Draft and final recommendation reports for East Dorset, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

East Dorset

image map Final recommendations

The Commission carried out an electoral review of East Dorset between June 2012 - March 2014. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each East Dorset councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

 

Recommendations become law

The East Dorset (Electoral Changes) Order 2014, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in East Dorset, was made on 27 February 2014 and was published 4 March 2014). New ward/division arrangements for East Dorset have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections 2015.

The order for East Dorset can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2014/456/pdfs/uksi_20140456_en.pdf

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 17 December 2013 the East Dorset (Electoral Changes) Order 2014 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England's review of electoral arrangements in East Dorset and published on 22 October 2013.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for East Dorset in 2015.

To view the draft order please visit http://www.legislation.gov.uk/id/ukdsi/2014/9780111106945

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

Sheet 1 - Overview of the district (PDF)

Final Recommendations for future electoral arrangements in East Dorset

On 22 October 2013 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in East Dorset District Council. The report is available in the link below.

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image below to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of East Dorset District Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2015.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

Draft Recommendations 

On 16 April 2013 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of East Dorset District Council. Between 16 April 2013 and 8 July 2013 we are inviting comments on the proposed wards, their boundaries and ward names. The recommendations can be found using the links below.

Consultation closed on 8 July 2013

Below are the submissions we received:

Local Authority

East Dorset District Council (PDF)

Dorset County Council (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr P Richardson (PDF)

Cllr A Warman (PDF)

Cllr A Warman (PDF)

Cllr M Dyer (PDF)

Cllr S Burns (PDF)

Parish Councillors

Cllr R Bryan (PDF)

Cllr J Russell (PDF)

Cllr J House (PDF)

Cllr R Hindmarch (PDF)

Cllr SM Lugg (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

Ferndown Town Council (PDF)

St Leonards & St Ives Parish Council (PDF)

Verwood Town Council (PDF)

West Moors Parish Council (PDF)

Wimbourne Minster Town Council (PDF)

Local Residents

A McDonald (PDF)

C House (PDF)

G Hilbert (PDF)

NCC Sherman (PDF)

E Norman (PDF)

R Franklin (PDF)

RL Sherman (PDF)

To make a submission and interact with the draft recommendations mapping click on the map below to visit our consultation area. You can view the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode, and Have your say.

Consultation on warding arrangements

Following preliminary discussions with East Dorset District Council, on 25 September 2012 we started a period of information gathering for new ward arrangements. Between 25 September and 3 December 2012, we invited local people and other interested parties to provide information on new warding arrangements for the Council. We were especially looking for information on communities within East Dorset, how people relate to and interact with them and how this may relate to any new ward boundaries. 

During the preliminary consultation the Commission received submissions from East Dorset District Council, political groups and local residents. These submissions are available below under Council size consultation. The Commission has considered these proposals and is minded to recommended a council size of 29 for East Dorset. Proposals for warding arrangements should therefore be based on this council size.

A letter sent to the Chief Executive of East Dorset District Council (PDF) and our public news release provide details on the consultation and the review in general. 

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation portal. You can search by area or postcode, and Have your say.

Consultation closed 3 December 2012

When considering the warding arrangements for East Dorset you may find helpful the electoral figures (PDF) and a map of the existing wards and parishes (JPEG) useful. 

Our document, Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance (PDF), contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

Below are the submissions we have received:

Local Authority

East Dorset District Council (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Warman (PDF) + additional submission (PDF)

Cllr Dyer (PDF)

Cllr Richardson (PDF)

Parish, Town Councils

We received 9 submissions from Parish and Town councils. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions. 

Parish, Town Councils (PDF)

Local Residents

Budnar W (PDF)

Daymond A (PDF)

Yonwin M (PDF)

Council size consultation

On 26 June 2012  we started an electoral review of East Dorset District Council. From 26 June 2012 to 6 August 2012 we are inviting proposals for the number of councillors who should represent East Dorset Council.

The first stage of an electoral review is to determine the number of councillors who should represent the local authority in the future, we call this stage 'council size'. During the preliminary stage of the review, the Commission received a proposal from East Dorset District Council. The submission is available below.

The Commission has considered the submission and has sought views on its proposals for a council size of 29 members for East Dorset Council. 

A letter to the Chief Executive (PDF) and our public news release provide more details on this consultation and the review in general.

We will consider the number, names and boundaries of wards during two further periods of public consultation later in 2012. 

You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance (PDF), which contains detailed guidance on the review process, and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

Consultation closed 6 August 2012.

Below are the submissions we received:

Local Authority

East Dorset District Council (PDF)

Parish, Towns Councils

Sixpenny Handley with Pentridge Parish Council (PDF)

Wimborne Minster Town Council (PDF)

Verwood Town Council (PDF)

Local Residents

Anonymous (PDF)

Charlesworth C (PDF)

Harkson P (PDF)

O'Nions P D (PDF) 

Preliminary council size consultation

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with East Dorset District Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on the Council). We received one submissions on council size:

This review was started by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE) on 27 March 2001 but, following the transfer of the LGCE's functions to The Electoral Commission, the review was completed by The Boundary Committee for England (BCFE).

The Order implementing The Electoral Commission's decision on the final recommendations of this review has been made and can be viewed on Her Majesty's Stationery Office's website. The Implementation Team section of the Commission's website explains how the Commission's decisions on The Boundary Committee for England's final recommendations are made into Orders. The current boundaries of the electoral wards and divisions can be viewed on Ordnance Survey's election maps website. Parish warding is not shown on the election maps website. It can be seen on the mapping from the Committee's final recommendations below; any modifications are listed in the Explanatory Note at the back of the Order.

Final report (PDF), published on 3 April 2002 by the BCFE

Map 1 Existing boundaries; (PDF)

Map 2 Illustrating final recommendations; (PDF)

Map A1 Illustrating, in outline form, the proposed ward boundaries within the district and indicates the areas which are shown in more detail in Maps A2 and A3 and the large map; (PDF)

Map A2 Illustrating the proposed warding of Alderholt parish; (PDF)

Map A3 Illustrating the proposed warding of Corfe Mullen parish; (PDF)

Large Map (4.4 Mb) Illustrating the existing and proposed warding arrangements for Colehill and Wimborne Minster, Ferndown and Verwood; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF), Published on 9 October 2001 by the LGCE

Map 1 Existing boundaries; (PDF)

Map 2 Illustrating draft recommendations; (PDF)

Map A1 Illustrating, in outline form, the proposed ward boundaries within the district and indicates the areas which are shown in more detail in Maps A2 and A3 and the large map; (PDF)

Map A2 Illustrating the proposed warding of Alderholt parish; (PDF)

Map A3 Illustrates the proposed warding of Corfe Mullen parish; (PDF)

Large Map (4.29 Mb) Illustrating the existing and proposed warding arrangements for Colehill and Wimborne Minster, Ferndown and Verwood; (PDF)