Draft and final recommendation reports for North Somerset, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

North Somerset

image map Final recommendations

The Commission carried out an electoral review of North Somerset between January 2013 - July 2014. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each North Somerset councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The North Somerset (Electoral Changes) Order 2014, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in North Somerset, was made on 2 December 2014 and was published 17 December 2014. New ward arrangements for North Somerset have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2015.

The order for North Somerset can be viewed through the following link:

 http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2014/3291/pdfs/uksi_20143291_en.pdf

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 21 October 2014  the North Somerset (Electoral Changes) Order 2014 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in North Somerset and published on 29 July 2014.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for north Somerset in 2015.

The draft order can be viewed here:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2014/9780111121771/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

•    Sheet 1 - Overview of the district (PDF)

On 29 July 2014 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in North Somerset Council. The report is available in the link below.

•    Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for North Somerset  Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release

•    Letter to the Chief Executive of North Somerset Council (PDF)

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of North Somerset District Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2015.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

The Commission begins further limited consultation in North Somerset. This period of further limited consultation commenced 12 February 2014, and closed on 7 April 2014. During this period the Commission welcomed comments on its further proposals for the following wards:

  • Churchill & Wrington ward
  • Gordano & Wraxall ward
  • Long Ashton ward
  • Pill & Easton-Gordano ward
  • Yatton ward

The commission only invites comments on these areas.

Consultation closed on 7 April 2014

A letter sent to the Chief Executive of North somerset Council (PDF) along with Map A and Map B and our public news release provides more information on the review.

Below are the submissions which we have received:

Due to the number of correspondence received, the submissions have been combined into single documents in an alphabetical order.

Local residents

A-D (1-20)

A-D (21-40)

A-D (41-60)

E-H (1-25)

E-H (26-43)

J-M (1-20)

J-M (21-44)

N-R (1-25)

N-R (26-47)

S-W (1-25)

S-W (26-49)

CheyneJ

Local authority

North Somerset District Council (PDF) 

Councillors

Councillors (1-12)

Local organisations

Local organisations (1-3)

Parish councils

Parish councils (1-23)

Political groups

North Somerset Conservative Association

On 10 September 2013 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of North Somerset District Council. Between 10 September 2013 and 18 November 2013 we invited comments on our draft recommendations.

These can be found using the links below.

Consultation closed on 18 November 2013.

Below are the submissions we received:

Local Residents

Local residents surnames A-C (PDF)

Local residents surnames D-J (PDF)

Local residents surnames K-P (PDF)

Local residents surnames R-W (PDF)

Petition from local residents (PDF)

Councillor Submissions

13 combined Councillor Submissions (PDF)

Cllr Moulin T (PDF)

Parish and Town Council

Parish and Town Councils (PDF)

Local Organisations

Local Organisations (PDF)

YCCART Group Submission (PDF)

Political Groups

Political Groups (PDF)

Local Authority

North Somerset District Council (PDF)


On 26 March 2013, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for North Somerset District Council. Between 26 March 2013 and 4 June 2013, we are inviting comments on the ward boundaries for the authority. 

For more information read our news release and the Letter to the Chief Executive of North Somerset Council (PDF)

Consultation closed on 4 June 2013

Below are the submissions we received.

Local Residents 

We received 17 submissions from residents of North Somerset (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr B Garner (PDF)

Cllr A Cole (PDF)

Cllrs G Coombs & K Barclay (PDF)

Cllr J Blatchford (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

We received 12 submissions from Parish Councils in North Somerset (PDF)

Portishead Town Council (PDF)

Wrington Parish Council (PDF)

Parish Councillors

Cllr R Higgins (PDF)

Cllr R Fairall (PDF)

Town & District Councillors

Clevedon Town Councillors and District Councillors (PDF)

Political Groups and Community Organisations

Group A (PDF) 

Labour Group (PDF)

Liberal Democrat Group (PDF)

North Somerset Constituency Labour Party (PDF)

North Somerset Conservative Association (PDF)

Independent and Green (PDF)

Backwell Residents Association (PDF)

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode, and Have your say.

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about ward boundaries.

On 8 January 2013 we started an electoral review of North Somerset District Council. From 8 January 2013 to 18 February 2013 we invited proposals on the number of councillors who should represent North Somerset in the future.

The first stage of an electoral review was to determine the number of councillors who should represent the local authority in the future. We call this stage "council size". The Commission considered views put to it by the political groups and local councillors and asked residents whether they thought the district should be represented by 46 or 51 district councillors.

Our guidance "How many councillors for North Somerset?"(PDF) sets out the proposals for 46 or 51 councillors along with consultation questions.

A letter sent to the Chief Executive (PDF) and our public news release provide more details on this consultation and the review in general.

To have your say on council size visit our consultation area.

Consultation closed on 18 February 2013

Below are the submissions we received:

Political groups

The Council Group Leaders (PDF)

North Somerset Constituency Labour Party (PDF)

Leaders of the Independent/Green Group, Labour Group and Liberal Democrat Group (PDF)

North Somerset Conservative Association (PDF)

Councillors

Parish councillor Pratt (PDF)

Parish councillor Robinson (PDF)

We received five submissions from local councillors. All the submissions are contained in one document.

Councillors (PDF)

Parish and town councils

We received 15 submissions from parish and town councils in North Somerset (PDF). All the submissions are contained in one document.

Local organisations

Backwell residents association (PDF)

Uphill Village Neighbour Watch (PDF)

Local residents

We received 63 submissions from local residents. All submissions are contained in the below documents.

Local residents A - H (PDF)

Local residents I - Z (PDF)

We will be considering the number, names and boundaries of wards during two further periods of public consultation later in 2013.

Our document, Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance (PDF), contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with North Somerset District Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on the Council). We received four submissions, these are available below.

Useful Documents