Draft and final recommendation reports for Cotswold, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Cotswold

image map

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Cotswold between July 2013 - February 2015. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Cotswold councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The Cotswold (Electoral Changes) Order 2015, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Cotswold, was made on 3 February 2015 and was published 5 February 2015. New ward arrangements for Cotswold have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in May 2015.

The order for Cotswold can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2015/113/contents/made

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 20 November 2014 the Cotswold (Electoral Changes) Order 2015 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Cotswold and published on 14 October 2014.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Cotswold in 2015.

The draft order can be seen below:

 http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2015/9780111123508/pdfs/ukdsi_9780111123508_en.pdf

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

•    Sheet 1 - Overview of the district (PDF)

On 14 October 2014 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Cotswold District Council. The report is available in the link below.

•    Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for Cotswold District Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release

•    Letter to the Chief Executive of Cotswold District Council (PDF)

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image below to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of Cotswold District Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2015.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

On 12 February we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Cotswold District Council. Between 12 February 2014 and 28 April 2014 we are inviting comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode, and Have your say.

This consultation is now closed.

Below are the submissions which we have received:

Councillors

Councillors PDF

Local organisation

Beeches Community Group PDF

Local residents

Due to the large number of submissions, they have been grouped into separate documents:

Local residents (1-23) PDF

Local residents (24-50) PDF

Local residents (51-71) PDF

Local residents (72-94) PDF

Parish and town councils

Parish and town council PDF

An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

You may find the electoral figures for Cotswold (XLS) useful when thinking about draft recommendations.

On 3 September 2013, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Cotswold District Council. Between 3 September and 11 November 2013, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

Consultation closed 11 November 2013

Below are the submissions we received:

Local residents

Fordham N (PDF)

Frost M (PDF)

Proger T (PDF)

Moore D (PDF)

Bigg T (PDF)

Ayers C (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

Cowley Parish Council (PDF)

Moreton-in-Marsh Town Council (PDF)

Somerford Keynes Parish Council (PDF)

Fairford Town Council (PDF)

Cirencester Town Council (PDF)

Lechlade Town Council (PDF)

Baunton Parish Council (PDF)

Wyck Rissington Parish Council (PDF)

South Cerney Wick Parish Council (PDF)

Bourton-on-the-Water Parish Council (PDF)

Evenlode Parish Council (PDF)

Kemsford Parish Council (PDF)

Broadwell Parish Council (PDF)

Little Rissington Parish Council (PDF)

Local authority

Liberal Democrat Group on Cotswold District Council (PDF)

Conservative Group on Cotswold District Council (PDF)

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Cotswold District Council (PDF)

Below is the map of existing ward boundaries in Cotswold District Council. Click on the image for more detail. You may find the electoral figures for Cotswold (XLS) useful when thinking about ward arrangements. 

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode, and Have your say.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

On 4 June 2013 we started an electoral review of Cotswold District Council. From 4 June 2013 to 16 July 2013 we invited proposals for the number of councillors who should represent Cotswold in the future.

The first stage of an electoral review is to determine the number of councillors who should represent the local authority in the future. We call this stage ‘council size’. During the preliminary stage of the review, the Commission received a proposal from Cotswold District Council. Their submission is available below. The Commission has considered these submissions and is now seeking views on its proposal for a council size of 35 members for Cotswold Council.

A letter sent to the Chief Executive (PDF) and our public news release provide more details on this consultation and the review in general.

To view an interactive map of the existing wards please visit our consultation area.

Consultation closed on 16 July 2013

Below are the submissions we received:

Local Residents

Blumsom M (PDF)

Davies C (PDF)

Langton S (PDF)

Milner J (PDF)

Acland H (PDF)

Norledge D (PDF)

Sir Henry (PDF)

Local Authority

Cotswold District Council (PDF)

Parish Meeting

Edgeworth Village Meeting (PDF)

We will be considering the number, names and boundaries of wards during two further periods of public consultation later in 2013.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

The next consultation on ward boundaries will be in September. You can visit our consultation area to register for a consultation reminder.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Cotswold District Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on the Council). We received 1 submission on council size.

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE).

Final report (PDF), published on 27 June 2000

Map 1 North and Map 1 South existing boundaries; (PDF)

Map 2 North and Map 2 South illustrating final recommendations; (PDF)

Map A1 illustrating final recommendations for Cotswold: Key map; (PDF)

Map A2 illustrating the proposed warding of Brimpsfield parish; (PDF)

Map A3 illustrating the proposed warding of Blockley parish; (PDF)

Large map (1.74 Mb) illustrating the existing and proposed ward boundaries for Cirencester; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF), Published on 9 January 2000

Map 1 North and Map 1 South existing boundaries; (PDF)

Map 2 North and Map 2 South illustrating draft recommendations; (PDF)

Map A1 illustrating the draft recommendations for Cotswold: Key map; (PDF)

Map A2 illustrating the proposed warding of Brimpsfield parish; (PDF)

Map A3 illustrating the proposed warding of Blockley parish; (PDF)

Large map (1.5 Mb) illustrating the existing and proposed ward boundaries for Cirencester; (PDF)

Useful Documents