" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Newcastle-under-Lyme

Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more
image map Have your say

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Newcastle-under-Lyme Borough Council.

 

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters.

 

We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw boundaries across Newcastle-under-Lyme.

On 7 February 2017 we published our draft recommendations for the electoral review of Newcastle-under-Lyme Borough Council. Between 7 February 2017 and 3 April 2017 we are inviting comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below. 

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode, and have your say.

You can also make a submission to the Newcastle-under-Lyme electoral review through our consultation area, by sending an e-mail to reviews@lgbce.org.uk, or writing in to the following address:

   The Review Officer (Newcastle-under-Lyme)

   Local Government Boundary Commission for England

   14th Floor Millbank Tower

   Millbank

   London

   SW1P 4QP

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about division arrangements.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

The consultation on warding arrangements closed on the 5 December 2016.

Below are all of the submissions we received.

Political Groups:

Newcatle-under-Lyme Conservatives

Newcatle-under-Lyme Borough Council Labour Group

Newcatle-under-Lyme Liberal Democrats

Councillors:

Cllr Kearon

Cllr Snell

Parish and Town Councils:

Kidsgrove Town Council

Loggerheads Parish Council

Audley Rural Parish Council

Silverdale Parish Council

Local Residents:

Mr Beardmore, D

Ms Caldwell, V

Ms Eagle, R

Mr Griffiths, P

 


On 27 September 2016, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Newcastle-under-Lyme Borough Council. Between 27 September and 5 December 2016, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission had also announced that it is minded to recommend that Newcastle-under-Lyme Borough Council should have 44 councillors in the future.

The Commission needed information from people and groups across Newcastle-under-Lyme to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 44 councillors.

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Newcastle-under-Lyme Borough Council (PDF)

 You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements

Polling district maps may also be useful when thinking about warding arrangements. You can view the polling district maps below. Please note polling district mapping data has been supplied by Newcastle-under-Lyme Borough Council and may contain boundary errors.

Polling district map 1 (PDF)

Polling district map 2 (PDF)

Polling district map 3 (PDF)

Polling district map 4 (PDF)

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or post code.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Newcastle-under-Lyme Borough Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Newcastle-under-Lyme Borough Council).

We received two submissions on council size:

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE).

Final report (PDF), published on 10 October 2000

Map 1 Existing wards in Newcastle-under-Lyme; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's final recommendations for Newcastle-under-Lyme; (PDF)

Map A1 Final recommendations for Newcastle-under-Lyme: Key map; (PDF)

Map A2 Proposed warding of Kidsgrove (eastern part); (PDF)

Map A3 Proposed boundary between Audley and Bignall End and Halmerend wards (western part); (PDF)

Map A4 Proposed boundary between Audley and Bignall End and Halmerend wards (eastern part); (PDF)

Map A5 Proposed warding of Kidsgrove (western part); (PDF)

Large map (7.0 Mb) illustrating the proposed ward boundaries for Newcastle-under-Lyme. This may take some time to download; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF), published on 9 May 2000

Map 1 Existing wards in Newcastle-under-Lyme; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's draft recommendations for Newcastle-under-Lyme; (PDF)

Map A1 Draft recommendations for Newcastle-under-Lyme: Key map; (PDF)

Map A2 Proposed warding of Kidsgrove; (PDF)

Map A3 Proposed boundary between Audley and Bignall End and Halmerend Wards (Western Part); (PDF)

Map A4 Proposed boundary between Audley and Bignall End and Halmerend Wards (Eastern Part); (PDF)

Review Dates


Date from Date to
Consultation on warding arrangements 27th September 2016 5th December 2016
Consultation on draft recommendations 7th February 2017 3th April 2017
Final recommendations 6th June 2017

Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more