (PDF)

Local organisations

Tamworth in Arden residents association (PDF)

Local residents

Cadogon P (PDF)

Haggerty P (PDF)

Hasson D (PDF)

Hayfield H (PDF)

Omalley R (PDF)

Shilvock T (PDF)

Spence T (PDF)

Sturgess N (PDF)

Tilley S (PDF) 

The first stage of an electoral review is to determine the number of councillors who should represent the local authority in the future. We call this stage "council size". The Commission considered views put to it by the political groups and local councillors and asked residents whether they thought the district should be represented by 36 councillors.

A letter sent to the Chief Executive of Stratford-on-Avon (PDF) and our public news release provide more details on this consultation and the review in general.

We will be considering the number, names and boundaries of wards during two further periods of public consultation later in 2013.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Stratford-on-Avon District Council on the most appropriate council size. We received a single submission, this is available below.

Our document, Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance (PDF), contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE).

Final report (PDF), published in November 1999

Draft report (PDF), published in May 1999.