Draft and final recommendation reports for Somerset, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Somerset County Council

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Somerset between August 2011 - December 2012. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Somerset councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The Somerset (Electoral Changes) Order 2012, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Somerset, was made on 29 November 2012 and was published on 4 December 2012.

New ward arrangements for Somerset have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections on 2 May 2013.

The order for Somerset can be viewed through the following link: http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2012/2984/pdfs/uksi_20122984_en.pdf

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 15 October 2012 the Somerset (Electoral Changes) Order 2012 was laid in draft in Parliament. The draft order, if made, would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England's review of electoral arrangements in Somerset and published on 26 June 2012.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Somerset in 2013.

The draft order can viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2012/9780111529546/pdfs/ukdsi_9780111529546_en.pdf

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises of the following sheet: 

On 26 June 2012 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Somerset. These are available through the links below.

You can see the maps of the proposed recommended boundaries below:

On 21 February 2012 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Somerset County Council. Between 21 February 2012 and 9 April 2012 we invited local people and other interested parties to view and comment on our draft recommendations for Somerset.

Consultation closed on 9 April 2012.

Below are the submissions we received:

Local Authority

Somerset County Council submission (PDF) and corresponding maps (PDF)

South Somerset District Council (PDF)

Taunton Deane Borough Council (PDF)

West Somerset District Council (PDF)

MPs, Political Groups and Councillors

Somerset Liberal Democrat County Group (PDF)

Bridgwater Town Council Labour Group (PDF)

Yeovil South Branch Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Taunton Labour Party (PDF)

Taunton Deane Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Cllr A Paul (PDF)

Cllr D Fothergill (PDF)

Cllr R Henley (PDF)

Cllr N Mermagen (PDF)

Cllr J R Williams (PDF)

Cllr J Govier (PDF)

Cllr K Durdan (PDF)

Parish Cllr R Hancock (PDF)

Parish Cllr E Harper (PDF)

Parish Cllr E Harper supplementary submission (PDF)

Local organisations

Somerset PCT (PDF)

Chamber of Commerce (PDF)

Rockwell Green Primary School (PDF)

Taunton & Wellington Pensioners Forum (PDF)

We received a petition with 790 signatures from the Taunton & Wellington Pensioners Forum (PDF). This is an example page of the petition.

Wellington Chamber of Commerce (PDF)

Wellington Childrens Centre (PDF)

Wellington Medical Centre (PDF)

Wellington Young People's Centre (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils 

Parish and Town Councils (PDF)

All the submissions are contained in one PDF document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with internal links to the relevant submissions

Local residents

Local residents A - G (PDF)

Local residents H - W (PDF)

At the front of each document there is a list of names with internal links to the relevant submissions

The recommendations can be found using the links below.

Maps of the area recommendations:

Please note: some of these maps may be large and take some time to download.
Following preliminary discussions with Somerset County Council, on 23 August 2011 we started a period of information gathering for new division arrangements for the council. Between 23 August and 14 November, we invited local people and other interested parties to provide information on new division arrangements for the authority. We are especially looking for information on communities within Somerset, how people relate to and interact with them and how this may relate to any new division boundaries.

Consultation closed on 14 November 2011

Below are the submissions we received:

Local authority

Somerset County Council (PDF)

West Somerset District Council (PDF)

MPs, Political groups and Councillors

Liberal Democrat Group (PDF)

Taunton Deane Constituency Labour Party (PDF)

Cllr Wedderkopp (PDF)

Local organisations

North Taunton Partnership (PDF)

Victoria Park Action Group (PDF)

Local residents

P Goodenough (PDF)

R House (PDF)

M Whitmarsh (PDF)

Parish and town councils

Parish and town councils (PDF)

All the submissions are contained in one PDF document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with internal links to the relevant submissions

Read our news release

Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Somerset County Council (PDF)

The Commission is minded to recommend a council size of 55 for Somerset, following the receipt of evidence supporting this number from Somerset County Council. You can read submissions on council size from Somerset County Council (PDF), the Opposition group (PDF) on the council and two parish councils (PDF).

Here are the electoral figures (PDF) for Somerset. You may also find a map of the variances (PDF) in Somerset useful.

You may wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance (PDF), which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE).

Final report , published in November 1999.

Draft report , published in May 1999.

A structural review of Avon, Gloucestershire and Somerset was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE), and was started on 28 September 1992

Final report (PDF) published in December 1993

Draft report (PDF) published in June 1993