Draft and final recommendation reports for North Dorset, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

North Dorset

image map

The Commission carried out an electoral review of North Dorset between January 2013 - July 2014. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each North Dorset councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The North Dorset (Electoral Changes) Order 2014, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in North Dorset, was made on 15 July 2014 and was published 22 July 2014. New ward arrangements for North Dorset have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2015.

The order for North Dorset can be viewed through the following link:

 http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2014/1906/contents/made

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 5 June 2014 the North Dorset (Electoral Changes) Order 2014 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in North Dorset and published on 25 March 2014.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for North Dorset in 2015.

The draft order can be seen here - http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2014/9780111115473/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

•    Sheet 1 - Overview of the district (PDF)

On 25 March 2014 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in North Dorset District Council. The report is available in the link below.

Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for North Dorset District Council (PDF)

Summary of the report (PDF)

News release

Letter to the Chief Executive of North Dorset District Council (PDF)

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available.

We have now completed our electoral review of North Dorset District Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2015.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey . The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

 

On 15 October 2013 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of North Dorset District Council. Between 15 October 2013 and 6 January 2014 we invited comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below.

The consultation closed on the 6 January 2014.

Below are the submissions we have received:

Councillor Submissions

Councillor Submissions (PDF)

Local Authority Submissions

Dorset County Council (PDF)

North Dorset District Council (PDF)

Parish and Town Council Submissions

Parish and Town Council Submissions (PDF)

Political Groups Submissions

NDCLP (PDF)

Local Resident Submissions

Local Residents Submissions (PDF)

Consultation documents:

Draft recommendations for North Dorset District Council (PDF)
Summary of the report (PDF)
News release on draft recommendations for North Dorset
Letter sent to the Chief Executive of North Dorset District Council (PDF)

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode, and Have your say.

An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when considering the draft recommendations.

On 26 March 2013, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for North Dorset District Council. Between 26 March 2013 and 4 June 2013, we are inviting comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

For more information read our news release and the Letter to the Chief Executive of North Dorset Council (PDF)

Consultation closed on 4 June 2013

Below are the submissions we received:

Local Authorities

North Dorset District Council (PDF)

Dorset County Council (PDF)

Parish Meeting

Woolland Parish Meeting (PDF)

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode, and Have your say.

On 8 January 2013 we started an electoral review of North Dorset District Council. From 8 January 2013 to 18 February 2013 we invited proposals on the number of councillors who should represent North Dorset in the future.

The first stage of an electoral review was to determine the number of councillors who should represent the local authority in the future. We call this stage "council size". During the preliminary stage of the review, the Commission received a proposal from the council. This submission is available below. The Commission has considered this submission and sought views on its proposal for a council size of 33 members for North Dorset Council.

A letter sent to the Chief Executive (PDF) and our public news release provide more details on this consultation and the review in general.

To view an interactive map of the existing wards visit our consultation area.

Consultation closed on 18 February 2013

Below are the submissions we received:

Parish Councillor Hooper (PDF)

Shillingstone Parish Council (PDF)

South Tarrant Valley Parish Council (PDF)

We received 35 submissions from local residents in North Dorset. The submissions are contained in one PDF document: Local residents submissions (PDF).

We will be considering the number, names and boundaries of wards during two further periods of public consultation later in 2012.

Our document, Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance (PDF), contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

Preliminary council size consultation

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with North Dorset District Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on the Council). We received a submission from the Council.

North Dorset District Council initial submission (PDF)

This review was started by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE) on 27 March 2001 but, following the transfer of the LGCE's functions to The Electoral Commission, the review was completed by The Boundary Committee for England (BCFE).

The Order implementing The Electoral Commission's decision on the final recommendations of this review has been made and can be viewed on Her Majesty's Stationery Office's website. The Implementation Team section of the Commission's website explains how the Commission's decisions on The Boundary Committee for England's final recommendations are made into Orders. The current boundaries of the electoral wards and divisions can be viewed on Ordnance Survey's election maps website. Parish warding is not shown on the election maps website. It can be seen on the mapping from the Committee's final recommendations below; any modifications are listed in the Explanatory Note at the back of the Order.

Final report (PDF), published on 3 April 2002 by the BCFE

Map 1 Existing boundaries; (PDF)

Map 2 Illustrating final recommendations; (PDF)

Map A1 Illustrating, in outline form, the proposed ward boundaries within the district and indicates the areas which are shown in more detail on Map A2 and on the large map; (PDF)

Map A2 Illustrating the proposed district and parish warding of Blandford Forum; (PDF)

Large Map (2.06 Mb) Illustrating the existing and proposed warding arrangements for Gillingham and Shaftesbury; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF), Published on 9 October 2001 by the LGCE

Map 1 Existing boundaries; (PDF)

Map 2 Illustrating draft recommendations; (PDF)

Map A1 Illustrating, in outline form, the proposed ward boundaries within the district and indicates the areas which are shown in more detail on the large map; (PDF)

Large Map (2.06 Mb) Illustrating the existing and proposed warding arrangements for Gillingham and Shaftesbury; (PDF)