Draft and final recommendation reports for Swindon, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Swindon

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Swindon between July 2010 - January 2012. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Swindon councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The Swindon (Electoral Changes) Order 2012, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Swindon, was made on 3 January 2012. New ward arrangements for Swindon have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections on 3 May 2012.

The order for Swindon can be viewed through the following link:

www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2012/2/pdfs/uksi_20120002_en.pdf

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 2 November 2011 the Swindon (Electoral Changes) Order 2012 was laid in draft in Parliament.

To view the draft order for Swindon click here (PDF)

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England' s review of electoral arrangements in Swindon and published on 27 September 2011.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Swindon in 2012.

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

On 27 September 2011 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Swindon. These are available through the links below:

You can see the maps of the recommended boundaries below:

Please note: some of these maps may be very large and may take some time to download.

We have now completed our electoral review of Swindon Borough Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by Parliament. A draft Order – the legal document which brings into force our recommendations – will be laid in Parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2012.

Opinion survey 

We would like to invite you to participate in our online opinion survey. This survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the survey. Click here to go to the opinion survey.

On 29 March 2011 we published our draft recommendations for electoral arrangements for Swindon Borough Council. Between 29 March and 20 June, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

Consultation closed on 20 June 2011.

Below are the submissions we received:

Political groups

Swindon Labour Party (PDF) 

The Western Branch Labour Party resubmitted the Labour Party's stage one proposals (PDF) along with a response to the Draft recommendations (PDF) 

Swindon Liberal Democrats Group (PDF)

Councillors

Cllrs Barnett, Ellis and Renard (PDF) 

Cllr Bluh (PDF) 

Cllr Bennett (PDF) 

Cllr Dart (PDF) 

Cllr Dickinson (PDF) and an additional submission from Cllr Dickinson (PDF) 

Cllr Harrison (PDF)

Cllr Millin (PDF)

Cllr Moffatt (PDF) 

Cllr Parry (PDF)

Cllr Shaw (PDF) 

Cllr Small (PDF)  

Cllrs Wood and Wright (PDF) 

Parish and Town Councils

Blundson St Andrews Parish Council (PDF) and an additional submission from Blundson St Andrews Parish Council (PDF) 

Chiseldon Parish Council (PDF) 

Haydon Wick Parish Council (PDF) 

Liddington Parish Council (PDF) 

South Marston Parish Council (PDF)  

Stratton St Margaret Parish Council (PDF) 

Wanborough Parish Council (PDF) 

Wroughton Parish Council (PDF) 

Local groups

Haydon View Community Association (PDF)

Penhill and Pinehurst Forums (PDF) 

Rodbourne Cheney Resident's Association (PDF)

Swindon Civic Voice (PDF) 

Local residents

Local residents A - G (PDF)

Local residents H - M (PDF) 

Local residents P - W (PDF) 

Petition submitted by Cllr Small - signed by the residents of  Rodbourne/Even Swindon and Ferndale Cheney Manor (PDF)

The draft recommendations can be found using the links below:

Maps of the areas recommendations:  

Please note some of these maps are large and may take some time to download. 

On 28 September 2010, we started the second period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Swindon Borough Council. Between 28 September and 20 December, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

Read our news release

Letter to the Chief Executive of Swindon Borough Council (PDF)

Please note that following the resolution of a number of outstanding issues with the electorate forecasts, Swindon Borough Council submitted a final version of the electoral proforma (XLS) on 4 November 2010. The revised proforma supersedes the previous proforma.

Consultation closed on 20 December 2010.

Below are the submissions we received:

Councillors and political groups

Cllr Bennett (PDF

Cllr Dart (PDF)

Cllr Moffat (PDF)

Conservative Group on Swindon Borough Council (PDF)

Swindon Labour Party (PDF)

Western Branch Labour Party (PDF)

Parish and town councils

Bishopstone Parish Council (PDF) 

Haydon Wick Parish Council (PDF)

Liddington Parish Council (PDF)

South Marston Parish Council (PDF)

Blunsdon Parish Council (PDF)

Stratton St Margaret Parish Council (PDF)

Wanborough Parish Council (PDF)

Wroughton Parish Council (PDF) 

Local Organisations 

Ferndale Residents Association (PDF)

Rodbourne Cheney Residents Association (PDF)

Rodbourne Green Residents Association (PDF)

Local residents

A Eavis (PDF) R Kimber (PDF)
Mr and Mrs Middleton (PDF) B Owen (PDF)
F Owen (PDF) R Phoenix-Stone (PDF) 
P Strange (PDF)

L White (PDF) 

S Sawyer (PDF)  Mr Baldwin (PDF)
On 20 July 2010 we started the electoral review for Swindon Borough Council. During the six week preliminary stage of the review, we invited proposals for the council size of the council.

We are only considering comments on council size at this time, and we will consider detailed electoral arrangements for Swindon during two further periods of consultation later in 2010.

Below are the submissions we received:

Local authority

Swindon Borough Council (PDF)

Political groups

The Liberal Democrat Group (PDF)

The Swindon Labour Group (PDF)

Parish councils

Blunsdon Parish Council (PDF)

Castle Eaton Parish Council (PDF)

Haydon Wick Parish Council (PDF)

Wroughton Parish Council (PDF)

South Marston Parish Council (PDF)

Local residents

R Lewis (PDF)

E Maszeka (PDF)

Mr & Mrs Peters (PDF)

D Glaholm (PDF)

Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Swindon Borough Council (PDF) 

You may find the map of parished areas (PDF) and the map of the existing ward boundaries (PDF) useful. Here are the electorate figures (XLS) for Swindon (please also read the rationale (PDF) behind these figures).

We produced two different documents to support people where there is an electoral review being conducted in their area:

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE).

Final report (PDF), published on 2 March 1999.

Draft report, published in September 1998. There is no electronic version of this report. To view a copy, please contact the local council.