" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

South Somerset

image map View Existing Ward Boundaries

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of South Somerset District Council.

 

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. To achieve these aims, we need to re-draw ward boundaries across South Somerset.

The consultation on warding arrangements for South Somerset District Council has now closed.


On 22 August 2017, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for South Somerset District Council. Between 22 August 2017 and 30 October 2017, we invited comment on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission also announced that it was minded to recommend that South Somerset District Council should have 60 councillors in the future.

For more information, read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of South Somerset District Council.

You may have found the electoral figures useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

You can view the polling district map below. Please note, polling district mapping data has been supplied by South Somerset District Council and may contain boundary errors.

South Somerset polling district map

To view the existing warding arrangements, visit our consultation area. You can search by area and postcode. Alternatively, a non-interactive image of the current ward boundaries is also available.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with South Somerset District Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on South Somerset District Council). We received 1 submission on council size:

South Somerset District Council - Number of Councillors submission

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE).

Final report (PDF), published on 4 November 1997.

Draft report (PDF) published in June 1997.

Review Dates


Date from:
Date to:
Consultation on warding arrangements
22 August 2017
30 October 2017
Consultation on draft recommendations
9 January 2018
19 March 2018
Final recommendations published
8 May 2018