LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Forest of Dean

Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more
image map Have your say

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Forest of Dean District Council.

 

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw ward boundaries across Forest of Dean.

 

 

On 28 March 2017, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Forest of Dean District Council. Between 28 March 2017 and 5 June 2017, we are inviting comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission has also announced that it is minded to recommend that Forest of Dean District Council should have 39 councillors in the future.

The Commission now needs information from people and groups across Forest of Dean to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 39 councillors.

For more information, read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Forest of Dean District Council

You may find the electoral figures useful when thinking about warding arrangements. 

Polling district maps may also be useful when thinking about warding arrangements. You can view the polling district map below. Please note, polling district mapping data has been supplied by Forest of Dean District Council and may contain boundary errors.

Forest of Dean polling district map

To view the existing warding arrangements, visit our consultation area. You can search by area, postcode or have your say. 

You can make a submission to the Forest of Dean electoral review through our consultation area, by sending an e-mail to reviews@lgbce.org.uk, or writing in to the following address:

   The Review Officer (Forest of Dean)

   Local Government Boundary Commission for England

   14th Floor Millbank Tower

   Millbank

   London

   SW1P 4QP

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Forest of Dean District Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Forest of Dean District Council). We received 1 submission on council size:

Forest of Dean District Council

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE).

Final report (PDF), published on 26 June 2001

Map 1 Existing boundaries; (PDF)

Map 2 Illustrating final recommendations; (PDF)

Map A1 Illustrating final recommendations for the Forest of Dean: Key map; (PDF)

Map A2 Illustrating the proposed district and parish warding of Cinderford; (PDF)

Map A3 Illustrating the proposed district and parish warding of Drybrook parish; (PDF)

Map A4 Illustrating the proposed district and parish warding of Newent; (PDF)

Map A5 Illustrating the proposed district and parish warding of Newent; (PDF)

Large Map (2.6 Mb) Illustrating the existing and proposed ward arrangements for Coleford, West Dean and Lydney; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF), Published on 9 January 2001

Map 1 Existing boundaries; (PDF)

Map 2 Illustrating draft recommendations; (PDF)

Map A1 Illustrating draft recommendations for the Forest of Dean: Key map; (PDF)

Map A2 Illustrating the proposed district and parish warding of Cinderford; (PDF)

Map A3 Illustrating the proposed district and parish warding of Drybrook parish; (PDF)

Map A4 Illustrating the proposed district and parish warding of Newent; (PDF)

Map A5 Illustrating the proposed district and parish warding of Newent; (PDF)

Large Map (2.6 Mb) illustrating the existing and proposed ward arrangements for Coleford, West Dean and Lydney; (PDF)

Review Dates


Dates From
Dates To
Consultation on warding arrangements
28th March 2017
5th June 2017
Consultation on draft recommendations
5th September 2017
13th November 2017
Final recommendations
9th January 2018

Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more