LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Stroud

image map View final recommendations

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Stroud between August 2014 - December 2015. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Stroud councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

 

 

Recommendations become law

The Stroud (Electoral Changes) Order 2015, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Stroud, was made on 11 December 2015 and was published 12 December 2015. New ward arrangements for Stroud have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2016.

The order for Stroud can be viewed through the following link: http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2015/2034/introduction/made

 

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 29 October 2015 the Stroud (Electoral Changes) Order 2015 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Stroud and published on 30 June 2015.

The draft order can be viewed here: http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2015/9780111140246/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

•    Sheet 1 - Overview of the district (PDF)

On 30th June 2015 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Stroud District Council. The report is available in the link below.

• Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for Stroud District Council (PDF)

• Summary of the report (PDF)

• News release

• Letter to the Chief Executive of Stroud District Council (PDF)

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of Stroud District Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2016.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

The Consultation closed on 6 April 2015

Below are the submissions we received:

Parish and Town Councils

Bisley with Lypiatt Parish Council - part 1 (PDF)

Bisley with Lypiatt Parish Council - part 2 (PDF)

Cranham Parish Council (PDF)

Frampton on Severn Parish Council (PDF)

Hardwicke Parish Council (PDF)

Moreton Valence Parish Council (PDF)

Randwick Parish Council (PDF)

Slimbridge Parish Council (PDF)

Standish Parish Council (PDF)

Stonehouse Town Council (PDF)

Stroud Town Council (PDF)

Wotton Under Edge Town Council (PDF)

Local residents

Cooper N (PDF)

Marsden K (PDF)

Mossman D - part 1 (PDF)

Mossman D - part 2 (PDF)

Smith M (PDF)

Stayte M (PDF)

Watts V (PDF)

Weaver SJ (PDF)

Wride D (PDF)

Local authority

Stroud District Council (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Blackburn (PDF)

Cllr Cordwell (PDF)

Cllr Jones (PDF)

Cllr Pearson (PDF)

Cllr Wride (PDF)

Cllr Young (PDF)

On 10 February 2015 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Stroud District Council. Between 10 February 2015 and 06 April 2015 we are inviting comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below.

•    Draft recommendations for Stroud District Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release on draft recommendations for Stroud

•    Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Stroud District Council (PDF)

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

Consultation closed on 3 November 2014

On 26 August 2014, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Stroud District Council. Between 26 August 2014 and 3 November 2014, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission has also announced that it is minded to recommend that the district council should have 51 district councillors in the future, the same as at present. The Commission now needs information from people and groups across Stroud to help it to produce a new pattern wards to accommodate 51 district councillors.

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Stroud District Council (PDF)

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements. Please note the electoral figures were provided to the Commission by Stroud District Council.

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

Below are the submissions which we have received:

Councillors

Cllr Ashton (PDF)

Cllr Cordell (PDF)

Local authority

Stroud District Council (PDF)

Local organisations

The Door Youth Project (PDF)

Woodchester Valley Village Freehold LTD (PDF)

Local residents

Local residents (PDF)

Parish and town councils

Parish and town councils (PDF)

 

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Stroud District Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Stroud District Council). We received 2 submissions on council size.

Stroud District Council (PDF)

Stroud District Council Conservative Group (PDF)

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE). The Order to implement the Secretary of State's decision on the review, and a subsequent amendment Order, are available on Her Majesty's Stationery Office's website. The amendment Order issued a revised Order map comprising Sheet 1, Sheet 2, Sheet 3, Sheet 4, Sheet 5, Sheet 6 and Sheet 7.

Final report (PDF), published on 26 June 2001

Map 1 Existing boundaries; (PDF)

Map 2 Illustrating final recommendations; (PDF)

Map A1 Illustrating the final recommendations for Stroud: Key map; (PDF)

Map A2 Illustrating the proposed warding of Cam parish; (PDF)

Map A3 Illustrating the proposed warding of Minchinhampton parish; (PDF)

Map A4 Illustrating the proposed warding of Randwick parish; (PDF)

Map A5 Illustrating the proposed warding of Rodborough parish; (PDF)

Large map (1.5 Mb) Illustrating the existing and proposed warding arrangements for Stroud town; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF), published on 9 January 2001

Map 1 Existing boundaries; (PDF)

Map 2 Illustrating draft recommendations; (PDF)

Map A1 Illustrating the draft recommendations for Stroud: Key map; (PDF)

Map A2 Illustrating the proposed warding of Cam parish; (PDF)

Map A3 Illustrating the proposed warding of Randwick parish; (PDF)

Map A4 Illustrating the proposed warding of Rodborough parish; (PDF)

Map A5 Illustrating the proposed warding of Thrupp parish; (PDF)

Large map (1.5 Mb) Illustrating the existing and proposed warding arrangements for Stroud town; (PDF)