Draft and final recommendation reports for Stafford, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Stafford

image map

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Stafford between October 2013 - January 2015. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Stafford councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

 

 

Recommendations become law

The Stafford (Electoral Changes) Order 2015, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Stafford, was made on 23 January 2015 and was published 30 January 2015. New ward arrangements for Stafford have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2015.

The order for Stafford can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2015/69/pdfs/uksi_20150069_en.pdf

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 5 November 2014 the Stafford (Electoral Changes) Order 2015 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Stafford and published on 23 September 2014.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Stafford in 2015.

The draft order can be viewed here:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2015/9780111122846/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

•    Sheet 1 - Overview of the borough (PDF)

On 23 September 2014 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Stafford Borough Council. The report is available in the link below.

•    Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for Stafford Borough Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release

•    Letter to the Chief Executive of Stafford Borough Council (PDF)

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of Stafford Borough Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2015.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

On 15 April 2014 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Stafford Borough Council. Between 15 April 2014 and 24 June 2014 we invited comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below.

•    Draft recommendations for Stafford Borough Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release on draft recommendations for Stafford Borough Council

•    Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Stafford Borough Council (PDF)

Consultation closed on 24 June 2014

Below are the submissions we have received:

Local authority

Stafford Borough Council (PDF)

Local organisations

Penkside Community Champions (PDF)

Local residents

Local residents combined (PDF)

Parish and Town councils

Parish and Town councils combined (PDF)

Political groups

Stafford and Stone Green Party (PDF)

Stafford Labour Group (PDF)

 

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

On 22 October 2013, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Stafford Borough Council. Between 22 October 2013 and 7 January 2014, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The consultation closed on the 7 January 2014

Below are the submissions we received:

Councillor

Borough Cllr Robert Stephens and Parish Cllr Neil Thomas (PDF)

Local Residents

Fordham I (PDF)

Murray M (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

Parish and Town Councils (PDF)

Marston Parish Council (PDF)

Political Groups

Political Groups Combined (PDF)

Independent Groups

The Independent Group on Stafford Borough Council (PDF)

Local Authority

Stafford Borough Council (PDF)

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Stafford Borough Council (PDF)

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode, and Have your say.

On 23 July 2013 we started an electoral review of Stafford Borough Council. From 23 July 2013 to 2 September 2013 we are inviting proposals for the number of councillors who should represent Stafford in the future.

Consultation closed on 3 September 2013

Below are the submissions we received:

Local residents

We received 19 submissions (PDF) from local residents

Parish Councils

Hixon Parish Council (PDF)

Stone Rural Parish Council (PDF)

Brocton Parish Council (PDF)

Community groups

Action Parkside Residents Committee (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr R Draper (PDF)

Cllr J Pert (PDF)

Cllr R Stephens (PDF)

Political groups

Stafford Conservatives (PDF)

The first stage of an electoral review is to determine the number of councillors who should represent the local authority in the future. We call this stage ‘council size’. During the preliminary stage of the review, the Commission received proposals from Stafford Borough Council and the Stafford Labour Group. Their submissions are available below under preliminary council size. The Commission has considered this submission and is now seeking views on its proposal for a council size of 40 members for Stafford Borough Council.

A letter sent to the Chief Executive (PDF) and our public news release provide more details on this consultation and the review in general.

To have your say on council size visit our consultation area.

We will be considering the number, names and boundaries of wards during two further periods of public consultation later in 2013 and 2014.

To make a submission to the Stafford electoral review, you can visit our consultation area, send an e-mail to reviews@lgbce.org.uk, or write in to the following address:

The Review Officer (Stafford)

Local Government Boundary Commission for England

Layden House

76-86 Turnmill Street

London

EC1M 5LG

 

You may find a map of the polling districts (PDF) or the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about the number of councillors for the borough.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page.  You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under. The next consultation on ward boundaries will be in October. You can visit our consultation area to register for a consultation reminder.

Preliminary council size consultation

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Stafford Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on the Council). We received 2 submissions on council size

Stafford Borough Council (PDF)

Stafford Labour Group (PDF)

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE).

Final report (PDF), published on 10 October 2000

Map 1 Existing wards in Stafford; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's final recommendations for Stafford; (PDF)

Map A1 Final recommendations for Stafford: Key map; (PDF)

Map A2 Proposed warding of Stone Rural parish; (PDF)

Map A3 Proposed warding of Stone Rural parish; (PDF)

Large map (6.2 Mb) illustrating the proposed ward boundaries for the towns of Stafford and Stone. This may take some time to download; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF), published on 9 May 2000

Map 1 Existing wards in Stafford; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's draft recommendations for Stafford; (PDF)

Map A1 Draft recommendations for Stafford: Key map; (PDF)

Map A2 Proposed warding of Stone Rural parish; (PDF)

Map A3 Proposed warding of Stone Rural parish; (PDF)