Draft and final recommendation reports for Sedgemoor, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Sedgemoor

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Sedgemoor between October 2009 - February 2011. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Sedgemoor councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The Sedgemoor (Electoral Changes) Order 2011, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Sedgemoor, was made on 28 January 2011 and was published on 2 February 2011). New ward arrangements for Sedgemoor have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections on 5 May 2011.

The order for Sedgemoor can be viewed through the following link:

www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2011/166/contents/made

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 29 November 2010 the Sedgemoor (Electoral Changes) Order 2011 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Sedgemoor and published on 12 October 2010. 

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Sedgemoor in 2011.

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:



On 26 October 2010 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Sedgemoor. These are available through the links below.

You can see the maps of the proposed recommended boundaries below:

Please note: some of these maps may be very large and may take some time to download.

We have now completed our electoral review of Sedgemoor District Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by Parliament. A draft Order – the legal document which brings into force our recommendations – will be laid in Parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2011.

Draft recommendations

On 25 May 2010 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Sedgemoor District Council. These can be found using the links below.

Maps of the area recommendations:

Please note: some of these maps may be very large and may take some time to download.

On 25 May 2010 we began a consultation on our draft recommendations in Sedgemoor. Between 25 May 2010 and 19 July 2010 we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority. 

Consultation closed on 19 July 2010.

Below are the submissions we recieved.

Local authority

Sedgemoor District Council (PDF)

Councillors, MP's and Political Groups

Cllr Ham (PDF)

Cllr Filmer (PDF)

Cllr Moreton (PDF)

Cllr Cooke (PDF)

MP Liddell-Grainger (PDF)

Conservative Group of Councillors (PDF)

Sedgemoor District Labour Group (PDF)

Bridgwater and West Somerset Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Parish & Town Councils

All the submissions are contained in one PDF document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with internal links to the relevant submissions.

Parish & town councils (PDF)

Local Residents

All the submissions are contained in one PDF document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with internal links to the relevant submissions.

Residents (PDF)

On 27 October 2009, we started the further electoral review (FER) of Sedgemoor District Council.  Between 27 October and 18 January, we invited comments on the appropriate council size (number of members elected to the district council) and ward boundaries for the authority. 

Consultation closed on 18 January 2010.

Below are the submissions we received:

Local authority

Sedgemoor District Council (PDF)

Parish & Town Councils

Ashcott Parish Council (PDF)

Axbridge Town Council (PDF)

Berrow Parish Council (PDF)

Bridgwater Parish Council (PDF)

Burham-on-Sea & Highbridge Town Council (PDF)

Nether Stowey Parish Council (PDF)

Shapwick Parish Council (PDF)

Stawell Parish Council (PDF)

Political groups and Councillors

Cllr Revans (PDF)

Sedgemoor Labour Group (PDF)

Residents

Sedgemoor Residents

The below links contain information about this review. 

Press release
Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Sedgemoor District Council (PDF)

You may find the map of parished areas (PDF) useful.  Here are the parish population figures (XLS) and electorate figures (XLS) for Sedgemoor (please also read the rationale (PDF) behind these figures).

Please read our advice on 'How to propose a pattern of wards' (PDF).

We produced two different documents to support people where there is an electoral review being conducted in their area: 

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE).

Final report (PDF), published in November 1997.

Draft report (PDF), published in June 1997. There is no electronic version of this report.