Draft and final recommendation reports for West Dorset, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

West Dorset

image map

The Commission carried out an electoral review of West Dorset between June 2013 - January 2015. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each West Dorset councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The West Dorset (Electoral Changes) Order 2015, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in West Dorset, was made on 27 January 2015 and was published 30 January 2015. New ward arrangements for West Dorset have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2015.

The order for West Dorset can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2015/76/pdfs/uksi_20150076_en.pdf

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 27 November the West Dorset (Electoral Changes) Order 2015 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in West Dorset and published on 29 July 2014.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for West Dorset in 2015.

The draft order can be viewed here:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2015/9780111123829/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

•    Sheet 1 - Overview of the district (PDF)

On 29 July 2014 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in West Dorset District Council. The report is available in the link below.

•    Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for West Dorset District Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release

•    Letter to the Chief Executive of West Dorset District Council (PDF)

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of West Dorset District Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2015.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

On 12 February 2014 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of West Dorset Council. Between 12 February 2014 and 28 April 2014 we are inviting comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below.

Draft recommendations for West Dorset Council (PDF)

Summary of the report (PDF)

News release on draft recommendations for West Dorset

Letter sent to the Chief Executive of West Dorset District Council (PDF)

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode, and Have your say.

An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available.

 

This consultation is now closed.

The below are the submissions we have received:

Due to the number of submissions received, we have combined some into single PDF documents.

Councillors

Councillors (PDF)

Local Authority

West Dorset District council (PDF)

Local organisation

King Charles Residential Association (PDF)

Local residents

Local residents A-F (PDF)

Local residents H-W (PDF)

BeesonK (PDF)

Parish and Town councils

Parish and Town councils (PDF)

Bridport Town council (PDF) 

On 3 September 2013, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for West Dorset District Council. Between 3 September 2013 and 11 November 2013, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

Consultation closed 11 November 2013.

Below are the submissions we received:

Local Residents

Ainslie M (PDF)

Benson I (PDF)

Harrison H (PDF)

Legg R (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

16 Parish and Town Council Submissions (PDF)

Councillor

Cllr Frost T (PDF)

Cllr Beeson K (PDF)

Political Groups

Dorchester District Labour Party (PDF)

Local Authority

West Dorset District Council (PDF)

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of West Dorset District Council (PDF)

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

On 4 June 2013 we started an electoral review of West Dorset District Council. From 4 June to 16 July we are inviting proposals for the number of councillors who should represent West Dorset in the future.

Consultation closed on 16 July 2013

Below are the submissions we received:

Local Residents

We received 20 submissions from local residents. The submissions are contained in the document below. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Local Residents (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Turner (PDF)

Political Groups

Dorchester and District Labour Party (PDF)

Parish & Town Councils

Bridport Town Council (PDF)

Broadmayne Parish Council (PDF)

Charminster Parish Council (PDF)

Char Valley Parish Council (PDF)

Chideock Parish Council (PDF)

Dorchester Town Council (PDF)

Maiden Newton Parish Council (PDF)

The first stage of an electoral review is to determine the number of councillors who should represent the local authority in the future. We call this stage ‘council size’. During the preliminary stage of the review, the Commission received proposals from West Dorset District Council and a group of independent West Dorset Councillors. Their submissions are available below under preliminary council size. The Commission has considered these submissions and is now seeking views on its proposal for a council size of 43 members for West Dorset District Council.

A letter sent to the Chief Executive (PDF) and our public news release provide more details on this consultation and the review in general.

We will be considering the number, names and boundaries of wards during two further periods of public consultation later in 2013.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with West Dorset District Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on the Council). We received 2 submissions on council size.

West Dorset District Council (PDF)

West Dorset Group of Independent Councillors (PDF)

This review was started by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE) on 27 March 2001 but, following the transfer of the LGCE's functions to The Electoral Commission, the review was completed by The Boundary Committee for England (BCFE).

The Order implementing The Electoral Commission's decision on the final recommendations of this review has been made and can be viewed on Her Majesty's Stationery Office's website. The Implementation Team section of the Commission's website explains how the Commission's decisions on The Boundary Committee for England's final recommendations are made into Orders. The current boundaries of the electoral wards and divisions can be viewed on Ordnance Survey's election maps website. Parish warding is not shown on the election maps website. It can be seen on the mapping from the Committee's final recommendations below; any modifications are listed in the Explanatory Note at the back of the Order.

Final report (PDF), published on 3 April 2002 by the BCFE

Map 1 East and Map 1 West Existing boundaries; (PDF)

Map 2 East and Map 2 West Illustrating final recommendations; (PDF)

Map A1 Illustrating, in outline form, the proposed ward boundaries within the district and indicates the areas which are shown in more detail in Maps A2 and the large map; (PDF)

Map A2 Illustrating the proposed warding of Sherborne; (PDF)

Large Map (1.68 Mb) Illustrating the existing and proposed warding arrangements for Bridport and Dorchester; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF), Published on 9 October 2001 by the LGCE

Map 1a east and Map 1b west Existing boundaries; (PDF)

Map 2a east and Map 2b west  Illustrating draft recommendations; (PDF)

Map A1 Illustrating, in outline form, the proposed ward boundaries within the district and indicates the areas which are shown in more detail in Maps A2 and the large map; (PDF)

Map A2 illustrates the proposed warding of Sherborne; (PDF)

Large Map (1.68 Mb) Illustrating the existing and proposed warding arrangements for Bridport and Dorchester; (PDF)

Useful Documents