Draft and final recommendation reports for Herefordshire, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Herefordshire

image map Final recommendations

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Herefordshire between March 2012 - January 2014. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Herefordshire councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The Herefordshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2014, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Herefordshire, was made on 8 January 2014 and was published 14 January 2014.

New ward arrangements for Herefordshire have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2015.

The order for Herefordshire can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2014/20/contents/made

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 4 November 2013 the Herefordshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2014 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England's review of electoral arrangements in Herefordshire and published on 25 March 2013.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Herefordshire in 2015.

To view the draft order please visit:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2014/9780111104958/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

On 25 March 2013 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Herefordshire Council. The report is available in the link below.

An overview map of final recommendations (PDF) is available.

We have now completed our electoral review of Herefordshire Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2015.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

On 13 November 2012 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Herefordshire Council. Between 13 November 2012 and 7 January 2013, we invited comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below. 

Consultation closed on 7 January 2013

Below are the submissions we received:

Local Authority

Herefordshire Council (PDF)

Political Groups

Herefordshire Conservatives (PDF)

Herefordshire Independents Group and Groups response (PDF)

Councillors

We received 14 submissions from local councillors. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Local Councillors (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

We received 25 submissions from Parish and Town Councils. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Parish and Town Councils (PDF)

We also received 2 additional submissions after the consultation date.

Leominster Town Council (PDF)

Ross Rural Parish Council (PDF)

We also received the following submission which was uploaded late due to a technical error.

Yarpole Parish Council (PDF)

Local Organisations

St Nicholas Community Association (PDF)

Local Residents

We received 75 submissions from local residents. All submissions are contained in two documents. At the front of each document there is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Local Residents - Surnames A - K (PDF)

Local Residents - Surnames L - Y (PDF)

Clark D (PDF) with attachment (XLS)

We also received 2 submissions after the consultation date.

Aston L (PDF)

Bruce J (PDF)

Click below to view the report, summary, news release and letter to the Chief Executive.

You may find the electoral figures for Herefordshire Council (XLS), a map of the existing wards (PDF) and a map of the polling districts (PDF) useful. 

Following preliminary discussions with Herefordshire Council, on 19 June 2012 we started a period of information gathering for new ward arrangements. Between 19 June and 28 August, we invited local people and other interested parties to provide information on new warding arrangements for the authority. We were especially looking for information on communities within Herefordshire, how people relate to and interact with them and how this may relate to any new ward boundaries.

During the preliminary consultation the Commission received submissions from Herefordshire Council, political groups and local residents. These submissions are available below; under council size The Commission has considered these proposals and is minded to recommend a council size of 54 for Herefordshire. Proposals for warding arrangements should therefore be based on this council size.

A letter sent to the Chief Executive of Herefordshire Council (PDF) and our public news release provide details on the consultation and the review in general.

When considering the warding arrangements for Herefordshire you may find the electoral figures (XLS), a map of the existing wards (PDF) and a map of the polling districts (PDF) useful.

Consultation closed 28 August 2012

You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance (PDF), which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

Below are the submissions we received:

MPs, Political Groups

Herefordshire Conservatives submission (PDF)

Herefordshire Independents Group submission (PDF)

Councillors

We received 12 submissions from local councillors. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Councillors (PDF)

Parish, Town Councils

We received 29 submissions from Parish and Town Councils. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Parish, Town Councils (PDF)

Local Residents

We received 47 submissions from local residents. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Local residents (PDF)

On 27 March 2012 we started an electoral review of Herefordshire Council. From 27 March to 8 May we invited proposals for the number of councillors who should represent Herefordshire.

The first stage of an electoral review is to determine the number of councillors who should represent the local authority in the future. We call this stage 'council size'. During the preliminary stage of the review, the Commission received a proposal from Herefordshire Council. This submission is available below. The Commission has considered the submission and has sought views on its proposal for a council size of 54 members for Herefordshire Council.

Consultation closed on 8 May 2012

Below are the submissions we received.

MPs, Political Groups and Councillors

Hereford & South Herefordshire Labour (PDF)

Hereford & South Herefordshire Conservatives (PDF)

It's Our County (PDF)

Cllr Bowen (PDF)

Cllr Hamilton (PDF)

The Green Party (PDF)

Cllr Robertson (PDF)

Cllr Swinford (PDF)

Parish Cllr Eustace (PDF)

Parish Town Councils

Parish and Town Councils (PDF)

All the submissions are contained in one PDF document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with internal links to the relevant submissions.

Local Residents

Local Residents - A - H (PDF)

Local Residents - J - W (PDF)

At the front of each document there is a list of names with internal links to the relevant submissions.

A letter sent to the Chief Executive (PDF) and our public news release provide more details on this consultation and the review in general.

We will be considering the number, names and boundaries of wards during two further periods of public consultation later in 2012.

Preliminary council size consultation

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Herefordshire Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on the Council). We received one submissions on council size:

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE). An electoral review of Herefordshire started on 27 June 2000.

Final recommendations Published on 31 July 2001

Map 1 Existing wards in Herefordshire

Map 2 The Commission's final recommendations for Herefordshire

Map A1 The proposed ward boundaries within the district and indicates the areas which are shown in more detail on Maps A2 and A3 and the large map.

Map A2 The proposed warding of Ross-on-Wye and Ross Rural parishes.

Map A3 The proposed warding of Leominster parish.

Large map (3.75 Mb) The proposed ward boundaries for Hereford City. This may take some time to download.

Draft recommendations published on 9 January 2001.

Map 1 Existing wards in Herefordshire.

Map 2 The Commission's draft recommendations for Herefordshire

Map 3 Herefordshire Council's proposals for Herefordshire.

Map 4 Leominster Constituency Liberal Democrats' proposals for Herefordshire.

Map A1 Draft recommendations for Herefordshire : Key map.

Map A2 proposed warding of Ledbury parish.

Map A3 proposed warding of Ross-on-Wye and Ross Rural parishes.

Map A4 proposed warding of Leominster parish

Large map (3.5 Mb) illustrating the existing and proposed warding arrangements for Hereford City. This may take some time to download.