Draft and final recommendation reports for Gloucester, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Gloucester

image map View our final recommendations

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Gloucester between July 2014 - December 2015. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Gloucester councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The Gloucester (Electoral Changes) Order 2015, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Gloucester, was made on 11 December 2015 and was published on 16 December 2015. New ward arrangements for Gloucester have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2016.

The order for Gloucester can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2015/2026/contents/made

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 28 October 2015 the Gloucester (Electoral Changes) Order 2015 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Gloucester and published on 30 June 2015.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Gloucester in 2016.

The draft order can be viewed here: http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2015/9780111140239/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

•    Sheet 1 - Overview of the city (PDF)

On 30 June we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Gloucester City Council. The report is available in the link below.

•    Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for Gloucester City Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release

•    Letter to the Corporate Director of Gloucester City Council (PDF)

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image below to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of Gloucester Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2016.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

Consultation closed on 16 March 2015

Below are the submissions we received:

Local residents

We have recieved over 60 submissions from local residents in Gloucester. The submissions can be found in two documents. At the front of each document is a list with links to the relevant submission.

Local residents - A-H (PDF)

Local residents - I-Z (PDF)

Parish Councils

Quedgely Parish Council (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Kirby (PDF)

Cllr Llewellyn (PDF)

Cllr Powell (PDF)

Cllr Smith (PDF)

Cllr Wilson et al. (PDF)

Local Organisations

Gloucestershire Wildlife Trust (PDF)

Hucclecote Community Association (PDF)

Local Authority

Gloucester City Council (PDF)

On 20 January 2015 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Gloucester City Council. Between 20 January 2015 and 16 March 2015 we invited comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below.

•    Draft recommendations for Gloucester City Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release on draft recommendations for Gloucester City Council

•    Letter sent to the Corporate Director of Gloucester City Council (PDF)

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about the draft recommendations.

An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available.Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

Consultation closed on 29 September 2014

On 22 July 2014, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Gloucester City Council. Between 22 July 2014 and 29 September 2014, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission has also announced that it is minded to recommend that the city council should have 39 city councillors in the future, three more than the current arrangements.

The Commission now needs information from people and groups across the area of Gloucester City Council to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 39 city councillors.

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Gloucester City Council (PDF)

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

Below is the map of existing ward boundaries in Gloucester. Click on the image for more detail:

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

Below are the submissions which we have received:

Councillors

Councillors (PDF)

Cllr HiltonJ

Local authority

Gloucester City Council (PDF)

Local organisations

Local organisations (PDF)

Local residents

Local residents (PDF)

Political groups

Political groups (PDF)

Gloucester Conservative Group (PDF)

Parish Councils

Quedgeley Parish Council (PDF)

 

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Gloucester City Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Gloucester Council). We received 1 submission on council size.

Gloucester City Council submission

Appendix 1

Appendix 2

 

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE).

Final report (PDF), published on 26 June 2001

Map 1 Existing boundaries; (PDF)

Map 2 Illustrating final recommendations; (PDF)

Large Map (8 Mb) illustrating the existing and proposed ward boundaries for Gloucester; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF), Published on 9 January 2001

Map 1 Existing boundaries; (PDF)

Map 2 Illustrating draft recommendations; (PDF)

Large Map (8.1 Mb) illustrating the existing and proposed ward boundaries for Gloucester; (PDF)

 

A structural review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE)

Final report (PDF) published in December 1995

Draft report (PDF) published in September 1995