Draft and final recommendation reports for Telford and Wrekin, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Telford and Wrekin

image map Final recommendations

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Telford and Wrekin Council between October 2012 - July 2014. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Telford and Wrekin councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

 

 


Recommendations become law

The Telford and Wrekin (Electoral Changes) Order 2014, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Telford and Wrekin, was made on 14 July 2014 and was published 22 July 2014. New ward arrangements for Telford and Wrekin have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2015.

The order for Telford and Wrekin can be viewed through the following link:

 http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2014/1910/contents/made

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 14 May 2014 the Telford and Wrekin (Electoral Changes) Order 2014 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Telford and Wrekin and published on 14 January 2014.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Telford and Wrekin in 2015.

The order is accessible by using the following link:

 http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2014/9780111114759/contents


The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

•    Sheet 1 - Overview of the district (PDF)

On 14 January 2014 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Telford and Wrekin Council. The report is available in the link below.

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note this map is very large and may take some time to download.

We have now completed our electoral review of Telford and Wrekin Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2015.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

On 18 June 2013 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of the Telford & Wrekin Council. Between 18 June 2013 and 9 September 2013 we are inviting comments on our draft recommendations.

Consultation closed on 9 September 2013

Below you can see the submissions we received:

Local residents

We received 8 submissions from local residents. All submisssions are contained in one document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Local residents (PDF)

Councillors

We received 11 submissions from Councillors. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Councillors (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

We received 9 submissions from Parish and Town Councils. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Parish and Town Councils (PDF)

MP and Political Groups

M Pritchard MP (PDF)

Telford and Wrekin Conservative Councillors Group (PDF)

Local Authority

Telford and Wrekin Council (PDF)

Petition

We received 100 signatures from Preston-upon-the-Weald Parish. An example of the petition can be seen in the link below.

Preston-upon-the-Weald Parish - petition (PDF)

Our draft recommendations can be found using the links below.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available. To interact with our draft recommendations click on the map below. You may find our electoral data (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements. 


On 29 January 2013, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Telford & Wrekin Council. Between 29 January and 8 April 2013, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

Consultation closed on 8 April 2013

Below are the submissions we received:

Parish councils

Gorge parish council (PDF)

Hadley & Leegomery parish council (PDF)

Local residents

Tillotson B (PDF)

Williams A (PDF)

Local Authority

Telford and Wrekin Borough Council (PDF)

Members of Parliament

David Wright MP

For more information read our News release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Telford & Wrekin Council (PDF)

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation portal. You can search by area or postcode.

A PDF map of the electoral variances is also available (PDF)

On 23 October 2012 we started an electoral review of Telford & Wrekin Council. From 23 October to 3 December 2012 we invited proposals for the number of councillors who should represent Telford & Wrekin in the future.

Consultation closed on 3 December 2012.

Below are the submissions we received:

Local authority

Telford & Wrekin Borough Council (PDF) 

Mayor of Telford & Wrekin (PDF)

Leader of Telford and Wrekin (PDF)

Political groups and councillors

Conservative Group (PDF)

Councillors (PDF) - 30 submissions were received from councillors on Telford & Wrekin Council. At the front of the document there is a list of names with internal links to the relevant submissions.

We also received a submission from councillor Shaun Davies (PDF)

Parish and town councils

Edgmond parish council (PDF)

Hadley and Leegomery parish council (PDF)

Great Dawley parish council (PDF)

Oakengake parish council (PDF)

Stirchley and Bookside parish council (PDF)

The Gorge parish council (PDF)

Tiberton & Cherrington parish council (PDF)

Wellington town council (PDF)

Wrockwardine Wood and Trench parish council (PDF)

R Perkins - Town councillor for Arleston ward (PDF)

Great Dawley parish council (PDF)

Local residents

64 submissions were received from local residents. The submissions are contained in the PDF documents below. At the front of each document there is a list of names with internal links to the relevant submissions.

Local residents A - G (PDF)

Local residents H - P (PDF)

Local residents R - W (PDF)

We also received the following submissions from local residents:

Forster A (PDF)

Cook G (PDF)

Bould G (PDF)

Howard D (PDF)

Malcolm M (PDF)

Gilman K (PDF)

The next consultation on ward boundaries will be in January. You can visit our consultation portal to register for a consultation reminder.

The first stage of an electoral review is to determine the number of councillors who should represent the local authority in the future. We call this stage 'council size' . During the preliminary stage of the review, the Commission received proposals from the District Council and Conservative Group. Their submissions are available below; under preliminary council size. The Commission considered these submissions and sought views on whether Telford & Wrekin should have a a council size of 54 or 44 borough councillors.

A letter sent to the Managing Director of Telford & Wrekin (PDF) and our public news release provide more details on this consultation and the review in general.

The Commission has also written to the Leader of the Council (PDF) and the Leader of the Conservative Group (PDF) to request further information on the two proposals.

We will be considering the number, names and boundaries of wards during two further periods of public consultation later in 2013.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

Preliminary council size

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Telford & Wrekin Council on the most appropriate council size. We received two submissions: 

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE), and began on 27 March 2001.

The Order implementing The Electoral Commission's decision on the final recommendations of this review has been made and can be viewed on Her Majesty's Stationery Office's website. The Implementation Team section of the Commission's website explains how the Commission's decisions on The Boundary Committee for England's final recommendations are made into Orders. The current boundaries of the electoral wards and divisions can be viewed on Ordnance Survey's election maps website. Parish warding is not shown on the election maps website. It can be seen on the mapping from the Committee's final recommendations below; any modifications are listed in the Explanatory Note at the back of the Order.

Final report (PDF), published on 3 April 2002

Map 1 Existing wards in Telford and Wrekin; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's final recommendations for Telford and Wrekin; (PDF)

Map A1 The proposed ward boundaries within the district and indicates the areas which are shown in more detail in Map A2 and the large map; (PDF)

Map A2 The proposed warding of Newport Town; (PDF)

Large map (10.02 Mb) illustrates the proposed warding arrangements for the urban area of Telford and Wrekin; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF), published on 9 October 2001

Map 1 Existing wards in Telford and Wrekin; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's draft recommendations for Telford and Wrekin; (PDF)

Map A1 The proposed ward boundaries within the district and indicates the areas which are shown in more detail in Map A2 and the large map; (PDF)

Map A2 The proposed warding of Newport Town; (PDF)

Large map (10.02 Mb) illustrates the existing and proposed warding arrangements for the urban area of Telford and Wrekin; (PDF)