Draft and final recommendation reports for Purbeck, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Purbeck

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Purbeck between August 2011 - January 2013. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Purbeck councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The Purbeck (Electoral Changes) Order 2013, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new division boundaries in Purbeck, was made on 16 January 2013.

New electoral ward arrangements for Purbeck have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the next scheduled county elections in 2015.

The order for Purbeck can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2013/69/contents/made 

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 20 November 2012 The Purbeck (Electoral Changes) Order 2013 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order, if made, would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England's review of electoral arrangements in Purbeck and published on 25 September 2012.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Purbeck in 2015.

The draft order can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2013/9780111531044/pdfs/ukdsi_9780111531044_en.pdf
 
The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

 

On 25 September 2012, we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Purbeck. These are available through the links below. 

Map of the area recommendations:

  • Map - Overview of Purbeck District (PDF) Please note: this map may be large and take some time to download.


  • To interact with the final recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode, and 'Have your say'.

    We have now completed our electoral review of Purbeck District Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2015. 

    Opinion Survey

    We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the survey. Click here to go to the opinion survey.

On 29 May 2012 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Purbeck District Council. These can be found using the links below.

Maps of the area recommendations:

Please note: some of these maps are very large and may take some time to download.

Consultation closed 9 July 2012

Below are the submissions we received:

Local Authority

Purbeck District Council (PDF)

Political Groups

Liberal Democrat Group submission (PDF)

South Dorset Conservative Association (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Brenton (PDF)

Cllr Barnes (PDF)

Cllr Holmes (PDF)

Parish, Town Councils

We received 14 submissions from Parish and Town Councils. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Parish, Town Councils (PDF)

Local Residents

We received 54 submissions from local residents. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Local residents (PDF)

On 23 August 2011, following preliminary discussions with Purbeck District Council, we started a period of information gathering for new warding arrangements for the council. Between 23 August and 14 November, we invited local people and other interested parties to provide information on where the ward boundaries for the authority should be. We were especially looking for information on communities within Purbeck, how people relate to and interact with them and how this may relate to any new ward boundaries.

Consultation closed on 14 November 2011

Below are the submissions we received:

Local Authority

Purbeck District Council (PDF)

Parish and town councils

Arne Parish Council (PDF)

Bere-Regis Parish Council (PDF)

Bloxworth Parish Meeting (PDF)

East Lulworth Parish Council (PDF)

East Stoke Parish Council (PDF)

Swanage Parish Council (PDF)

Wareham St Martin Parish Council (PDF)

Wareham Town Council (PDF)

West Lulworth Parish Council (PDF)

Local residents

M.D Weller (PDF) 

Read our news release

Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Purbeck County Council (PDF)

The Commission is minded to recommend a council size of 27 for Purbeck, following the receipt of evidence supporting this number from Purbeck District Council. 

Here are the electoral figures for Purbeck (PDF). You may also find a map of Purbeck's current wards (PDF) useful.

You may wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance (PDF), which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE).

Final report (PDF), published in March 1997;

Draft report (PDF), published in October 1996