LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

South Gloucestershire

Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more
image map Have your say

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of South Gloucestershire Council.

 

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw ward boundaries across South Gloucestershire.

On 29 August 2017, we published our draft recommendations for the electoral review of South Gloucestershire Council. Between 29 August 2017 and 6 November 2017 we are inviting comments on our draft recommendations.

·         Draft recommendations for South Gloucestershire Council

·         Summary of the South Gloucestershire report 

·         News release

·         Letter sent to the Chief Executive of South Gloucestershire Council

·         An overview map of South Gloucestershire draft recommendations is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode, and have your say.

You can also make a submission to the South Gloucestershire electoral review through our consultation area, by sending an e-mail to reviews@lgbce.org.uk, or writing in to the following address:

   The Review Officer (South Gloucestershire)

   Local Government Boundary Commission for England

   14th Floor Millbank Tower

   Millbank

   London

   SW1P 4QP

You may find the electoral figures useful when thinking about division arrangements.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

The consultation on warding arrangements closed on 5 June 2017.

Listed below are the submissions we received:

Political Groups:

Conservative Group

Labour Group

Liberal Democrat Group

Councillors:

Cllr Avenin

Parish and Town Councils:

Aust Parish Council

Bitton Parish Council

Dodington Parish Council

Doynton Parish Council

Emersons Green Town Council

Falfield Parish Council

Hawkesbury Parish Council

Hill Parish Meeting

Iron Acton Parish Council

Oldbury on Severn Parish Council

Pilning and Severn Beach Parish Council

Rockhampton Parish Council

Thornbury Town Council

Tormanton Parish Council

Tortworth Parish Council

Wick and Abson Parish Council

Yate Parish Council

Yate Parish Council

Local Residents:

England A

Fussing P

Mulholland C

Nelson G

Thomas P

Walters E


On 28 March 2017, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for South Gloucestershire Council. Between 28 March 2017 and 5 June 2017, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission announced that it was minded to recommend that South Gloucestershire Council should have 61 councillors in the future.

The Commission needed information from people and groups across South Gloucestershire to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 61 councillors.

For more information, read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of South Gloucestershire Council

You may find the electoral figures useful when thinking about warding arrangements. 

Polling district maps may also be useful when thinking about warding arrangements. You can view the polling district map below. Please note, polling district mapping data has been supplied by South Gloucestershire Council and may contain boundary errors.

South Gloucestershire polling district map

To view the existing warding arrangements, visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with South Gloucestershire Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on South Gloucestershire Council). We received 3 submissions on council size:

South Gloucestershire Council Conservative Group

South Gloucestershire Council Labour Group

South Gloucestershire Council Liberal Democrats Group

 

The Boundary Committee for England began a further electoral review of South Gloucestershire Unitary Authority on 3 August 2004. It completed this review on 16 May 2006.

During the six week consultation period following the publication of the Boundary Committee for Englands final recommendations for South Gloucestershire, the Electoral Commission received the following representations:

On 26 October 2006 the Electoral Commission decided to accept the recommendations of the Boundary Committee for England with the following modifications:

  • the boundary between the new Bradley Stoke Central and Stoke Lodge, and Bradley Stoke South district wards (and associated new Manor Farm and Lakeside parish wards in Bradley Stoke) will adhere to ground detail at Bradley Stoke Community School and Hortham Brook;
  • the boundary between the new Central and North East parish wards in Thornbury will include Nos. 2 and 4 Gloucester Road in North East parish ward.

The electoral change Order to implement the Commission's decision was made on 25 January 2007. Web and print versions are available on the website of the Office of Public Sector Information. The Order describes the new district and parish wards by reference to a map comprising Sheet 1, Sheet 2, Sheet 3, Sheet 4, Sheet 5, Sheet 6, Sheet 7, Sheet 8, Sheet 9, Sheet 10 and Sheet 11.

Final report (PDF) and executive summary (PDF) published 16 May 2006.

Large map sheet 1 illustrates in outline form the proposed wards for South
Gloucestershire, including constituent parishes.

Large map sheet 2 illustrates the proposed boundaries in Thornbury.

Large map sheet 3 illustrates the proposed wards for Bradley Stoke, Patchway and
Stoke Gifford area.

Large map sheet 4 illustrates the proposed wards in the Yate, Chipping Sodbury and
Dodington area.

Large map sheet 5 illustrates the proposed Cotswold Edge ward.

Large map sheet 6 illustrates the proposed wards in the Kingswood area.

Draft report, (PDF) published 21 June 2005.

Large map sheet 1, (PDF)  illustrates in outline form the proposed wards for South Gloucestershire, including constituent parishes.

Large map sheet 2, (PDF) illustrates the proposed boundaries in Thornby.

Large map sheet 3, (PDF) illustrates the proposed wards for Bradley Stoke, Patchway and Stoke Gifford area.

Large map sheet 4, (PDF)  illustrates the proposed wards in the Yate, Chipping Sodbury and Dodington area. 

Large map sheet 5, (PDF)  illustrates the proposed wards in the Kingswood area.

The last review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE).

Final report, published on 31 March 1998.

Draft report, published on 2 December 1997.

Review Dates


Dates From
Dates To
Consultation on warding arrangements
28th March 2017
5th June 2017
Consultation on draft recommendations
29th August 2017
6th November 2017
Final recommendations
16th January 2018

Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more