" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Tewkesbury

image map View existing ward boundaries

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Tewkesbury Borough Council.


The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw ward boundaries across Tewkesbury.

The consultation on warding arrangements closed on 20 March 2017.


On 10 January 2017, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Tewkesbury Borough Council. Between 10 January 2017 and 20 March 2017, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission announced that it was minded to recommend that Tewkesbury Borough Council should have 38 councillors in the future.

The Commission needed information from people and groups across Tewkesbury to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 38 councillors.

For more information, read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Tewkesbury Borough Council.

You may find the electoral figures useful when thinking about warding arrangements. 

Polling district maps may also be useful when thinking about warding arrangements. You can view the polling district map below. Please note, polling district mapping data has been supplied by Tewkesbury Borough Council and may contain boundary errors.

Tewkesbury polling district map

To view the existing warding arrangements, visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Tewkesbury Borough Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Tewkesbury Borough Council). We received 1 submission on council size:

Tewkesbury Borough Council Size Submission

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE).

Final report (PDF), published on 26 June 2001

Map 1(West) & Map 1(East) Existing boundaries; (PDF)

Map 2(West) & Map 2(East) Illustrating final recommendations; (PDF)

Map A1 Illustrating the final recommendations for Tewkesbury: Key map; (PDF)

Map A2 Illustrating proposed warding; (PDF)

Large map (3.3 Mb) Illustrating the existing and proposed ward boundaries for Ashchurch, Bishop's Cleeve, Churchdown and Tewkesbury; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF), Published on 9 January 2001

Map 1(West) & Map 1(East) Existing boundaries; (PDF)

Map 2(West) & Map 2(East) Illustrating draft recommendations; (PDF)

Map A1 Illustrating the draft recommendations for Tewkesbury: Key map; (PDF)

Map A2 Illustrating proposed warding; (PDF)

Large Map (2.9 Mb) Illustrating the existing and proposed ward boundaries for Ashchurch, Bishop's Cleeve, Churchdown and Tewkesbury; (PDF)

Review Dates


Date from:
Date to:
Consultation on warding arrangements
10 January 2017 
20 March 2017
Consultation on draft recommendations
6 June 2017
7 August 2017
Final recommendations published
10 October 2017