Draft and final recommendation reports for West Devon, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

West Devon

The Commission carried out an electoral review of West Devon between September 2013 - November 2014. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each West Devon councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The West Devon (Electoral Changes) Order 2015, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in West Devon, was made on 23 January 2015 and was published 30 January 2015. New ward arrangements for West Devon have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2015.

The order for West Devon can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2015/74/pdfs/uksi_20150074_en.pdf

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 20 November 2014 the West Devon (Electoral Changes) Order 2015 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in West Devon and published on 14 October 2014.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for West Devon in 2015.

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

•    Sheet 1 - Overview of the borough (PDF)

On 14 October 2014 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in West Devon Borough Council. The report is available in the link below.

17 October 2014 - the West Devon final recommendations report was subject to minor amendments to correct a typographical error. In paragraph 59 and Table A1 the variance of Dartmoor ward was amended from -12% to -5%. Table 1 and paragraph 26 have consequently been amended to show no wards have a variance of more than 10%

•    Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for West Devon Borough Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release

•    Letter to the Chief Executive of West Devon Borough Council (PDF)

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of West Devon Borough Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2015.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

On 29 April 2014 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of West Devon Borough Council. Between 29 April 2014 and 21 July 2014 we are inviting comments on our draft recommendations.

Consultation closed on 21 July 2014

Below are the submissions we received:

Local residents

We received 10 submissions from local residents. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant document.

Local residents (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

We received 14 submissions from Parish and Town Councils. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant document.

Parish and Town Councils (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Morgan (PDF)

Cllr Moyse (PDF)

Cllr Pearce (PDF)

Cllr Baldwin (PDF)

Cllr Cann (PDF)

Cllr Cloke (PDF)

Local Authority

West Devon Borough Council (PDF)

Political Groups 

Central Devon Conservative Association (PDF)

MP

Geoffrey Cox MP (PDF)

The draft recommendations can be found using the links below.

• Draft recommendations for West Devon Borough Council (PDF)

• Summary of the report (PDF)

• News release on draft recommendations for West Devon

• Letter sent to the Chief Executive of West Devon Borough Council (PDF)

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available.

Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

On 26 November 2013, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for West Devon Borough Council. Between 26 November 2013 and 3 February 2014, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

Consultation closed on 3 February 2014

Below are the submissions we received:

Local Residents

Flick P (PDF)

Harrap C (PDF)

Penny A (PDF)

Webb J (PDF)

Councillors

We received 8 submissions from borough and district Councillors. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Councillors (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

We received 12 submissions from parish and town councils. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Parish and Town Councils (PDF)

Parish Councillors

Parish Councillor Leonard (PDF)

Parish Councillor Cann (PDF)

Political Groups

Central Devon Conservative Association (PDF)

West Devon Borough Council Conservative Group (PDF)

Local Authority

West Devon Borough Council (PDF)

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of West Devon Borough Council (PDF) 

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

On 3 September 2013 we started an electoral review of West Devon Borough Council. From 3 September to 14 October we are inviting proposals for the number of councillors who should represent West Devon in the future.

Consultation closed on 14 October.

Below are the submissions we received:

Local Residents

J Fields (PDF)

G Kirkpatrick (PDF)

R Radford (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

Buckland-Monachorum Parish Council (PDF)

Chagford Parish Council (PDF)

Tavistock Town Council (PDF)

Local authority

West Devon Borough Council (PDF)

The first stage of an electoral review is to determine the number of councillors who should represent the local authority in the future. We call this stage "council size". During the preliminary stage of the review, the Commission received proposals from West Devon Borough Council. Their submission is available below under preliminary council size. The Commission has considered these submissions and is now seeking views on its proposal for a council size of 31 members for West Devon Borough Council.

A letter sent to the Chief Executive (PDF) and our public news release provide more details on this consultation and the review in general.

We will be considering the number, names and boundaries of wards during two further periods of public consultation later in 2013/14.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under. The next consultation on ward boundaries will be in November. You can visit our consultation area to register for a consultation reminder.

Preliminary council size consultation

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with West Devon Borough Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on West Devon Borough Council). We received 1 submission on council size.

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE). The Order to implement the Secretary of State's decision on the review, and a subsequent amendment Order, are available on Her Majesty's Stationery Office's website.

Final report (PDF), published in January 1999;

Draft report, (PDF) published in June 1998.