Draft and final recommendation reports for Dorset, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Dorset County Council

image map View our final recommendations

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Dorset between September 2014 - January 2016. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Dorset councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The Dorset (Electoral Changes) Order 2016, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Dorset, was made on 11 January 2016 and was published 12 January 2016. New division arrangements for Dorset have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2016.

The order for Dorset can be viewed through the following link: http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2016/64/introduction/made

 

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 4 November 2015 the Dorset (Electoral Changes) Order 2016 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Dorset and published on 29 September 2015.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Dorset in 2017.

The draft order can be viewed here: http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2016/9780111140437/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

•    Sheet 1 - Overview of the county (PDF)

On 29 September 2015 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Dorset County Council. The report is available in the link below.

•    Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for Dorset County Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release

•    Letter to the Chief Executive of Dorset County Council (PDF)

•    An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available.

To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

PDF maps of each individual ward can be found below. Please note each document is very large so may take some time to load.

•    Dorset final recommendations - wards A-Z (PDF)

To receive the data files for this map in shapefile format please email your request to reviews@lgbce.org.uk.

We have now completed our electoral review of Dorset County Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2017.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

Consultation closed on 6 July 2015

Below are the submissions we received:

Local residents

We received 20 submissions from local residents. All the submissions can be found in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Local residents (PDF)

Councillors

We received 12 submissions from councillors. All the submissions can be found in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Councillors (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

We received 27 submissons from parish and town councils. All the submissions can be found in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Parish and Town Councils (PDF)

Local organisations

Wareham Town Trust (PDF)

MP

Michael Tomlinson MP (PDF)

Parish and Town Councillors

PCllr Horniman (PDF)

PCllr Webb (PDF)

TCllr Jones (PDF)

Political Groups

North Dorset Labour Group (PDF)

North Dorset Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Local Authority

Dorset County Council (PDF)

Late Submissions

Purbeck District Council (PDF)

On 12 May 2015 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Dorset County Council. Between 12 May 2015 and 6 July 2015 we invited comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below.

•    Draft recommendations for Dorset County Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release on draft recommendations for Dorset County Council

•    Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Dorset County Council (PDF)

 An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about division arrangements. Please note the electoral figures were provided to the Commission by Dorset County Council.

Consultation closed on 1 December 2014

On 23 September 2014, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of electoral divisions for Dorset County Council. Between 23 September 2014 and 1 December 2014, we invited comments on the division boundaries for the authority.

The Commission has also announced that it is minded to recommend that the county council should have 46 county councillors in the future, one more than at present.The Commission now needs information from people and groups across Dorset to help it to produce a new pattern of divisions to accommodate 46 county councillors.

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Dorset County Council (PDF)

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about division arrangements. Please note the electoral figures were provided to the Commission by Dorset County Council. 

To view the existing division arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area and Have your say.

Below are the submissions we received:

Local residents

We received 32 submissions from local residents. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Local residents (PDF) 

Councillors

We received 12 submissions from local Councillors. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Councillors (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

We received 22 submissions from Parish and Town Councils. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Parish and Town Councils (PDF)

County Council

Dorset County Council (PDF)

Dorset County Council figures (PDF)

District Councils

Christchurch and East Dorset District Councils (PDF)

Local Organisation

PULM local organisation (PDF)

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Dorset County Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Dorset County Council). We received 1 submissions on council size.

Dorset County Council (PDF)

The Boundary Committee for England (BCFE) began reviewing the electoral arrangements of Dorset County Council on 4 February 2003.

The Order implementing The Electoral Commission's decision on the final recommendations of this review has been made and can be viewed on Her Majesty's Stationery Office's website. The Order refers to a map comprising Sheet 1. The Implementation Team section of The Electoral Commission website explains how the the Commission's decision's on The Boundary Committee for England's final recommendations are made into Orders.

Final report (PDF), published on 27 July 2004;

Map sheet 1 illustrates in outline form the proposed divisions for Dorset, including constituent district wards and parishes.

Map sheet 2  illustrates the proposed boundary showing the new parish warding arrangements for West Cliff parish and Symondsbury Parish, between the Marshwood Vale and Bridport divisions.

Draft report (PDF), published on 13 January 2004;

Large map Illustrating, in outline form, the Commission's proposed divisions for Dorset; (PDF)

Map 1 Illustrating the proposed division boundaries in the Dorset County Council area; (PDF)

A structural review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE), and was started on 13 December 1993

Final report (PDF) published on 15 December 1994

Draft report (PDF) published on 7 July 1994