Draft and final recommendation reports for Staffordshire County Council, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Staffordshire County Council

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Staffordshire County Council between September 2010 - March 2012. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Staffordshire County councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The Staffordshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2012, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new division boundaries in Staffordshire, was made on 20 March 2012 and published on 23 March 2012.

New electoral division arrangements for Staffordshire have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the next scheduled county elections on 2 May 2013.

The order for Staffordshire can be viewed through the following link: http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2012/875/contents/made

 


Draft order laid in Parliament

On 30 January 2012 the Staffordshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2012 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England's review of electoral arrangements in Staffordshire and published 18 October 2011.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Staffordshire in 2013.

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

On 18 October 2011 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Staffordshire. These are available through the links below:

You can see the maps of the proposed recommended boundaries below:

Please note: some of these maps may be very large and may take some time to download.

We have now completed our electoral review of Staffordshire County Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by Parliament. A draft Order – the legal document which brings into force our recommendations – will be laid in Parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2013.

Opinion survey 

We would like to invite you to participate in our online opinion survey. This survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the survey. Click here to go to the opinion survey.

Draft Recommendations

On 24 May 2011 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Staffordshire County Council. Between 24 May and 1 August we invited comments on the division boundaries in the authority.

Consultation closed on 1 August 2011.

Below are the representations we received. 

Local Authorities

Staffordshire County Council (PDF)

South Staffordshire Council (PDF)

Stafford Borough Council (PDF) 

Staffordshire Moorlands District Council (PDF)

Councillors, MPs and Political Groups

Cllr Bayliss (PDF)

Cllr Brunt (PDF)

Cllr Corbett (PDF)

Cllr Hood (PDF)

Cllr Staples (PDF)

Cllr Tagg (PDF)

Cllr Trainor (PDF)

P Farrelly MP (PDF)

J Lefroy MP (PDF)

J Walley MP (PDF)

Newcastle Labour Group (PDF)

Staffordshire County Labour Party (PDF)

Stone Constituency Labour Party (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

Brerton and Ravenhill Parish Council (PDF)

Brindley Heath Parish Council (PDF)

Brown Edge Parish Council (PDF)

Great Wryley Parish Council (PDF)

Hints with Canwell Parish Council (PDF)

Leek Town Council (PDF) 

Lichfield City Council (PDF)

Lower Penn Parish Council (PDF)

Penkridge Parish Council (PDF)

Stone Town Council (PDF) 

Stretton Parish Council submission (PDF) and petition (PDF) 

Wombourne Parish Council (PDF)

Local Residents 

We received 45 submissions from local residents in Staffordshire and have grouped their submissions into the files below:

Local Residents A - H (PDF)

Local Residents K - Y (PDF) 

Our draft recommendations can be found using the links below.

Maps of the area recommendations:

Please note: some of these maps are very large and may take some time to download.

On 30 November 2010, we started the second period of consultation for a pattern of divisions for Staffordshire County Council. Between 30 November and 21 February, we are inviting comments on the division boundaries for the authority.

Read our news release

Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Staffordshire County Council (PDF)

Here are the electoral figures (XLS) for Staffordshire.  

Consultation closed on 21 February 2011.

Below are the submissions we received:

County Council 

Staffordshire County Council full submission (PDF), plus maps of: whole county area (PDF), Cannock Chase district (PDF), East Staffordshire district (PDF), Lichfield district (PDF) , Newcastle-under-Lyme district (PDF), South Staffordshire district (PDF), Stafford district (PDF), Staffordshire Moorlands district (PDF) and Tamworth district (PDF).

Local Authorities

Cannock Chase District Council (PDF), and attached tables (PDF)

Lichfield District Council (PDF)

Stafford Borough Council (PDF) 

Councillors, MPs and Political groups

Cllr Dundas (PDF)

Cllrs Bloomer, Jennings and Francis' submission (PDF), and attached map (PDF)

G Williamson MP (PDF)

J Walley MP (PDF) 

P Farrelly MP (PDF)

Burton Labour Party (PDF), and attached spreadsheet (PDF)

Stafford Constituency Labour Party (PDF)

Staffordshire County Labour Party (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

Brewood Parish Council (PDF)

Hednesford Town Council (PDF)

Kidsgrove Town Council (PDF)

Kings Bromley Parish Council (PDF)

Leek Town Council (PDF)

Lichfield City Council (PDF)

Lower Penn Parish Council (PDF)

Rolleston-on-Dove Parish Council (PDF)

Shenstone Parish Council (PDF)

Local Residents

Anonymous 1 (PDF)

Anonymous 2 (PDF) and map (PDF)

C Williams (PDF)

J Palfreyman (PDF)

N Thomas (PDF)

This consultation closed on 25 October 2010.


On 14 September 2010 we started an electoral review of Staffordshire County Council. From 14 September 2010 to 25 October 2010 we invited proposals on what the most appropriate council size should be for Staffordshire County council.

For more information read our news release and the Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Staffordshire County Council (PDF).

Below are the submissions we recieved:

Councillors, MPs and Political groups

Cllr Snell (PDF)

MP Farrelly (PDF)

Staffordshire County Labour Group (PDF)

Newcastle-under-Lyme Constituency Labour Party (PDF)

Staffordshire County Council Labour Group (PDF)

Parish councils

Brereton and Ravenhill Parish Council (PDF)

Local organisations 

Newcastle Congregational Church (PDF)

Parish of Winshill (PDF)

Stafford Historical & Civic Society (PDF)

Local residents

J Bates (PDF)

N Caine (PDF)

G Sutton (PDF)

N Thomas (PDF)

L Walford (PDF)

We produced two different documents to support people where there is an electoral review being conducted in their area:

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Staffordshire County Council on the most appropriate council size.

Below is the submission we received:

Staffordshire County Council (PDF)

The Boundary Committee for England started a review of electoral arrangements in Staffordshire County Council on 9 July 2002. 

The Order implementing The Electoral Commission's decision on the final recommendations of this review has been made and can be viewed on Her Majesty's Stationery Office's website. The Order refers to a map comprising Sheet 1, Sheet 2, Sheet 3 and Sheet 4 . The Implementation Team section of The Electoral Commission's website explains how The Boundary Committee for England's final recommendations are made into Orders.

 

Final recommendations, published on 27 April 2004

Outline map illustrates in outline form the proposed divisions for Staffordshire, including constituent district wards and parishes.

Map 1 illustrates the proposed electoral division boundaries in Tamworth district.

Map 2 illustrates the proposed electoral division boundaries in Stafford town.

Map 3 illustrates the proposed electoral division boundaries between Brereton & Ravenhill and Etching Hill & Heath divisions.

 

Draft recommendations, published on 28 May 2003

Map 1  showing recommendations for Staffordshire 

Map 2 showing recommendations for Staffordshire

Map 3 showing recommendations for Staffordshire

Map 4 showing recommendations for Staffordshire

 

A structural review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE), and was started on 13 December 1993

Final report (PDF) published on 15 December 1994

Draft report (PDF) published on 4 July 1994