Draft and final recommendation reports for Stoke-on-Trent, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Stoke-on-Trent

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Stoke-on Trent between August 2009 - February 2011. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Stoke-on-Trent councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The Stoke-on- Trent (Electoral Changes) Order 2011, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Stoke-on-Trent , was made on 28 January 2011 and was published on 2 February 2011. New ward arrangements for Stoke-on-Trent have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections on 5 May 2011.

The order for Stoke-on-Trent can be viewed through the following link:

www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2011/167/contents/made

 


 

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 29 November 2010 the Stoke-on-Trent (Electoral Changes) Order 2011 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Stoke-on-Trent and published on 26 October 2010. 

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Stoke-on-Trent in 2011.

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets: 


On 26 October 2010 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Stoke-on-Trent. These are available through the links below.

You can see the maps of the proposed recommended boundaries below:

Please note: some of these maps may be very large and may take some time to download.

We have now completed our electoral review of Stoke City Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by Parliament. A draft Order – the legal document which brings into force our recommendations – will be laid in Parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2011.

On 26 March 2010 we published our draft recommendations for electoral arrangements for Stoke-on-Trent City Council. These can be found using the links below.

Maps of the area recommendations:

Please note: some of these maps may be very large and may take some time to download.

Due to its large size we have provided a resized version of Map 1 (Map 1 resized - overview of the city (PDF)). Please note that the quality of this image will also be reduced.  

From 12 May 2010 to 21 May 2010 we visited Stoke and conducted a number of consultation activities around the city. 

Consultation closed on 11 June 2010.

Below are the submissions we received:  

Stoke-on-Trent City Council (PDF)

MPs and political groups

We received 11 submissions from MPs, councillors and political groups in Stoke-on-Trent. All the submissions are contained in one PDF document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with internal links to the relevant submissions.  

MPs, councillors and political groups (PDF)

Local organisations

We recieved 21 submissions from local organisations in Stoke-on-Trent. All the submissions are contained in one PDF document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with internal links to the relevant submissions. 

Local Organisations (PDF)

Residents

We recieved 126 submissions from local residents. All the submissions are contained in four PDF documents. At the front of each document there is a list of names with internal links to the relevant submissions. 

Local Residents A - C (PDF)

Local Residents D - I (PDF)

Local Residents J - O (PDF)

Local Residents P - Z (PDF)

Submissions with multiple petitions

Mr J Smith

Mr Smith’s submission included approximately 64 signatures from individuals who supported a change to our proposed Tunstall ward.

Councillor Gratton

Councillor Gratton’s submission included a petition organised by Greenfields Residents Association and had been signed by approximately 140 individuals.

Councillor Conteh

In addition to the Councillor Conteh’ submission in the link, he also included approximately 160 proforma letters in favour of the ward name change he proposes.

Basford & Cliffe Vale Residents Association
Basford & Cliffe Vale Residents Association submitted approximately 160 profoma letters in favour of the ward name change they propose. An example of the proforma letter is included with the submission. 
On 20 October 2009, we began our consultation on ward boundaries in Stoke-on-Trent. In the previous stage, we consulted on the number of councillors Stoke should have and decided it should have 45 councillors. The below links contain more information.

Press release
Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Stoke-on-Trent City Council (PDF)

You may find the electorate figures for Stoke-on-Trent (PDF) and a map of ward boundaries (PDF) useful.

Stoke-on-Trent City Council has also provided us with the following polling district mapping data: a map of polling districts with background mapping data (PDF); a map of polling districts with labels (PDF).

Consultation closed on 11 January 2010.

Below are the submissions we received:

Stoke-on-Trent City Council (PDF)

MPs and political groups

We received 14 submissions from MPs, councillors, political parties and political groups in Stoke-on-Trent.  All the submissions are contained in one PDF document.  At the front of the document there is a list of names with internal links to the relevant submissions.

MPs, political parties and political groups in Stoke-on-Trent (PDF)

Local organisations

We received 22 submissions from Residents Associations, local organisations and other non-political groups and organisations.  All the submissions are contained in two PDF documents, arranged B-G and H-Z.  At the front of the document there is a list of names with internal links to the relevant submissions.

Local organisations B-G (PDF)
Local organisations H-Z (PDF)

Residents

We received 90 submissions from local residents.  All the submissions are contained in three PDF documents, arranged by surname: A-C, D-M and N-Z.  At the front of each document there is a list of names with internal links to the relevant submissions.

Local residents A-C (PDF)
Local residents D-M (PDF)
Local residents N-Z (PDF)

On 4 August 2009, we started the electoral review for Stoke-on-Trent. During the six week preliminary stage of the review, we invited proposals for the council size of the council.

We only considered comments on council size at this time, and we considered detailed electoral arrangements for Stoke-on-Trent during two further periods of consultation later in 2009.

Below are the submissions we received:

Political organisations, parties and MPs

City Independents Group (PDF)
City of Stoke-on-Trent Conservative Association (PDF)Democracy 4 Stoke (PDF)P Farrelly MP (PDF)
R Flello MP (PDF)

Other organisations

Potteries Community Federation (PDF)Staffordshire Fire and Rescue Service (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Sutton (PDF)
Cllr Mitchell (PDF)
Cllr Bloomer (PDF)Cllr Irving (PDF)

Members of the public

A Kaill (PDF)
H Cartlidge (PDF)
I Norris (PDF)J Tonge (PDF)M Roberts (PDF)P Reed (PDF)
S Bennett (PDF)
T Bloor (PDF)B Williams (PDF)
N Davis (PDF)

Letter sent to Chief Executive of the Council at the beginning of the review (PDF)

We produce electoral review guidance to support people where there is an electoral review being conducted in their area. This is available on the About electoral reviews page

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Stoke-on-Trent City Council on the most appropriate council size.

Below are the submissions we received:

Stoke-on-Trent City Council (PDF)

Stoke-on-Trent Transition Board (PDF)


This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE).

Final report (PDF), published on 10 October 2000

Map 1 Existing wards in Stoke-on-Trent; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's final recommendations for Stoke-on-Trent; (PDF)

Large map (17.2 Mb) illustrating the proposed ward boundaries for Stoke-on-Trent. This may take some time to download; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF), published on 9 May 2000

Map 1 Existing wards in Stoke-on-Trent; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's draft recommendations for Stoke-on-Trent; (PDF)

Map A1 (PDF)

Map A2 (PDF)