Draft and final recommendation reports for Lichfield, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Lichfield

image map

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Lichfield between September 2013 - February 2015. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Lichfield councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The Lichfield (Electoral Changes) Order 2015, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Lichfield, was made on 2 February 2015 and was published 5 February 2015. New ward arrangements for Lichfield have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2015.

The order for Lichfield can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2015/111/contents/made

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 2 December 2014 the Lichfield (Electoral Changes) Order 2015 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Lichfield and published on 18 November 2014.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Lichfield in 2015.

The draft order can be viewed here:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2015/9780111124093/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

•    Sheet 1 - Overview of the district (PDF)

On 18 November 2014 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Lichfield Council. The report is available in the link below.

•    Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for Lichfield Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release

•    Letter to the Chief Executive of Lichfield Council (PDF)

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image below to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of Lichfield Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2015.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

On 13 May 2014 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Lichfield District Council. Between 13 May 2014 and 28 July 2014 we are inviting comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below.

•    Draft recommendations for Lichfield  Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release on draft recommendations for Lichfield

•    Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Lichfield District Council (PDF)


An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available.

Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

The consultation is now closed.

Below are the submissions we have received:

Councillors

Councillors (PDF)

Local authority

Lichfield District Council (PDF)

Local residents

Local residents (PDF)

The below submission contains a petition with 28 signatures. These signatures have been redacted from the document in compliance with data protection.

NealeV (PDF)

Local organisations

Beacon Street Area Residents' Association (PDF)

MPs

MPs (PDF)

Parish and Town councils

Parish and Town councils (PDF) 

Political associations

Political associations (PDF)

 


On 26 November 2013, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Lichfield District Council. Between 26 November 2013 and 3 March 2014, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The consultation is now closed

Below are the submissions which we have received:

Councillors

Hogan P (PDF)

Norman S (PDF)

Local Groups

Beacon Street Area Resident's Association (PDF)

Members of the public

Members of the public (PDF)

Councils

Parish councils (PDF)

Lichfield City Council (PDF)

Lichfield District Council (PDF)

Political Groups

Political Groups

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Lichfield Council (PDF)

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

Electorate figures

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about the future electoral arrangements for Lichfield.

On 3 September 2013 we started an electoral review of Lichfield District Council. From 3 September 2013 to 14 October 2013 we are inviting proposals for the number of councillors who should represent Lichfield in the future.

Consultation closed on 14 October 2013.

Below are the submissions we received:

Local residents

We received 35 submissions from local residents. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the submissions is a list of names with links to relevant submissions.

Local residents (PDF)

We also received submissions from

D Sampson (PDF)

R French (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

Wall Parish Council (PDF)

Local Organisations

Beacon Street Residents Area Assoication (PDF)

Political Groups

Lichfield Labour Party (PDF)

Lichfield and Tamworth Liberal Democrats (PDF)

The first stage of an electoral review is to determine the number of councillors who should represent the local authority in the future. We call this stage 'council size'. During the preliminary stage of the review, the Commission received a proposal from Lichfield District Council. Their submission are available below under preliminary council size. The Commission has considered this submission and is now seeking views on its proposal for a council size of 56 members for Lichfield Council.

A letter sent to the Chief Executive (PDF) and our public news release provide more details on this consultation and the review in general.

We will be considering the number, names and boundaries of wards during two further periods of public consultation later in 2013.

You may find a polling district map (PDF) useful when thinking about the future electoral arrangements of Lichfield.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under. The next consultation on ward boundaries will be in Lichfield. You can visit our consultation area to register for a consultation reminder.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Lichfield District Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Lichfield District Council). We received 1 submission on council size.

Lichfield District Council (PDF)

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE).

Final report (PDF), published on 10 October 2000

Map 1 Existing wards in Lichfield; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's final recommendations for Lichfield; (PDF)

Map A1 Final recommendations for Lichfield: Key map; (PDF)

Map A2 Proposed warding of Drayton Bassett Parish; (PDF)

Large map (5.0 Mb) illustrating the proposed ward boundaries for Burntwood and Lichfield. This may take some time to download; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF), published on 9 May 2000

Map 1 Existing wards in Lichfield; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's Draft Recommendations for Lichfield; (PDF)

Map A1 Draft recommendations for Lichfield: Key map; (PDF)

Map A2 Proposed warding of Drayton Bassett Parish; (PDF)

Useful Documents