LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Rugby electoral review

Recommendations become law

The Rugby (Electoral Changes) Order 2012, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Rugby, was made on 3 January 2012. New ward arrangements for Rugby have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections on 3 May 2012.

The order for Rugby can be viewed through the following link:

www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2012/3/pdfs/uksi_20120003_en.pdf

 

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 2 November 2011 the Rugby (Electoral Changes) Order 2012 was laid in draft in Parliament.

To view the draft order for Rugby click here (PDF)

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England's review of electoral arrangements in Rugby and published on 27 September 2011.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Rugby in 2012.

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

Final recommendations on future electoral arrangements in Rugby

On 27 September 2011 we published the final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Rugby. These are available through the links below:

You can see the maps of the proposed recommended boundaries below:

Please note: some of these maps may be very large and may take some time to download

We have now completed our electoral review of Rugby Borough Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by Parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations - will be laid in Parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2012.

Opinion Survey 

We would like to invite you to participate in our online opinion survey. This survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the survey. Click here to go to the opinion survey. 

Stage Three

Draft recommendations

On 29 March 2011 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Rugby Borough Council. Between 29 March and 20 June we invited comments on the ward boundaries in the authority.

Consultation closed on 20 June 2011.

Below are the representations we received: 

Councillors, MPs and Political Groups

Cllr Gillas (PDF) 

Cllr Lewis (PDF) 

Cllr Poole (PDF)

Cllr Stokes (PDF)

Rugby Green Party (PDF)

Rugby Labour Party (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

Churchover Parish Council (PDF)

Combe Fields Parish Council (PDF) 

Monks Kirby Parish Council (PDF)

Wolston Parish Council (PDF)

Local Residents

I Aitchison (PDF)

G Allen (PDF)

Anonymous (PDF)

C Bemrose (PDF)

R Buswell (PDF)

C & P Gilbert (PDF) 

D Hodkinson (PDF)

Mrs Kerr (PDF)

S Powers (PDF)

M Sparks (PDF)

N Stanley (PDF)

D Williams (PDF)

Our draft recommendations can be found using the links below.

Maps of the area recommendations:

Please note: some of these maps are very large and may take some time to download.

Stage One

On 28 September 2010, we started the second period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Rugby Borough Council. Between 28 September and 20 December, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

Read our news release

Letter to the Deputy Chief Executive of Rugby Borough Council (PDF)

You may find the maps of the parishes (PDF), the wards (PDF) and the unparished areas (PDF) in Rugby useful. Here are the electorate figures (XLS) for Rugby 

Consultation closed on 20 December 2010.  

Below are the submissions we received:

Local authority

Rugby Borough Council (PDF)

Additional information from Rugby Borough Council (PDF) 

Councillors, MP and Political Groups

Cllr Bragg (PDF)

Cllr Spiers (PDF)

Cllr Watson (PDF)

MP Mark Pawsey (PDF) 

Liberal Democrat Group on Rugby Borough Council (PDF)

Parish and town councils

Church Lawford Parish Council (PDF)

Monks Kirkby Parish Council (PDF) 

Ryton on Dunsmore Parish Council (PDF)

Local residents

S Birkett (PDF)

T Gillias (PDF) 

Preliminary council size consultation

On 20 July 2010 we started the electoral review for Rugby Borough Council. During the six week preliminary stage of the review, we invited proposals for the council size of the council.

We are only considering comments on council size at this time, and we will consider detailed electoral arrangements for Rugby during two further periods of consultation later in 2010.

Below are the submissions we received: 

Local authority

Rugby Borough Council (PDF)

Parish councils

Churchover Parish Council (PDF)

Wolvey Parish Council (PDF)

Local residents 

B Dent (PDF)

S Morson (PDF)

L Porter (PDF)

D Williams (PDF)

We produced two different documents to support people where there is an electoral review being conducted in their area: