Draft and final recommendation reports for Gloucestershire, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Gloucestershire County Council

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Gloucestershire between September 2010 - March 2012. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Gloucestershire councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The Gloucestershire (Electoral Changes) Order 2012, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Gloucestershire, was made on 19 March 2012 and published on 22 March 2012.

New ward arrangements for Gloucestershire have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections on 2 May 2013.

The order for Gloucestershire can be viewed through the following link: www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2012/877/contents/made

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 30 January 2012 the Gloucestershire (Electoral Changes) Order 2012 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England's review of electoral arrangements in Gloucestershire and published 18 October 2011.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Gloucestershire in 2013.

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

On 18 October 2011 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Gloucestershire. These are available through the links below:

You can see the maps of the proposed recommended boundaries below:

Please note: some of these maps may be very large and may take some time to download.

We have now completed our electoral review of Gloucestershire County Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by Parliament. A draft Order – the legal document which brings into force our recommendations – will be laid in Parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2013.

Opinion survey 

We would like to invite you to participate in our online opinion survey. This survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the survey. Click here to go to the opinion survey.

On 24 May 2011 we published our draft recommendations for electoral arrangements for Gloucestershire County Council. Between 24 May and 1 August we invited comments on the draft recommendations for the authority.

Consultation closed on 1 August 2011.  

Below are the submissions we received:

Local authorities

Cotswold District Council (PDF)

Forest of Dean District Council (PDF) 

Stroud District Council (PDF) 

Councillors

Cllr Cordwell submission one (PDF)submission two (PDF) and submission three (PDF) 

Cllr Field (PDF) 

Cllr Hemming (PDF)

Cllr Hilton submission one (PDF) and submission two (PDF) 

Cllr Jones (PDF) 

Cllr Keyte (PDF)

Cllr McHale (PDF) 

Cllr Stanton (PDF)

Cllr Williams (PDF) 

Cllr Wride (PDF)

Political groups 

Gloucestershire Conservative Group (PDF) 

Gloucestershire Labour Party and Labour Group (PDF) 

Forest of Dean Liberal Democrats (PDF) 

Gloucestershire Liberal Democrats Group (PDF) 

Stroud Constituency Labour Party (PDF) 

Stroud District Green Party one (PDF) and submission two (PDF) 

People Against Bureaucracy group (PDF) 

Local organisations

Kingsway residents association (PDF)

Parish and town councils

All the submissions are contained in one PDF document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with internal links to the relevant submissions

Parish and town councils (PDF) 

Local residents  

All the submissions are contained in one PDF document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with internal links to the relevant submissions

Local residents (PDF) 

The recommendations can be found using the links below:

Following publication of our draft recommendations for Gloucestershire County Council the Commission identified a number of inconsistencies within the report. See our Errata note (PDF) for further details. 

The report has been updated to reflect any changes.  

Maps of the areas recommendations:

Please note some of these maps are large and may take some time to download.

On 30 November 2010, we started the second period of consultation for a pattern of divisions for Gloucestershire County Council. Between 30 November and 21 February, we invited comments on the division boundaries for the authority.

Read our news release

Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Gloucestershire County Council (PDF)

Here are the electoral figures for Gloucestershire (PDF). You may find a map of the electoral divisions (PDF) useful.

Gloucestershire County Council has suggested several amendments to the 2016 electorate forecast, in Cheltenham Borough in response to the latest evidence on planning and development.Here are the suggested amendments to Cheltenham figures (PDF) we welcome representations on them. 

Consultation closed on 21 February 2011.  

Below are the submissions we received:

Local Authority

Gloucestershire County Council (PDF) and proposals for new divisions in Cheltenham (PDF), Cotswold (PDF), Forest of Dean (PDF), Stroud (PDF) and Teweksbury (PDF).

Gloucestershire Police Authority (PDF) 

MPs, Councillors and Political Groups

Submission from MP Horwood (PDF) and additional information on his Cheltenham constituency (PDF) 

Cllr Booth (PDF)

Cllr Crowther (PDF) 

Cllr Cordwell (PDF)

Cllr Kerr-Rettie (PDF)

Cllr McLellan (PDF) 

Cllr Shurmer (PDF) 

Liberal Democrat councillors on Gloucestershire County Council (PDF)

Gloucester Green Party (PDF)

Gloucester City and Gloucestershire County Council Labour Party (PDF) 

Stroud Green Party (PDF)

Stroud Labour Party (PDF)

Liberal Democrat councillors - proposal for Gloucester City Area (PDF)

Gloucestershire Conservative Group - proposal for Gloucester City Area (PDF) 

Parish and Town councils

We received 19 submissions from parish and town councils. All submissions are contained in one PDF document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with internal links to the relevant submissions.

Parish and town councils (PDF) 

Local residents

R Brookes (PDF) 

P Raine (PDF) 

L Vaisey (PDF)

On 14 September 2010 we started a single member ward review of Gloucestershire County Council. From 14 September 2010 to 25 October 2010 we invited proposals for the council size of the council.

We only considered comments on council size at this time, and we will consider detailed electoral arrangements for Gloucestershire during two further periods of consultation later in 2010.

Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Gloucestershire County Council (PDF)

Read our news-release 

Consultation closed on 25 October 2010.

Below are the submissions we received:

Local authority

Gloucestershire City Council (PDF)

Political groups

Conservative group (PDF)

Joint submission by the Liberal Democrat group and Labour group (PDF)

Additional information from the Liberal Democrat group (PDF)

MPs & Councillors

MP Harper (PDF)

Cllr Sztymiak (PDF)

Cllr Cordwell (PDF)

Parish and town councils

We received 10 submissions from parish and town councils. All the submissions are contained in one PDF document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with internal links to the relevant submissions.

Parish & town councils (PDF)

We produced two different documents to support people where there is an electoral review being conducted in their area:

The Boundary Committee for England (BCFE) began reviewing the electoral arrangements of Gloucestershire County Council on 6 August 2002.

The Order implementing The Electoral Commission's decision on the final recommendations of this review has been made and can be viewed on Her Majesty's Stationery Office's website. The Order refers to a map comprising Sheet 1. The Implementation Team section of the Commission's website explains how the Commission's decisions on The Boundary Committee for England's final recomendations are made into orders.

Final recommendations published on 27 April 2004.

Map sheet of final recommendations for Gloucestershire.

Draft recommendations , published on 27 August 2003.

Large map 1 shows, in detail, existing and proposed boundaries in Gloucestershire.

This letter outlines an alternative proposal from Cheltenham Borough Council submitted to us during Stage One of the PER but omitted from our draft recommendations report.

A structural review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE), and was started on 6 June 1994

Final report (PDF) published on 11 January 1995

Draft report (PDF) published on 12 September 1994

A structural review of Avon, Gloucestershire and Somerset was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE), and was started on 28 September 1992

Final report (PDF) published in December 1993

Draft report (PDF) published in June 1993