Draft and final recommendation reports for West Somerset, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

West Somerset

The Commission carried out an electoral review of West Somerset between October 2009 - February 2011. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each West Somerset councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The West Somerset (Electoral Changes) Order 2011, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in West Somerset, was made on 28 January 2011 and was published on 2 February 2011). New ward arrangements for West Somerset have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections on 5 May 2011.

The order for West Somerset can be viewed through the following link:

www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2011/168/contents/made

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 29 November 2010 the West Somerset (Electoral Changes) Order 2011 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in West Somerset and published on 12 October 2010. 

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for West Somerset in 2011.

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

Final recommendations

On 12 October 2010 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in West Somerset . These are available through the links below.

Maps of the area recommendations:

Please note: some of these maps may be very large and may take some time to download.

Draft recommendations

On 25 May 2010 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of West Somerset District Council. These can be found using the links below.

Maps of the area recommendations:

Please note: some of these maps may be very large and may take some time to download.

On 25 May 2010 we began a consultation on our draft recommendations in West Somerset. Between 25 May 2010 and 19 July 2010 we invited comments on the ward boundaries in the authority.

Consultation closed on 19 July 2010.

Below are the representations we received: 

Local authority 

West Somerset Council (PDF)

Councillors

Councillor Hercock (PDF)

Councillor Nicholson (PDF)

Councillor Ross (PDF)

Political groups

West Somerset Labour Party (PDF)

West Somerset Council Conservative Group (PDF)

Parish and town councils

Cutcombe Parish Council (PDF)

Dunster Parish Council (PDF)

Minehead Town Council (PDF)

Watchet Town Council (PDF)

Exton Parish Council (PDF)

On 27 October 2009, we started the further electoral review (FER) of West Somerset Council.  Between 27 October and 18 January, we invited comments on the appropriate council size (number of members elected to the district council) and ward boundaries for the authority.

Consultations closed on 18 January 2010

The representations we received are available to view below: 

Local authority

West Somerset Council (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Nicholls (PDF)

Cllr Nicholson (PDF)

Cllr Taylor (PDF)

Cllr Trollope-Bellew (PDF)

Cllr Turner (PDF)

Parish Councils

Carhampton Parish Council (PDF)

Dunster Parish Council (PDF)

Luccombe Parish Council (PDF)

Williton Parish Council (PDF)

The links below contain more information:

Press release
Letter sent to the Chief Executive of West Somerset Council (PDF)

You may find the electorate figures (XLS) (and their rationale (PDF)) provided by the council and a map of parished areas (PDF) useful.  Please also read our advice on how to propose a pattern of wards (PDF).

We produced two different documents to support people where there is an electoral review being conducted in their area: 

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE).

Final report, published on 4 November 1997.

Draft report, published in May 1997.