Draft and final recommendation reports for Poole, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Poole

image map

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Poole between July 2013 - January 2015. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Poole councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

 

 

Recommendations become law

The Poole (Electoral Changes) Order 2015, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Poole, was made on 23 January 2015 and was published 30 January 2015. New ward arrangements for Poole have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2015.

The order for Poole can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2015/73/pdfs/uksi_20150073_en.pdf

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 5 November 2014 the Poole (Electoral Changes) Order 2015 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Poole and published on 23 September 2014.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Poole in 2015.

The draft order can be viewed here:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2015/9780111122853/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

•    Sheet 1 - Overview of the borough (PDF)

On 23 September 2014 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Poole Borough Council. The report is available in the link below.

•    Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for Poole Borough Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release

•    Letter to the Interim Chief Executive of Poole Borough Council (PDF)

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of Poole Borough Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2015.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

Consultation closed on 24 June 2014

Below are the submissions we received:

Local residents

We received over 100 submissions from local residents. All submissions are contained in the 6 documents below. 

Local residents A-E (PDF)

Local residents F-K (PDF)

Local residents L-R (PDF)

Local residents S-Z (PDF)

Submissions from proformas (PDF)

Submissions from proformas (PDF)

We also received 6 anonymous submissions

Anonymous (PDF)

Anonymous (PDF)

Anonymous (PDF)

Anonymous (PDF)

Anonymous (PDF)

Anonymous (PDF)

Councillors

We received 11 submissions from Councillors. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Councillors (PDF)

We also received a submission from:

Cllr Adams (PDF)

We also received a submission from Cllr Brooke.

Cllr Brooke (PDF)

Local organisations

Creekmoor Community Association (PDF)

MP

Mr Syms (PDF)

Political groups

Bournemouth Labour Party (PDF)

Broadstone Conservatives (PDF)

Poole Conservative Association (PDF)

Poole Conservative Association (PDF)

UKIP (PDF)

Proformas

We received 66 proformas from Poole Conservative Association. An example can be found below.

Proforma (PDF)

Petition

We have received 42 signatures regarding Edwina Drive. An example of the petition can be found below.

Petition (PDF)

On 15 April 2014 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of the Borough Council of Poole. Between 15 April 2014 and 24 June 2014 we invited comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below.

•    Draft recommendations for Borough Council of Poole (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release on draft recommendations for the Borough Council of Poole

•    Letter sent to the Interim Chief Executive of the Borough Council of Poole (PDF)

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

On 22 October 2013, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Poole Borough Council. Between 22 October 2013 and 7 January 2014, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

Consultation closed on 7 January 2014.

Below are the submissions we received:

Local residents

We received 179 submissions from local residents. All submissions are contained in 4 documents. At the front of each document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Local residents A-E (PDF)

Local residents F-L (PDF)

Local residents M-P (PDF)

Local Residents P-Z (PDF)

Adams (PDF)

Anonymous (PDF)

Bilson (PDF)

Councillors

We received 18 submissions from councillors. All submissions are contained in 1 document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Councillors (PDF)

Political Groups

Mid Dorset and North Poole Conservative Association - Broadstone Branch (PDF)

The Mid Dorset and North Poole conservative association consultation received 79 responses . An example can be seen here - response example (PDF)

Bournemouth West Labour Party (PDF)

Poole Elected Conservative Group (PDF)

Poole Conservative Association (PDF)

Poole Conservatives (PDF)

Mid Dorset and North Poole Conservative Association (PDF)

Lady Dagnall - Poole Conservative Association (PDF)

MP

MP - Robert Syms (PDF) 

Local Authority

Poole Borough Council (PDF)

Map (PDF)

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Poole Borough Council (PDF) 

On 20 December 2013, following a query on the electorate forecasts, the Council has amended its electorate forecasts in BB polling district in Hamworthy East ward. The Council projected an additional 428 electors for this area. The revised electoral figures (XLS) supersede those originally provided.

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

On 23 July 2013 we started an electoral review of Poole Borough Council. From 23 July to 2 September we are inviting proposals for the number of councillors who should represent Poole in the future.

Consultation closed on 2 September 2013

Below you can see the submissions received:

Local residents

We received 19 submissions from local residents. All submissions are contained in one document.

Local residents (PDF)

Councillors

We received 8 submissions from councillors. All submissions are contained in one document.

Councillors (PDF)

Local Organisations

Longfleet Baptist Church (PDF)

MPs and political groups

Annette Brooke MP (PDF)

Robert Syms MP (PDF)

UKIP - Poole and Mid-Dorset Branch (PDF)

The first stage of an electoral review is to determine the number of councillors who should represent the local authority in the future. We call this stage ‘council size’. During the preliminary stage of the review, the Commission received proposals from Poole Borough Council and Poole Liberal Democrats/People Party. Their submissions are available below. The Commission has considered these submissions and is now seeking views on its proposal for a council size of 38 or 42 members for Poole Borough Council.

A letter sent to the Chief Executive (PDF), our briefing document (PDF) and our public news release provide more details on this consultation and the review in general.

We will be considering the number, names and boundaries of wards during two further periods of public consultation later in 2013.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page . You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

You can visit our consultation area to register for a consultation reminder.

The next consultation on ward boundaries will be in October.

Preliminary council size consultation

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Poole Borough Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on the Council). We received 2 submissions on council size.

 Poole Borough Council (PDF)

Poole Liberal Democrats and Poole People Party (PDF)

This review was started by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE) on 10 July 2001 but, following the transfer of the LGCE's functions to The Electoral Commission, the review was completed by The Boundary Committee for England (BCFE).

The Order implementing The Electoral Commission's decision on the final recommendations of this review has been made and can be viewed on Her Majesty's Stationery Office's website. The Implementation Team section of the Commission's website explains how the Commission's decisions on The Boundary Committee for England's final recommendations are made into Orders. The current boundaries of the electoral wards and divisions can be viewed on Ordnance Survey's election maps website. Parish warding is not shown on the election maps website. It can be seen on the mapping from the Committee's final recommendations below; any modifications are listed in the Explanatory Note at the back of the Order.

Final report (PDF), published on 9 July 2002 by the BCFE

Map 1 Existing boundaries; (PDF)

Map 2 Illustrating final recommendations; (PDF)

Large Map (13 Mb) Illustrating the existing and proposed ward boundaries for Poole; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF), Published on 26 February 2002 by the LGCE

Map 1 Existing boundaries; (PDF)

Map 2 Illustrating draft recommendations; (PDF)

Large Map (13 Mb) illustrates the existing and proposed ward boundaries for Poole; (PDF)